We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“comfortable & homely”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Somerset on Elizabeth, Melbourne
Ranked #42 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong
Level 6 Contributor
67 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“comfortable & homely”
Reviewed November 23, 2013

Having seen other reviews talking about the noise from the construction for the building next door had made us worried cuz the booking was already done. Thanks god it turned out everything's okay. The room got nearly all basic home equipment and necessities. Settings match the pictures shown on the site when we did the booking. We stayed there for three nights and we felt like home. Location was great and with airport shuttle stopping. Convenience stores, supermarket and shops all on the same street. For shopping, Melbourne Central just round the corner behind the building which was great. Hotel staff were friendly, although service still needs improvement. We still recommend this and will stay there in our next visit to Melbourne.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank berriberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanne G, Senior Marketing Manager at Somerset on Elizabeth, Melbourne, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear berriberry,

Thank you for taking the time to provide a review on your recent stay at Somerset on Elizabeth Melbourne. It is great to read that you enjoyed our central location and felt at home during your stay.

If you are ever visiting Melbourne again, we look forward to hopefully welcome you back at Somerset.

Warm regards,

Joanne G
Senior Marketing Manager
Somerset On Elizabeth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

787 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    291
    341
    114
    30
    11
See reviews for
239
242
50
106
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2013

Although the website states construction occurring for the new Myer building next door during daylight hours, our much deserved break has been terrible. Construction, banging, metal cutting, workmen yelling continued to 3am Saturday morning stopping at 11.30am. Crew have just come to work and it's 10pm Saturday night. For $198 per night this is unacceptable!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Macs73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

We have stayed here twice now.

The room was clean, reception staff friendly, great location just near the tram stop and not far from Bourke St Mall. If there was anything that bothered us, it was street noise on the Friday and Saturday nights. Our room was on Elizabeth St and a couple of times the noise from unpleasant arguments was very clear.

However, that is beyond the control of the hotel unless they double glaze the windows. Apart from that, everything was fine.

Room Tip: Perhaps ask for a room that's not on Elizabeth St.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Evie2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanne G, Senior Marketing Manager at Somerset on Elizabeth, Melbourne, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear Evie2011,

Welcome back, it’s great to read you enjoy staying with us for our central location and thank you for taking the time to write a review.

If you choose to stay at Somerset on Elizabeth again, please make sure you ask our friendly Guest Service Team for an apartment away from Elizabeth Street, we would be happy to facilitate this request if we have availability.

We look forward to seeing you again.

Joanne G
Senior Marketing Manager
Somerset on Elizabeth Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Stayed in a 1 bedroom apartment for 4 nights. I was very happy with our stay. The apartment is a good size for 2 people. There are marks on the walls and the glass between bedroom and lounge needs to have the hand marks cleaned off. There was areas that had dust on it but was cleaned once we pointed this out. There is only 1 lift working at the moment. Location is great.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank watts54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanne G, Senior Marketing Manager at Somerset on Elizabeth, Melbourne, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear watts54,

We appreciate you taking the time to write a review for Somerset on Elizabeth. We are happy to read you enjoyed the spaciousness of our apartments, though are disappointed to read the housekeeping of your room was not upto our usual standards and did not meet your expectations.

We apologise if this impacted the enjoyment of your stay, I will pass on you your review to the Residence Manager to address with our Housekeeping Team.

Thank you once again for the feedback, it’s feedback like yours which helps our Team continually improve to make sure we are meeting all guests expectations during their stays.


Warmest regards,


Joanne G
Senior Marketing Manager
Somerset on Elizabeth Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Stayed 10 days in a one bedroom executive apartment - very well maintained stylish bedroom. Spacious bathroom, living & dining area. Didn't have any problems with any thing in the apartment. My daughter enjoyed cooking in the fully-equipped kitchen with modern appliances.

Friendly and helpful staff.

Great location to everything - tram / bus stops, departmental stores, restaurants etc.

Value for money.

Will return to Somerset again on the next visit.

Room Tip: High floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PatChan37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanne G, Senior Marketing Manager at Somerset on Elizabeth, Melbourne, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Dear PatChan37,

How wonderful to read your review of your recent stay at Somerset on Elizabeth Melbourne. We appreciate you taking the time to let us know you and your daughter enjoyed your stay and that you would stay with us again.

We certainly hope you do, we look forward to seeing you both again soon.

Warmest regards


Joanne G
Senior Marketing Manager
Somerset on Elizabeth Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Old, tired hotel with rock hard beds, TV that continually blacks out. Daily servicing is a myth (at least in my case); in fact my bed wasn't made once that I can see and I have been here 4 days. Lifts dirty and not working to full capacity. Front desk staff very friendly and helpful and the location is quite central. Unfortunately, the hotel still doesn't deliver and I'm writing this review with 2 days of my stay left!!!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EdenA19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Central Business District
Mantra City Central
Mantra City Central
#94 of 160 in Melbourne
739 reviews
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Mantra on Little Bourke
Mantra on Little Bourke
#30 of 160 in Melbourne
1,736 reviews
Chinatown
Mantra On Russell
Mantra On Russell
#36 of 160 in Melbourne
2,165 reviews
Central Business District
Brady Hotels Central Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Somerset on Elizabeth, Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somerset on Elizabeth, Melbourne

Property: Somerset on Elizabeth, Melbourne
Address: 250 Elizabeth St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#36 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#39 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#74 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Somerset on Elizabeth, Melbourne 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Somerset on Elizabeth Melbourne is located in the heart of the city's central business district with a labyrinth of lane-ways, restaurants and shopping precincts only moments away. Positioned perfectly for both the business and leisure traveller, Somerset on Elizabeth offers the convenience of location and contemporary living, fused with the highlights of Melbourne's food, arts and entertainment culture. The modern serviced apartments offer 135 spacious one and two-bedrooms, each with separate living and dining areas, fully-equipped kitchens and modern amenities. The property also features a 24-hour reception, business centre services, complimentary wireless broadband internet and a meeting room; as well as a fully-equipped gym, jet pool, sauna and outdoor courtyard. It is easy to enjoy all that Melbourne has to offer when staying at Somerset on Elizabeth, with easy access to transport, sporting grounds, and theatres. As well as being ideally located within walking distance to Emporium Melbourne, the Strand Arcade, H&M including popular shopping precincts Bourke Street Mall and Melbourne Central. Somerset on Elizabeth is the gateway to experiencing Melbourne's famous precincts and ever-changing culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Somerset on Elizabeth, Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somerset On Elizabeth, Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Somerset On Elizabeth Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing