We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holiday with Granchildren”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Somerset on Elizabeth, Melbourne
Ranked #42 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Holiday with Granchildren”
Reviewed August 20, 2014

We stayed here last week for 6 days. The location was great the hotel was great and the staff were the best .We had a 2 bedroom apartment which was very roomy for us. we stayed with our 2 grandchildren and it was so nice that it was so close to everything. We have stayed in allot of hotels in the city before but now we would always stay at the Somerset.We try to go to Melbourne twice a year so this will be our stop from now on. The housekeepers would come in everyday and clean which was very nice. We had an issue with the toaster which was fixed within 5 mins of my call to reception. Then you would come back in the afternoon and was always greeted with a smile. There were 2 of the staff that really stood out for us was Mario & Marcus to of the most nicest people you would ever meet. The other staff were great also.I would highly recommend this hotel to everyone which I have already done. We will diffidently be going back.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon R, Marketing Executive at Somerset on Elizabeth, Melbourne, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Dear Jordan2001,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay with your family. We feel privileged to read Somerset on Elizabeth is now your accommodation of choice when travelling to Melbourne. It will be a pleasure to share your comments with Mario, Marcus and our Guest Service Team, that you felt at home throughout your stay and they contributed to the enjoyment of your visit. There are so many exciting activities this time of year in the city; and we hope you and your grandchildren had a wonderful time exploring Melbourne.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Warm regards

Shannon R
Marketing Executive
Somerset on Elizabeth Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

773 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    284
    336
    112
    30
    11
See reviews for
232
238
50
105
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here in an interconnecting room (2 x 1 bedroom apartments) with friends from interstate. Great location, very comfortable and very roomy. Rooms have kitchenette and laundry facilities with a separate lounge area. Close to everything - 7 eleven across the street, tram out front (not running due to maintenance) Bourne st mall - 1 block away and My favourite Max Brenners 1 block the other way! Always stay here as always guaranteed a great night sleep after a full day of shopping!

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank MBs4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon R, Marketing Executive at Somerset on Elizabeth, Melbourne, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Dear MBs4,

Thank you for sharing your stay with our TripAdvisor community. It is wonderful to read that you and your friends enjoyed your stay with us at Somerset, and our apartments provided everything you needed for your weekend away in Melbourne. We hope you enjoyed exploring the newest editions to Melbourne's' shopping precinct; Melbourne Emporium and the Strand Arcade!

Thank you MBs4, if you are ever in Melbourne again we hope you choose Somerset.

Warm regards,

Shannon R
Marketing Executive
Somerset on Elizabeth Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yangon Region, Myanmar
1 review
Reviewed August 15, 2014

We stayed 10 nights there. As we have two kids, we booked two bedrooms apartment which is OK for us. Location is superb since it is walking distance to Restaurants, shopping mall and tram station . Rooms are clean with full kitchen amenities.If you don't mind sleeping with noise, choose city view otherwise choose room behind building. Friday and Saturday night , it is a bit noisy. Other than that we had great time staying at Somerset on Elizabeth.

Room Tip: Higher floor behind the building will be more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MieFridaythe13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon R, Marketing Executive at Somerset on Elizabeth, Melbourne, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Dear MieFridaythe13,

Thank you for sharing your Somerset experience with us, it is lovely to read to read that you and your children enjoyed a comfortable stay in our two bedroom apartment. We feel very fortunate to be located in the heart of Melbourne's retail and dining precinct, and hope everyone enjoyed exploring our exciting city. Do let us know next time you are staying with us, especially if you choose to on a weekend and we will do our very best to request a quieter apartment.

Thank you MieFridaythe13, from all the team at Somerset we hope to see you again soon.

Warm regards,

Shannon R
Marketing Executive
Somerset on Elizabeth Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2014

Really comfy beds and good pillows ( pillow quality has been an issue in other places
I have stayed). Fantastic showers. Great central location, only drawback was the street noise particularly on Friday night. We were on 10th floor but facing Elizabeth Street.mstaff are very friendly.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terese S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon R, Marketing Executive at Somerset on Elizabeth, Melbourne, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Dear Terese S,

Thank you for taking the time to review Somerset on Elizabeth Melbourne, we are delighted to read that you had an enjoyable stay and found our bed and pillows perfect for a good nights' sleep. We will be sure to pass on your feedback to the Guest Services Team; they will be delighted to know you found their service friendly. Please do let us know next time you are staying with us, and we will do our very best to request a quieter apartment at the back of the residence.

We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Warm regards,

Shannon R
Marketing Executive
Somerset on Elizabeth Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 11, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights and was very impressed. We chose this hotel on price, location and the other reviews on tripadviser, we were not disappointed. We stayed in a one bedroom deluxe, it was a great space and had everything we needed. It may not be the most modern room but it was comfortable, clean and spacious. We were on the 6th floor facing Elizabeth street. Loved people watching from the window and yes there was a little street noise but it was not so loud that it bothered us in anyway, I think we would be more disappointed if there were no noise we love to hear the hustle and bustle of the city. Excellent location we were in the city to see a show so easy walking distance to everything.

With out a doubt this will now be our go to hotel for future city stays and I would happily recommend it to others :-)

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LouiseKey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon R, Marketing Executive at Somerset on Elizabeth, Melbourne, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear LouiseKey,

Thank you for sharing your Somerset experience with us, we feel very honoured to read your recommendation of our serviced apartments to the TripAdvisor community. It is wonderful to know you thoroughly enjoyed all parts of your stay with us; from our central city location to our comfortable and spacious rooms. We too love the view of Melbourne from our apartments!

Thank you LouiseKey, from all the team at Somerset, we hope to welcome you back again soon!

Warm regards,

Shannon R
Marketing Executive
Somerset on Elizabeth Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
111 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2014

Stayed here for one night.
The Somerset is a decent place to stay if your looking for a self contained room and the free wifi is so happily appreciated.
The room is clean and spacious and has everything you need.
The hotel is well located and everything is close by.
The downside is that at the time of my stay the spa was out of order, so were the chip machines.
if you need parking, its a bit steep at $35

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrmtee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon R, Marketing Executive at Somerset on Elizabeth, Melbourne, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear mrmtee,

We are delighted to read you enjoyed our spacious serviced apartment design, amenities and location. We apoligise for any inconvenience caused with the faulty spa: we had to place it 'out of order' for safety reasons. Everything was back to normal after a couple of days, we are sorry this happened while you were with us. Although it is too late for your current stay, if you would like to enquire about alternate parking options for the future, please don't hesitate to contact our friendly Guest Service Team as they would be only too happy to assist.

If you are ever in Melbourne again, we hope you will choose Somerset on Elizabeth.

Warm regards,

Shannon R
Marketing Executive
Somerset on Elizabeth Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
179 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2014

I was impressed from the second I arrived until the moment I left this property. It's an apartment style hotel not a 5 or 6 star luxury suite hotel but there were two big things that set it apart. Firstly the staff. The staff were outstanding they were welcoming and friendly and most importantly were helpful to a fault and in my opinion went over and above what I expected. Second is the location which others have commented on as being fantastic. I agree with the sentiment that Melbourne is on the door step of this property with the only possible issue being for people who have a car as parking in the CBD is at a premium. The 2 rooms I booked were spacious and clean with comfy furniture and huge beds. The bathrooms could probably do with refurbishing as climbing into the narrow tub for a shower is a bit uncomfortable and really a little unsafe (especially for older guests or those with injuries) but this is a small thing. I'll be back this place was awesome.

Room Tip: Rooms facing Elizabeth street even on the 8th floor are noisy due to traffic and trams.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nicktaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon R, Marketing Executive at Somerset on Elizabeth, Melbourne, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear nicktaz,

Thank you for sharing your Somerset on Elizabeth stay with us. We are very happy to read that you enjoyed your first visit and were impressed with our spacious and clean apartments as well as our central location. We feel very fortunate to be located in the heart of Melbourne's retail precinct, and hope you enjoyed exploring our beautiful city.

We value your feedback regarding the design of our bathrooms, we do appreciate it when guests provide ways we can improve our product for us to investigate. If you do choose to stay with us again; you may like to try our one-bedroom deluxe apartment with a walk-in shower, which may be more to your liking in regards to the bathroom layout.

It is also wonderful to read that our Guest Service Team made such a positive impression on you. It will give us great pleasure to share your comments with the team, they will be so happy to know they contributed to your memorable stay.

We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Warm regards,

Shannon R
Marketing Executive
Somerset on Elizabeth Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Central Business District
Mantra on Little Bourke
Mantra on Little Bourke
#28 of 159 in Melbourne
1,660 reviews
Central Business District
Mantra City Central
Mantra City Central
#93 of 159 in Melbourne
700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne
Chinatown
Mantra On Russell
Mantra On Russell
#34 of 159 in Melbourne
2,080 reviews
Central Business District
Brady Hotels Central Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Somerset on Elizabeth, Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somerset on Elizabeth, Melbourne

Property: Somerset on Elizabeth, Melbourne
Address: 250 Elizabeth St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#36 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#38 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#74 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Somerset on Elizabeth, Melbourne 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Somerset on Elizabeth Melbourne is located in the heart of the city's central business district with a labyrinth of lane-ways, restaurants and shopping precincts only moments away. Positioned perfectly for both the business and leisure traveller, Somerset on Elizabeth offers the convenience of location and contemporary living, fused with the highlights of Melbourne's food, arts and entertainment culture. The modern serviced apartments offer 135 spacious one and two-bedrooms, each with separate living and dining areas, fully-equipped kitchens and modern amenities. The property also features a 24-hour reception, business centre services, complimentary wireless broadband internet and a meeting room; as well as a fully-equipped gym, jet pool, sauna and outdoor courtyard. It is easy to enjoy all that Melbourne has to offer when staying at Somerset on Elizabeth, with easy access to transport, sporting grounds, and theatres. As well as being ideally located within walking distance to Emporium Melbourne, the Strand Arcade, H&M including popular shopping precincts Bourke Street Mall and Melbourne Central. Somerset on Elizabeth is the gateway to experiencing Melbourne's famous precincts and ever-changing culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Somerset on Elizabeth, Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somerset On Elizabeth, Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Somerset On Elizabeth Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing