We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good apartments, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Somerset on Elizabeth, Melbourne
Ranked #38 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Preston
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good apartments, great location”
Reviewed November 16, 2006

Stayed here for 3 nights in October. We had a 1 bedroom apartment which was serviced daily, clean, modern and in a brilliant location.

  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank lancashirethorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

795 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    296
    342
    116
    30
    11
See reviews for
242
245
50
107
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dumfries, Scotland
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2006

Myself and my parents stayed at this hotel for 18 nights during the Commonwealth Games. It suited our purposes perfectly. I had my own apartment and my parents had there's. It was very reasonably priced and as I was on my own due to my husband participating in the games I felt tottally safe. The lift could only be used with security card. The staff were very very friendly and helpful. The apartment was more than adequate with kitchen, bathroom (washing machine/dryer), double shower, living & dining room and seperate bedroom. As other authors have written it was a little noisey, but what can you expect right in the heart of the city.

We usesd the cooking facalities alot due to the fact that were not returning from the games until late in the evening and it was to late to go out for a meal.

If every returning to Melbourne, I would have no hesitation in returning to this hotel. Dumfries, Scotland

Stayed March 2006
Helpful?
4 Thank CRANNOG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2006

Stayed for 11 nights and found the location to be good, very central and not too far to walk to attractions.
However I found the room to be very noisy during the night with revellers going home and the trams/traffic do start very early, my room was facing directly onto Elizabeth St and was on a lower floor so this may be why. I was in Melbourne on a working trip so maybe this wouldn't be as much of an issue if you were on holiday and didn't have to get up at 7:00 am.
Room was clean and comfortable, if a little cold, I wasn't prepared for how cold September would be in Melbourne!
Breakfast wasn't worth the money, I'd either by bread etc from the local supermarkets and make your own or go to one of the local cafes of which there are loads!
Would need to have more soundproofing done before I stayed here again.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — No soundproofing!!
  • Tips/Secrets — Ask for a room away from the front of the building.
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank Cazni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tasmania, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2006

We stayed 3 nights in June, booked direct with Somerset. They gave us an excellent rate and we were upgraded to a one bedroom executive with late checkout at not extra cost.

Fabulous king size bed, one of the best I’ve slept in, no aching back in the morning. Plenty of storage space for clothing and luggage.

Sparkling white bathroom with shower over bath, a bit tricky getting the shower going without getting wet, you have to reach around a 60cm wide screen to the mixer tap. Washing machine / dryer combo looks great, very new… we didn’t use it.

Adequate facilities for cooking, 2 hotplates, microwave, dishwasher etc, could prepare all meals if you wanted to, but you’re on holidays right….!

Staff professional, friendly and efficient, housekeeping responded very quickly to requests.

Breakfast mediocre, a bit pricey for what is on offer, plenty of warm cosy cafes within a couple of blocks where a freshly cooked breakfast with great coffee will get your day started for about half the cost.

Very quiet if you’re happy to keep the windows closed. We had a room facing south which overlooked a neighbouring carpark and a laneway onto Little Bourke St. Room with a view was not important to us… we prefer a good nights sleep! Could not hear anything with the windows closed… no traffic / tram / people noise at all - and we stayed the night the Socceroos beat Japan... the streets were full of noisy revellers!!!

I will definitely stay here again when in Melbourne... its spacious, clean and modern.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank JannieLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenlyon, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2006

Stayed 13 Jan 2006. One bedroom apartment with galley kitchen (microwave, fridge, cooktop) leading into lounge room which then lead into bedroom. Double bed, windows opened slightly (some noise with windows open, not noticable with them closed). In addition to door into bedrrom, there was also a glass window from bedroom back into lounge allowing light from front windows into lounge . TV had in rom movies (approx AUD$15 each) and some limited cable channels (sports, news, music).
Room service was a compendium of local restaurant meals available via a delivery service. Serviced apartments did have a breakfast room set up that service a breakfast only ever morning (cannot recal price as did not use). Small plunge pool, spa and gym. Building is a approx 25 story building with serviced apartments taking up first 10 levels then residential apartments the remaining floors (they use a separate enterance and elevator). Building is right in centre of city next door to Myer department store (food hall) and David Jones dept store and 5 minutes from the Bourke st pedestrian mall and the Melbourne Central shopping centre and 5 minutes from the Melbourne Central underground station. Trams run right past on Elizabeth street however unless leaving the city centre everything is in walking distance. Enjoyed the apartments immensely and very quiet at night.







  • Stayed January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank 6andy6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
armidale
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2005

A great hotel for families. The MOST welcoming reception I have ever had - each day (we stayed a week). Great gym facilities, good sized rooms, a little noisy at night due to street noise but other wise very good.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank chubbnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2004

We stayed 7 nights at the hotel recently and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The Somerset on Elizabeth is centrally located and within walking distance of shops and restaurants on Swanston St, Collins St, Myers and David Jones.

The service was impeccable and the reception staff was helpful and polite. Eventhough we arrived at 2 am, the reception staff was there to greet us and check us in without any hassle.

We stayed in a 1 bedroom apartment which had a separate lounge and kitchen area. The rooms were modern and clean. More than enough room for 2 persons.

Overall a wonderful hotel and we would recommend it to friends and family visiting Melbourne.

  • Stayed December 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank mochafrapp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne
Central Business District
Mantra City Central
Mantra City Central
#95 of 160 in Melbourne
763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Brady Hotels Central Melbourne
Chinatown
Mantra On Russell
Mantra On Russell
#36 of 160 in Melbourne
2,221 reviews
Central Business District
Mantra on Little Bourke
Mantra on Little Bourke
#30 of 160 in Melbourne
1,792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Somerset on Elizabeth, Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somerset on Elizabeth, Melbourne

Property: Somerset on Elizabeth, Melbourne
Address: 250 Elizabeth St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#36 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#37 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#74 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Somerset on Elizabeth, Melbourne 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Somerset on Elizabeth Melbourne is located in the heart of the city's central business district with a labyrinth of lane-ways, restaurants and shopping precincts only moments away. Positioned perfectly for both the business and leisure traveller, Somerset on Elizabeth offers the convenience of location and contemporary living, fused with the highlights of Melbourne's food, arts and entertainment culture. The modern serviced apartments offer 135 spacious one and two-bedrooms, each with separate living and dining areas, fully-equipped kitchens and modern amenities. The property also features a 24-hour reception, business centre services, complimentary wireless broadband internet and a meeting room; as well as a fully-equipped gym, jet pool, sauna and outdoor courtyard. It is easy to enjoy all that Melbourne has to offer when staying at Somerset on Elizabeth, with easy access to transport, sporting grounds, and theatres. As well as being ideally located within walking distance to Emporium Melbourne, the Strand Arcade, H&M including popular shopping precincts Bourke Street Mall and Melbourne Central. Somerset on Elizabeth is the gateway to experiencing Melbourne's famous precincts and ever-changing culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Somerset on Elizabeth, Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somerset On Elizabeth, Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Somerset On Elizabeth Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing