We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Somerset on Elizabeth, Melbourne
Ranked #39 of 162 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Having not been in Melbourne for some 35 years we didn't know what to expect when we booked a 2 bedroom apartment during the AFL Grand Final week. This self service apartment was superbly located within easy access to shopping, restaurants and various other amenities. The room was spacious, clean & comfortable & the staff courteous. All of this added to our magical & exciting stay in Melbourne & we will most definitely be back......

Room Tip: Select a corner suite for brightness & space
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TrevorPAustralian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanne G, Senior Marketing Manager at Somerset on Elizabeth, Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Dear TrevorPAustralian,

Welcome back to Melbourne! thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback it is lovely to know you had such a wonderful experience. We are looking forward to seeing you again soon.

Warmest regards

Joanne G
Senior Marketing Manager
Somerset on Elizabeth Melbourne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (820)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

596 - 602 of 820 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2013

I stayed in a 1 bedroom apt, it overlooked Elizabeth Street. Mostly a very quiet room only very loud street noises came thru. Plenty of room, larger than an average hotel room, with separate sleeping and lounge areas and a small well equipped kitchenette. Main complaint - no shampoo and conditioner in the bathroom, I had to go and find a chemist and buy some travel size bottles, but this was a very minor irritant. I can absolutely recommend this as a good place to stay in Melbourne

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnnCarson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ned M, Marketing Executive at Somerset on Elizabeth, Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

Hello AnnCarson

Thank you for your recent review. I’m thrilled that you would recommend Somerset on Elizabeth – the apartments are indeed very spacious and well-appointed. With regards to the 2-in-1 body wash/shampoo in the bathroom, this initiative was implemented as part of our commitment to the environment in an effort to reduce waste of plastic bottles. However we are currently reviewing this offering in-line with guests feedback including your own. We look forward to seeing you next time you are in Melbourne.

Kind regards

Ned M.
Marketing Executive
Somerset on Elizabeth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

We needed a base of operations for our theMelbourne leg of our vacation. Somerset was perfect for us. Staff was friendly, helpful, and flawless. Location simply could not have been more convenient for the AFL playoffs, Fringe Fest events, shopping and museums. Skybus from airport was also an excellent choice. Melbourne public transport is excellent as well.
The rooms are functional. They are not fancy but we only used it for sleep, preparation for going out and using the kitchen for light convenient meals. The exercise area is also quite nice and useful. There is a grocery 1 block away.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Duke_Marchinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ned M, Marketing Executive at Somerset on Elizabeth, Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2013

Hello Duke_Marchinn

Thank you for sharing your review with us. I'm delighted to read that Somerset on Elizabeth was the perfect choice for you during your recent stay in Melbourne. I will ensure that your comments relating to our Guest Service Team are relayed back to them, as they will certainly be happy to know that they helped to enhance your experience. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we will look forward to welcoming you back when you next return.

Kind regards

Ned M.
Marketing Executive
Somerset on Elizabeth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

This hotel is in a fantastic location for shopping, public transport and restaurants. The staff here are polite, professional and helpful. The rooms however are a bit dated and basic. You can also hear noise from the hallways if you are in the kitchen/lounge of your apartment. But if you are looking for something central and not expecting a deluxe room to relax in then this will be perfect.

Room Tip: Ask for a room above level 4... if below you will get all the street noise, and if on level 4 you wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thelawsons_nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ned M, Marketing Executive at Somerset on Elizabeth, Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2013

Hello thelawsons_nz

Thank you for posting a review of your recent stay and for highlighting our fantastic location and exceptional staff. You’ll be pleased to know that the apartments are currently undergoing a soft refurbishment in order to update them and this should be completed by the end of the year. We hope that you will choose to stay with us again when you’re next visiting Melbourne.

Kind regards

Ned M.
Marketing Executive
Somerset on Elizabeth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

I've just returned home after three nights here on a work trip. I was able to take advantage of the 'stay 3 nights, pay for 2' offer, so value was great.

As plenty of others have mentioned, the whole place is a little tired. Externally, the signage isn't great, so it can be hard to spot from the street.

Check in was quick and easy, so no complaints there.

The room was fine, if a little dated. Being there to work though, I really didn't spend a lot of time in it, so not a big deal. The bed wasn't all that flash - it definitely felt old. But I was tired enough that sleep wasn't a big drama - even though I was on the 4th floor facing Elizabeth Street, I didn't notice the noise that others have mentioned.

Breakfast was a different matter though. Perhaps my expectations were out of whack, but it's the only place I've ever stayed where it was continental only. I'd chosen to add three breakfasts to my booking when I made it, assuming the $15/breakfast price was a cheaper offer for booking ahead - no mention of it being continental only at that time either. I have to say though, that when I checked out I was only charged the one that I did have, so it seems that choosing the breakfast extra is a bit of a waste of time, given it's the same price in the hotel.

Probably the best way to describe it is that the breakfast room, and the choices available in it, are about as tired as the rest of the hotel. Filter coffee only, a domestic coffee machine that does black coffee only, and juice jugs that only had enough juice for a couple of cups, despite being the only person in the place...it was all a bit sad.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thatsnotmeeither
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ned M, Marketing Executive at Somerset on Elizabeth, Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Hello thatsnotmeeither

Firstly, thank you for sharing your comments. I’m glad that you were able to take advantage of the current ‘Stay 3, Pay 2’ offer before it expires at the end of this month. I’m sorry to read that the furnishings were not to your taste, you’ll be pleased to know that we are currently in the process of updating them and the update should be completed by the end of the year. I will ensure that your feedback in relation to the breakfast room and the available meal options is brought to the Residence Manager’s attention for her review.

Thank you for choosing to stay at Somerset on Elizabeth. We hope you will consider staying with us again.

Kind regards

Ned M.
Marketing Executive
Somerset on Elizabeth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We stayed at the hotel one full week. Actually Somerset is Service Apartment so everything is simple. The bed room decoration is simple but the size is enough about 48 sqm.
They provide from freezer, microwave, stove, dishwasher and washing machine. It was perfect for us. They clean the room everyday but it is a bit late afternoon.
The location is perfect. You can use fitness center, whirl pool at 4th floor for free.
I would recommend for traveler who goes with family. I would absolutely go back there if I visit Melbourne. The rate is reasonable.

Room Tip: Room no 717 is perfect but do not take 1020 coz the shape of the room is not nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nia01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ned M, Marketing Executive at Somerset on Elizabeth, Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Hello Nia01

Thank you for your review. I’m pleased to read that you found everything to be perfect during your stay and that you enjoyed our prime location in the heart of Melbourne. We would certainly be delighted to welcome you back! Thank you for choosing Somerset on Elizabeth Melbourne.

Kind regards

Ned M.
Marketing Executive
Somerset on Elizabeth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

We stayed here for the weekend and were very well looked after. We had a great apartment, spacious and roomy with absolutely everything we could wish for. It has a pretty central location and the spa was a real treat after a day of Melbourne tourism. We got a late checkout without a problem and overall had a great time. There is building work going on next door and this started about 7am - so no lie in!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Swishytail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ned M, Marketing Executive at Somerset on Elizabeth, Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Hello Swishytail

Thank you for your feedback. I am happy to hear that you were very well looked after and that the apartment was everything that you had hoped for. The construction taking place in the mall below us has been somewhat of a nuisance, although it is unfortunately beyond our control. Completion of the Strand Arcade redevelopment is due for completion in February 2014 however I've been advised that the worst of the jack hammering is now over.

We look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in Melbourne.

Kind regards

Ned M.
Marketing Executive
Somerset on Elizabeth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne
Central Business District
Brady Hotels Central Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Mantra City Central
Mantra City Central
#99 of 162 in Melbourne
848 reviews
Central Business District
Mantra on Little Bourke
Mantra on Little Bourke
#30 of 162 in Melbourne
1,933 reviews
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#10 of 162 in Melbourne
1,555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Somerset on Elizabeth, Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somerset on Elizabeth, Melbourne

Address: 250 Elizabeth St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#36 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#74 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $118 - $246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Somerset on Elizabeth, Melbourne 3.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Somerset on Elizabeth Melbourne is located in the heart of the city's central business district with a labyrinth of lane-ways, restaurants and shopping precincts only moments away. Positioned perfectly for both the business and leisure traveller, Somerset on Elizabeth offers the convenience of location and contemporary living, fused with the highlights of Melbourne's food, arts and entertainment culture. The modern serviced apartments offer 135 spacious one and two-bedrooms, each with separate living and dining areas, fully-equipped kitchens and modern amenities. The property also features a 24-hour reception, business centre services, complimentary wireless broadband internet and a meeting room; as well as a fully-equipped gym, jet pool, sauna and outdoor courtyard. It is easy to enjoy all that Melbourne has to offer when staying at Somerset on Elizabeth, with easy access to transport, sporting grounds, and theatres. As well as being ideally located within walking distance to Emporium Melbourne, the Strand Arcade, H&M including popular shopping precincts Bourke Street Mall and Melbourne Central. Somerset on Elizabeth is the gateway to experiencing Melbourne's famous precincts and ever-changing culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Somerset on Elizabeth, Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somerset On Elizabeth, Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Somerset On Elizabeth Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing