We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not in a hurry to go back”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
George Powlett Apartments
Ranked #56 of 136 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
New South Wales, Australia
1 review
“not in a hurry to go back”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

We stay here for a weekend to go to footy, there is only about 5 parking spaces (for small cars) there is very limited street parking, the room size was great, but that was the only good thing about the room, customer service was poor at best, after staying here we are now spending extra on accommodation to have something better

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SNRBoots_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    46
    45
    21
    34
See reviews for
38
46
18
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Western Australia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here for a week, and i thought it was fine for what we needed at the time. At the end of the day we just wanted a bed and a shower, as we went out from 9 in the morning, and came home about midnight. Yeah the bathroom was a little old, but the water was hot. It was a good price, and we were able to save money on breakfast and lunch by having breakfast there (they provide a toaster, frigde and kettle) and making our own lunch. It's a good location too, the tram and train station is just right outside, making it easy to get places.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kara929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2012

Stayed here Grand Final weekend. For the price was not expecting 5 star and didn't get 5 star! Yes it is old and tired and in desperate need of upgrade but it was clean and the staff polite even letting us into our room at 8am!!!!! Great location and would go back without expecting 5 stars at 2.5 star prices!

Room Tip: Don't expect luxury at these prices!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bev W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, QLD
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2012

This is a general warning to all travelers - no matter what your budget is or what you're looking for. Do not consider this place! Due to lack of 24 hours reception, we had to call a mobile number to check in (which was fine by us). Incredulously, we were given our room number and told that the key would be under the door mat!

The room was dirty, old and most things did not work. There was a limited supply of hot water for the shower, and the taps in the basin would run rusty yellow water out for a long time. I have uploaded a picture of this.

Upon complaints to management, we were told by the rude, burly, tattooed manager that we could take it or leave it. On compromise, he came to inspect the room and told us (with his hand in the shower water) that the shower water temperature was perfectly ok to shower in. Not believing him, we called him out on his lie when we touched it for ourselves and discovered he had been touching cold water coming out of the shower.

We left after one sleepless night and found a spare room at the Best Western, which was far superior and only $15 more expensive. As we prebooked on wotif, we understood when the manager refused to refund the remaining two days when we went back to ask the next morning. What we didn't expect was his rudeness, urging us to contact the ACCC and make a complaint. No apology whatsoever.

We only booked this place because all other accommodation in Melbourne was booked for that weekend on wotif. Never again! Avoid it at all costs!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jhuang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Melbourne hotels

Bargara, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2012

my wife and i stayed here for 5 nights, property is fairly old, but the room was clean, staff very helpfull and is in a fantastic position, will stay again. we are both around the 60 age.i will be back to stay when the football season starts as it is so close to the MCG.


pubman33

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pubman33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barooga, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

I have never seen such disgusting accomodation for the price charged. Toilet didn't work, shower didn't work. The bath was back to rust you wouldn't dare stand in it. No phone or any way to order food in. Broken tiles entering the bathroom to cut your feet on. Noise from groups of people out the front of the hotel till all hours of the morning - no sleep. Should actually be reported to the Department of Health and I would say it would be closed down.

Room Tip: Do not stay in this place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is badly in need of repairs and general maintenance. In saying this, they were starting some repair work while we stayed there. Showers leaked, sinks leaked (and had towells under the leak!) , light bulbs were broken, mold in the bathrooms, railing was broken, bricks loose on interior walls, bunks squeaked all night (wirh our children on them), one child turned a switch and sparks came out.... On the other hand location is good and close to public transport.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NewZealandKiwifamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Melbourne
0.3 mi away
Albert Heights Serviced Apartments
0.4 mi away
Mantra on Jolimont
Mantra on Jolimont
#92 of 159 in Melbourne
1,486 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Hotel East Melbourne
Comfort Hotel East Melbourne
#119 of 159 in Melbourne
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Magnolia Court Boutique
Magnolia Court Boutique
#144 of 159 in Melbourne
206 reviews
0.9 mi away
Richmond Hill Hotel
Richmond Hill Hotel
#2 of 2 in Richmond
211 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pullman Melbourne on the Park
Pullman Melbourne on the Park
#76 of 159 in Melbourne
913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to George Powlett Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about George Powlett Apartments

Property: George Powlett Apartments
Address: 30 Powlett St | East Melbourne, Melbourne, Victoria 3002, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 136 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — George Powlett Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
George Powlett Apartments is located in the quiet exclusive area of East Melbourne, just a short stroll to the CBD, Markets, MCG, Rod Laver Arena and Fitzroy Gardens. The 43 Studio Apartments are suitable for up to 3 people and include ensuite bathroom, kitchenette, airconditioning and limited free car parking. Guest laundry and ironing room, Same day dry cleaning service, Business fax and photocopying service, Easy public transport access to CBD and many Melbourne attractions, Rooms serviced regularly (except Sundays). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your George Powlett Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Powlett Apartments Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing