We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient and yet Quiet Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mantra 100 Exhibition
Ranked #70 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Convenient and yet Quiet Location”
Reviewed April 13, 2012

Stayed 5 days at this service apartment in a 1-bedroom unit and found it spacious and clean. However, it takes some time for the sole aircon in the unit to heat up/cool down the room and there is no shower curtain available which irritates me as I do not appreciate a wet bathroom.

It comes fully equipped with pots/pans/microwave/knife and other cooking utensils as well as washing powder for the washing machine, which is a pleasant surprise for me. Iron and ironing board are also available, though the hotel do provide dry-cleaning service with same-day turnaround time. All these are important to a business traveller. Wireless network is available at a cost.

As for nearby amenities, there is a 7-eleven just a few shops away, an IGA store further down the road, a 24-hr MacDonald's around the corner, a tram stop diagonally opposite the hotel, and a train station (Parliament station) within 10 mins' walk away. A free city tram bus stop is also available near the Parliament station.

It is quite close to Chinatown where there is no lack of restaurants. As I would consider it to be on the fringe of the city centre, it is away from the tourist hustle and bustle and is a quiet and yet convenient apartment to stay in for leisure stay as well.

Hotel staff are friendly. I was provided a map immediately upon check-in with places such as the nearest convenience store, supermarkets, etc marked out for me by the staff, which I appreciated.

Overall, a hotel which I would consider going back again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CausalTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mantra100, General Manager at Mantra 100 Exhibition, responded to this review, April 19, 2012
Dear Causal Traveller,

Thanks for taking the time to share your review with the Tipadvisor community. We appreciate that you found out location convenient and that the apartment that you stayed in was spacious and clean. You comments in regard to our hotel staff are also much appreciated. I agree shower curtains are important and we are investigating ways to improve in this area.

Thanks again and we hope to see you soon.

Kind regards,

Tim Young
Hotel Manager
Mantra 100 Exhibition
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

966 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    265
    437
    177
    46
    41
See reviews for
267
264
47
215
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sydney
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2012

We (couple + teenager) stayed here over easter for 3 nights. The location is hard to beat as we were able to walk everywhere: Hisense Arena (near the MCG); Brunswick Street; Lygon Street; Federation Square; Pellegrini's; Chinatown - Melbourne Central etc. Transport was practically at the door plus 711s very close by. The staff were helpful and friendly. When we entered our apartment we were overwhelmed by the smell. Our apartment smelled like a chinese restaurant. Fortunately the weather allowed us to open the windows and by the following morning the smell had gone.
Generally the building and the apartments are pretty soulless but the location for a short stay is hard to beat and our apartment had everything we needed. (We didn't cook so I can't vouch for the kitchen equipment). Basically I think you get what you pay for

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mantra100, General Manager at Mantra 100 Exhibition, responded to this review, April 19, 2012
Dear SandSydney,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay. Please accept my apologies for the smell that you experienced when you arrive. This is not something we wish our guests to experience. Our head housekeeper has been briefed on your review and has already put in place some corrective action to insure this doesn't happen again. Thanks for your comments about our location and staff and I am glad you found our apartments had everything that you need.

We look forward to welcoming you back again. Kind regards,

Tim Young
Hotel Manager
Mantra 100 Exhibition
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 9, 2012

How can this property be 4 stars? "the refurbished" rooms are disgusting, tired, dirty, mouldy showers. They charge premium rates for unacceptable accommodation. Can get a lot better for a lot less payment.
On a positive the location is excellent.

Room Tip: Try another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crasy_diamond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level Contributor
60 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2012

These apartment style rooms are great value for money. Fully equipped and very well located. 2 minutes from two different tram lines or the underground. For the price - excellent value and experience. I Stayed for 9 nights and would visit again without hesitation.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveBOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mantra100, General Manager at Mantra 100 Exhibition, responded to this review, April 19, 2012
Dear DaveBOttawa,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with us. We appreciate your kind words and are pleased to hear that you found our apartments and experience to be of excellent value. We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,

Tim Young
Hotel Manager
Mantra 100 Exhibition
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
87 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2012

We stayed here in March 2012, my husband for 1 week and myself for a weekend. He was at a conference a short walk away, so we chose it for that specific location.

However the location was great outside of the conference- a block away from the tram on Collins St, and two blocks from the tram on Flinders to head to Richmond (and a short walk to Spencer St Station). You can walk to Lygon st, Brunswick St and into the city with ease (if you don't mind walking. The first two take about 20-30 minutes). The service was friendly and the rooms were spacious enough, with a decent kitchenette and good bathroom. We were there during the F1 and the prices did not rise as horrendously as most other places in the area for that weekend, which was another reason why we chose this place.

There are a heap of places in short walking distance that are good for eating and drinking, so you are not short of choices or variety.
We actually preferred staying at this end of Melbourne, in the past we have always stayed further west but we found this location had overall better choices for food/drinks, and made it easy to walk into Carlton and Fitzroy rather than having to take or switch trams.

We would definitely stay here again, particularly for longer stays or business trips.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travellers_from_oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mantra100, General Manager at Mantra 100 Exhibition, responded to this review, April 3, 2012
Dear Travellers_from_Oz,

We appreciate you taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor, and I’m also pleased to hear you had a wonderful stay with us. It’s always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I am glad you enjoyed our location and found our rooms to be spacious and our staff friendly.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Tim Young
Hotel Manager
Mantra 100 Exhhibition.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2012

I think this hotel is a good place for a short stay in Melbourne. I've stayed here 3 times now over the last couple of years, and while it's not 5 star, I think the value is pretty good. The location is excellent, a short walk to everything you need - close to the mall, circle tram, restaurants and bars. One night I walked down to the Arts Centre across the river - pleasant walk and felt very safe with lots of people around in the streets. I've stayed in both a one bed and two bedroom apartment and have no major complaints with either. The decor wasn't particularly inspiring, but it was modern and clean. The 2 bedroom in particular was very spacious, and well fitted out, including with a washing machine (and soap powder) in the bathroom. Just one thing to watch - on the first stay, my room was at the front of the building on a low floor and there was a bit of street noise - nothing too bad, but noticeable in the living area. Next visit I requested an upper floor room, which was great. But last time I was given a room up on the very top floor, which is accessed by lift then a quite steep set of stairs. It wasn't a huge issue for me since I only had carry on luggage, but it wouldn't be good if you had big suitcases.

Room Tip: Avoid top floor with stairs if you have big luggage
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kajambe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mantra100, General Manager at Mantra 100 Exhibition, responded to this review, April 3, 2012
Dear Kajambe,

Thank you for taking the time to provide an enjoyable balanced review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you had a great stay and enjoyed our location. We thank you for your continual patronage and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards,

Tim Young
Hotel Manager
Mantra 100 Exhibition
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2012

Lovely design and colour scheme of new refurbishment, but it was dirty,scuffs, marks, chips in many many places, the beds were messily remade and washing up was only half done by housekeeping, watched a cotton bud sit on the floor for 3 days, could still be there, the key card wouldn't work, the bed was terrible, air conditioner turned it self off, not good in 39 degree temperatures, reception staff were friendly but this didn't make up for other things lacking. A shame because it is in a great position.

Room Tip: Check room card works before going up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank R W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mantra100, Manager at Mantra 100 Exhibition, responded to this review, March 27, 2012
Dear RW,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay. Please accept my apologies that the service and maintenance you were provided during your stay was inconsistent. The issues you raised have been addressed and rectified. Thank you also for your comments in regard to our new colour scheme and apartment design we are glad you like it. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Mantra 100 Exhibition again soon.

Kind Regards,

Tim Young
Hotel Manager,
Mantra 100 Exhibition
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens
Central Business District
Punthill Manhattan
Punthill Manhattan
#81 of 159 in Melbourne
377 reviews
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Mantra On Russell
Mantra On Russell
#35 of 159 in Melbourne
2,071 reviews
Central Business District
Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments
Central Business District
Mantra City Central
Mantra City Central
#93 of 159 in Melbourne
698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra 100 Exhibition? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra 100 Exhibition

Property: Mantra 100 Exhibition
Address: 100 Exhibition St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Pacific International Apartments)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#64 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#65 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra 100 Exhibition 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting spacious, contemporary designed one and two bedroom apartments, Mantra 100 Exhibition offers guests maximum comfort in the heart of Melbourne's cosmopolitan CBD. Surrounded by Melbourne's famous fashion boutiques, theatres and restaurants, the hotel offers modern apartments with quick and easy access to popular entertainment and sporting venues. The Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG), Rod Laver Arena and Federation Square are just a few. The hotel's spacious apartments are all stylishly furnished and featuring air-conditioning, LCD Televisions with digital channels and Foxtel stations, stereo's with iPod docking stations and CD player, kitchenette, laundry facilities, lounge and dining areas Mantra 100 Exhibition Street delivers contemporary accommodation in the heart of Melbourne, ideal for business travellers, holiday makers, short-term and long-term guests. For your comfort, the hotel and all apartments at Mantra 100 Exhibition Street are strictly non-smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mantra 100 Exhibition reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra 100 Exhibition Melbourne
Mantra 100 Exhibition Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing