We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Somerset on Elizabeth Melbourne
Nearby Hotels
Novotel Melbourne on Collins(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$134
$124
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Pan Pacific Melbourne(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$201
$125
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$126
$117
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Docklands(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$93
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
$92
$88
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
The Hotel Windsor(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$158
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$83
$79
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Fitness center
Art Series - The Blackman(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$170
$127
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$240
$145
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$230
$185
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (912)
Filter reviews
912 results
Traveler rating
367
374
125
34
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
367
374
125
34
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewselizabeth streetgreat locationwashing machinehardware laneserviced apartmentspa poolliving roombourke st mallwithin walking distancedavid jonesone bedroom apartmentthe heart of the citystreet noisecentral locationsmall kitchenettebreakfast roomqueen victoria market
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
789 - 794 of 912 reviews
Reviewed November 28, 2011

the hotel is in a great location for shopping and eating out,but it is getting very tired we have stayed here a lot of times in the past , but this time it needs refurbishing and painted. The rooms are not dirty but there is marks every way on walls the furniture needs up dating etc etc. The hallways to rooms are marked and look tired . If ascot are going to charge 375.00 for a two bed apartment i think they need to start to freshen the place up. I must say the staff are very good, we could get a late late check out for a reasonible price and nothing was a problem thank you

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gina b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fhairie, Manager at Somerset on Elizabeth Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2012

Dear TripAdvisor Member,
Thank you for your review and your kind comments about our great location and our helpful staff. I apologise however that in other regards Somerset on Elizabeth Melbourne did not meet your expectations on this occasion.

Due to feedback such as yours, you will be pleased to hear that a soft refurbishment will be carried out this year, to "freshen the place up" as you suggest. Carpets and sheer curtains will be replaced in all rooms and older style TVs will be replaced by flat screens, amongst other changes.

We look forward to welcoming you back at Somerset on Elizabeth in 2012 and hope that on this occasion we can exceed your expectations.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2011

We stayed for a weekend in the one bedroom executive apartment. It was clean, large and well appointed. The king bed was very comfortable, and the size of the apartment was large enough to have four friends over for drinks comfortably. The location is excellent, right near the GPO. The staff were friendly and helpful, especially the cleaning staff. The only issue we had was on the second night the automatic air conditioning somehow turned itself up to 27 degrees! We had to ask three times for it to be tuned down before anything actually happened. That aside, we had a great time and will be recommending it to our friends and family.

Room Tip: We stayed on an end room on the 8th floor and had no issues with noise despite facing Elizabeth and Lonsdale streets.
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ozkingy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2011

Great staff Service and i loved the location right in the centre of Melbourne within easy walking distance to bars, restaurants pubs and work. room was very spacious with all the mod cons required to relax after work, my room was on Elizabeth street level 6 which was a bit tram noise. I stayed 3 nights. Room was very clean except the shower recess could do with re-grouting, the air con control a bit average ( working /not working??). Good Gym area. breakfast very reasonable considering the offerings - light just the way i like it.

Room Tip: I will stay here again, but ask for a room on the east side and higher up. ( I will let you know how I go).
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 008TrueHoliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2011

Only stayed two nights. Apartment is well set up. Location is very good. Control on air-conditioner is poor which is a pity as the rest of the apartment is a very good standard

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aussietriptraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2011

Stayed from Sunday to Friday while in Melbourne for work. Very comfortable room with all modern cons. Bathroom very clean complete with washer/dryer. 8th flood overlooking Elizabeth St,. No issues with noise. Room well laid out and practical for week stay. Could have easily confortably stayed longer. Staff very helpful. Perfect central location for anywhere in Melbourne. Will be back again.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ShawnQueensland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews