We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice mid-town location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Somerset on Elizabeth, Melbourne
Ranked #38 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Nice mid-town location”
Reviewed February 6, 2014

This is a delightful, apartment hotel located centrally in mid-town. The rooms are modern and spacious with nice closet space, a good size bathroom, a well equipped kitchen area with refrigerator, microwave, dishwasher and coffee pot. The sitting area has a sofa, side chair and a desk and chair along with a flat screened t.v. The bedroom has 2 single beds and a flat screened t.v. and has a glass wall to look into the sitting area but a shad can be closed over the glass window. A bit of construction going on outside the hotel might have been a bit annoying to some but, our room location was just fine and didn't hear any noise.

Room Tip: check if there is construction outside and ask for a room away from it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NanaJ12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanne G, Senior Marketing Manager at Somerset on Elizabeth, Melbourne, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear NanaJ12,

Thank you for taking the time to review Somerset on Elizabeth Melbourne. We are delighted you enjoyed our serviced apartments design, amenities and location. You are right, there is a little bit of construction still occurring around Somerset, but we are pleased to say that this is almost complete.

We hope to see you again soon.

Warmest regards.

Joanne G
Senior Marketing Manager
Somerset on Elizabeth Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

795 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    296
    342
    116
    30
    11
See reviews for
242
245
50
107
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for nine nights while the tennis was on and were pleased we stayed here. Very central location and we had a nice view, apartment was tidy and we were supplied with lots of plates and kitchen appliances etc., housekeeping was great. While we were aware there was construction on it wasnt too loud. Reception were helpful and friendly. Aircon great in the heatwave!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank minesbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon R, Marketing Executive at Somerset on Elizabeth, Melbourne, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear minesbit,

The Australian Open is an exciting time to be in Melbourne and we would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us at Somerset. We pride ourselves on providing guests with the comfort and conveniences one usually finds at home, and it is wonderful to read you were able to experience this. It was certainly very hot last week; the air-conditioning would have been a welcome relief in Melbourne’s heat wave!

Thank you for again for sharing your feedback, we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Warm regards,

Shannon R
Marketing Executive
Somerset on Elizabeth Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
74 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014

This hotel ticks all the boxes for location. Close to Bourke St Mall, Chinatown, all the shopping areas and Queen Vic Markets, and proximity to trams, including the free city circle tram and all the trams and buses that go from Swanston St. Even I couldn't get lost! There was a bit of noise from the Emporium building upgrade but that is not the fault of the hotel. Still they let us have late checkout because of that. Staff were friendly and accommodating. Rooms are large, nearly double the size of other rooms in other hotels we looked at, making it excellent value. Small niggle: a little Exit Mould wouldn't go astray.

Room Tip: Maybe not next to the Emporium development on Lonsdale St
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClaytonTheCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon R, Marketing Executive at Somerset on Elizabeth, Melbourne, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear ClaytonTheCat,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay with us. It is lovely to read you were impressed with our central location and the easy access to all of Melbourne key attractions. Our Guests Services Team will also be happy to know they assisted in making your stay at Somerset on Elizabeth memorable and you enjoyed the late check-out.

If you don’t mind providing the room number you were in, we would like to ask Housekeeping to look into the bathroom in question, please email our Residence Manager,
Florence.Hairie@the-ascott.com as she would like to make sure we follow up on your valued feedback.

From all the team at Somerset we hope to see you again soon.

Warm regards,

Shannon R
Marketing Executive
Somerset on Elizabeth Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 7, 2014

The location of the Somerset on Elizabeth was exceptional, we couldn't have asked for any better.

We were very worried about a 7 night stay with all the complaints on this website about the construction noise, but we were fortunate as construction ceased over the Christmas/New Year break.

Prior to our arrival, I had to spend the week before asking for email confirmations of our stay as nothing had been sent through. I had to ask half a dozen times for the cot and confirming airport transfers. I found correspondence to be lacking.

We were checked in for a 1-bedroom executive apartment but there was a hole in the wall the baby in the bedroom could hear the TV through. So we upgraded and paid extra for a 2-bedroom.

I found the housekeeping to be poor and inefficient. A two bathroom apartment and only one set of towels was left everyday so I was constantly calling for more towels. We would leave our apartment at 9am in the morning, come back at 5 and the room had still not been cleaned. By then the baby had to go down for a nap so we couldn't get the room cleaned for the day.

The wet areas were never once mopped despite my requests, and the apartment was only vaccummed when my toddler's crumbs had not been picked up and I had to ask.

Paul at reception was exceptional and went above and beyond to help make our stay as comfortable as possible and assisted us in everyway possible.

We dreaded having to deal with other reception staff however on Paul's days off. They were aloof and didn't seem to bothered on the service they were providing to guests.

Terrible pillows!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leese82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014

This hotel due to its location and a kitchenette in its serviced apartment was a lifesaver for us on dec 25th when everything else in Melbourne is closed. It right behind chinatown and a food court in front. The facilties are as good as a place in australia can be(in general Australia sucks in terms of hotel service due to the high cost of labor and very high minimum wage). So it can be a damper for a tourist from Asia where we are used to extreme luxury. I highly recommend it especially if you are going with your family. Very spacious.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MohanGK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon R, Marketing Executive at Somerset on Elizabeth, Melbourne, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear MohanGK,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay at Somerset on Elizabeth Melbourne. It is lovely to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your experience and were able to make the most of our central location and our convenient range of guest facilities. We are pleased you were able to enjoy our kitchen on Christmas Day; we hope you were able to cook something delicious!

We look forward to welcoming you back to Somerset again soon.

Warm regards,

Shannon R
Marketing Executive
Somerset on Elizabeth Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Staff here was wonderful, helpful and a great sense of humor too. The hotel was well located; the rooms had a washing machine and dryer!!! Didn't need it, yet nice to have. We were near good restaurants which I wish I could remember; we were close to Greektown; oh, yes, I had dinner at The Station Hotel; great steak and wine! This was an OAT trip; well worthwhile.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 90042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon R, Marketing Executive at Somerset on Elizabeth, Melbourne, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear 90042,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at Somerset on Elizabeth with our TripAdvisor community. It is wonderful to read that you enjoyed our central location and the comfort and convenience the facilities our Serviced Residence affords.

From all the team at Somerset on Elizabeth Melbourne, we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Warm regards,

Shannon R
Marketing Executive
Somerset on Elizabeth Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

Great location & friendly staff -I found the 2 bed apartment spacious & good value for money. Although, I found the furniture well worn & in need of a good clean! Only one lift was working which presented at times lengthy waits to and from reception.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Ingkast07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fhairie, Manager at Somerset on Elizabeth, Melbourne, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear Ingkast07,

Thank you for your review, we are pleased you enjoyed our location and our friendly staff.

Our lift has indeed been out of order for a few weeks but is now back on line.

We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne
Central Business District
Mantra City Central
Mantra City Central
#93 of 160 in Melbourne
762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Brady Hotels Central Melbourne
Chinatown
Mantra On Russell
Mantra On Russell
#36 of 160 in Melbourne
2,219 reviews
Central Business District
Mantra on Little Bourke
Mantra on Little Bourke
#30 of 160 in Melbourne
1,788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Somerset on Elizabeth, Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somerset on Elizabeth, Melbourne

Property: Somerset on Elizabeth, Melbourne
Address: 250 Elizabeth St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#36 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#37 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#74 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Somerset on Elizabeth, Melbourne 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Somerset on Elizabeth Melbourne is located in the heart of the city's central business district with a labyrinth of lane-ways, restaurants and shopping precincts only moments away. Positioned perfectly for both the business and leisure traveller, Somerset on Elizabeth offers the convenience of location and contemporary living, fused with the highlights of Melbourne's food, arts and entertainment culture. The modern serviced apartments offer 135 spacious one and two-bedrooms, each with separate living and dining areas, fully-equipped kitchens and modern amenities. The property also features a 24-hour reception, business centre services, complimentary wireless broadband internet and a meeting room; as well as a fully-equipped gym, jet pool, sauna and outdoor courtyard. It is easy to enjoy all that Melbourne has to offer when staying at Somerset on Elizabeth, with easy access to transport, sporting grounds, and theatres. As well as being ideally located within walking distance to Emporium Melbourne, the Strand Arcade, H&M including popular shopping precincts Bourke Street Mall and Melbourne Central. Somerset on Elizabeth is the gateway to experiencing Melbourne's famous precincts and ever-changing culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Somerset on Elizabeth, Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somerset On Elizabeth, Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Somerset On Elizabeth Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing