We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, ok rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mantra 100 Exhibition
Ranked #75 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Great location, ok rooms”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights in end of July-Aug 2013. We managed to get a good deal through the visa promotions, and only paid $700 for 5 nights (vs room rack rate advertised at $900 for the same period.

The 1-br was spacious enough for two people, and maybe 3 if the 3rd person was small enough to fit into the sofa. The bedroom was quite small, but adequate in size, and there was plenty of wardrobe space. There was a 2 seater sofa, an armchair and a tv with limited foxtel channels. The kitchen was small, but still adequately equipped. There is a microwave/oven, kettle, a two burner induction stove and complete utensils for those who want to cook in the room.

The toilet was quite strange though - there was half a pane of glass in the bathtub, which didn't stop the water from the shower getting into the floor. There should have been a shower curtain instead to keep the water from splashing into the floor.

There is also a washer/dryer in the room - you probably need to ask the desk staff to show you how to work this as it took me a while to make the washing machine work.

The desk staff were all very helpful - whatever time, day or night.

The location itself was very good. The free shuttle was less than 100m away from the hotel, and the free tram was just one street back from the hotel (about 100-150m). It's about a 1.5 km walk back from the Federation square, which was easy enough considering you're walking through the CBD and enjoying the views at the same time. There is a 7-11 just two doors down from the hotel entrance, so it was very convenient as well to buy necessities even in the middle of the night.

Would definitely stay here again when we go back to visit Melbourne.

Room Tip: Stay away from rooms near the elevators. The 7th floor was quite good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rugratsfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,007 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    276
    454
    184
    50
    43
See reviews for
287
275
49
221
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

If you stay here, just be prepared to hear everything that happens in the adjoining room or the corridor. There seems to be little insulation between the rooms. We had a party going on in the room next door. The bathrooms are very small compared to the overall size of the apartments. However, the apartments are comfortable and staff are very helpful.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lizzie1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Recently stayed for three nights while attending a work conference in Melbourne. The location was within walking distance to everything in the city. A nice quick walk to the MCG. I arrived around 12ish and was fortunate enough to be allowed to check in early. All staff members I dealt with were pleasant. The room was spacious, clean and serviced daily. It had a good kitchen with a convection microwave and fridge. There was even a washing machine with washing powder included. My only complaint would be how gross the shower was. The grout is missing around the drain and tiles. Overall I had a nice stay though.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KasTrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Wished we stayed longer than 1 night. Room was clean with a comfy bed, we overlooked the Melbourne Club backyard which was interesting as well as a nice view. 10min walk to the MCG and close to all that is Melbourne city. The staff were friendly and efficient.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuriootpa
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Great location for the Footy. We stayed in their 2 bedroom apartment. Good amount of space for two couples. Easy to co-ordinate food in the kitchen if you want to cut corners with breakfast or lunch. Short walk to everything that is Melbourne. Strictly 2pm check-in...no earlier!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WA
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Stayed here with a group of friends for a long weekend.
I'm struggling to find anything to complain about- but the bed was a bit hard and some of my friends agreed.
However the check in staff were polite and welcoming, the hotel and rooms are very clean and tidy. We stayed in a one bedroom, which was huge for what we needed, a small kitchenette, a washer/dryer, a tv and lounge, good size bathroom.
Great location for what we needed, easy walk to the MCG, close to the main shopping area, very close to China town.
We try to visit Melbourne every year for the same type of trip, and I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pip182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albury, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

A group of 6 of us stayed here for one night. For the amount we paid per room (booking 3 rooms) there was nothing outstanding. Each room appeared nice and modern, but it was all very cheap! The grout in the bathroom was foul (obviously the cleaners hadn't given the bathroom a great deal of attention - ever!
The beds were very very firm, and felt cheap! One of the rooms didn't have a working split system. This was reported to staff Immediately when we arrived & nothing was done.
Unfortunately this place was disappointing & what i feel to be - overpriced.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Ellie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mantra100, Manager at Mantra 100 Exhibition, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Ellie P,

Thanks for taking the time to review our hotel. I am sorry to hear that you were not overly satisfied with your stay. I apologize for the state of the bathroom and have provided your feedback to our housekeeping team so improvements can be made. We are always looking to improve both our service and facilities and appreciate your feedback.

Kind Regards,

Tim Young
Hotel Manager
Mantra 100 Exhibition
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens
Central Business District
Punthill Manhattan
Punthill Manhattan
#87 of 160 in Melbourne
382 reviews
Chinatown
Mantra On Russell
Mantra On Russell
#36 of 160 in Melbourne
2,165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Central Business District
Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments
Central Business District
Stamford Plaza Melbourne
Stamford Plaza Melbourne
#44 of 160 in Melbourne
4,543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra 100 Exhibition? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra 100 Exhibition

Property: Mantra 100 Exhibition
Address: 100 Exhibition St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Pacific International Apartments)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#65 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#70 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra 100 Exhibition 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting spacious, contemporary designed one and two bedroom apartments, Mantra 100 Exhibition offers guests maximum comfort in the heart of Melbourne's cosmopolitan CBD. Surrounded by Melbourne's famous fashion boutiques, theatres and restaurants, the hotel offers modern apartments with quick and easy access to popular entertainment and sporting venues. The Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG), Rod Laver Arena and Federation Square are just a few. The hotel's spacious apartments are all stylishly furnished and featuring air-conditioning, LCD Televisions with digital channels and Foxtel stations, stereo's with iPod docking stations and CD player, kitchenette, laundry facilities, lounge and dining areas Mantra 100 Exhibition Street delivers contemporary accommodation in the heart of Melbourne, ideal for business travellers, holiday makers, short-term and long-term guests. For your comfort, the hotel and all apartments at Mantra 100 Exhibition Street are strictly non-smoking.Nearby parking available – fees apply. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mantra 100 Exhibition reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra 100 Exhibition Melbourne
Mantra 100 Exhibition Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing