We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Get what you paid for”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
George Powlett Apartments
Ranked #56 of 132 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
1 review
“Get what you paid for”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2011

I found this place to be good budget accommodation close to the city and shopping. It was clean, neat and secure but is in need of an overhaul.

The TV only had 4 chanels, the airconditioning worked better with windows open - even though it was refrigerated and only half the light bulbs worked. the fridge made lots of noice constantly.

However if you just want accommodation and do not plan to spend much time there, it is ideally located.

Room Tip: Don't expect too much other than a safe place to sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    43
    45
    21
    33
See reviews for
38
43
17
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2011

My colleague picked this place, and admittedly the location is convenient and the price is quite good. Clearly they trade on these two factors and provided you actually never need anything from the front desk except to check in or out, it's a decent choice.

However, as other reviewers have noted, the owner/manager or whatever he is, is extraordinarily rude. He was instantly recognizable from the reviews and I was sorely tempted to switch hotels just on principle.

My colleague, who never interacted with the front desk save to check-in and check-out, didn't have any issues.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pangloss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Melbourne hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Burnie, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2011

If you want to go to the footy at the MCG you can't get any closer but the rooms are old and run down. If it's a footy trip and you are only going to sleep there than it's ok. If you want something nice go elsewhere

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth
Level Contributor
87 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2011

If you want to go to the football at the MCG, this is the place to stay! It is truly jsut footsteps away. It is also close to the city centre/sights, and the trams run regularly. Sunday, tram tickets are $3 for the whole day, otherwise $7.
We stayed here a week. We arrived quite late, and our TV didn't work, and the unit looked a little tired. We also only had one very slender pillow each. However, the next day, all of these problems were rectified. Its not the Hilton, but you aren't paying those prices either, from memory we paid just over $500 for 8 nights, which is very cheap for its position in the city. And it was clean and cosy. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.
Just one further tip, if you are thinking about hiring a car, get a very small one. Parking, whilst free, is very difficult. There is underground parking, but you need a mini. There is also street parking but you need to get a voucher from the hotel to avoid a parking ticket. And I think they only give out about 4.
If you stay more than 7 nights, you get free wifi, less and it only costs a one off $5

Room Tip: If something is missing, just ask, management is very obliging
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PerthJenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2011

Great location, walking distance from MCG and city centre. Appartments are tried and could do with a face lift, but they are clean. Tiles in bathroom could do with being replaced, some missing making the bathroom look dirty. The young lady on the desk was very nice and polite and could not be more helpful. It is only 3 star so dont expect 5 star you will be disappointed. Each room has its own hot water service so if you have long showers you are going to run out. They are hot and enough for two people. Our hot water service was leaking but when spoke to the staff we manage to get the keys to another room on our floor to shower until it was fixed, not sure what would have happened if there was no spare. Very quite area. Carparking seems to be a problem only when there is football, there is restrictions around the appartments and the supplied carpart holds about 7 SMALL cars and its a squeeze to get in and out. Also people not staying at appartments and going to football can just come in a pinch carparks. It has kitchenette but only a microwave, NO stove. My advise is if winter take a extra blanket, and if you want to cook take a electric frying pan. Overall if you want cheap, it is, but dont expect the best you will be disappointed

Room Tip: dont pay too much, you get what you pay for
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dizzey26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guangzhou, China
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2011

Great location for access to the MCG and the city but that's where the pros stop. Very old and dirty room, not enough blankets, heater didn't work, noisy laundry located in the middle of the apartments, and the hot water runs out and takes 20 minutes to re-heat. Finally the management do not let you leave bags at the hotel beyond 2pm on the day you check out! DO NOT STAY HERE.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Waspy79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2011

The rooms are basic but that's to be expected for such a cheap price. However, there was no iron, hair dryer or wifi as promised. There were two cups and a mug. Plumbing comes out the walls at odd angles. There is grime throughout the bathroom.

Nevertheless, the greatest disappointment was the customer service. On the rare occassion that the staff decided to be around the place they were unbelievably rude. It seemed the male receptionist was born minus a personality/without the ability to smile.

On the day we were to check out we waited at reception for at least 20 minutes and called the number to seek assistance and no one picked up. Eventually we decided to just leave our bags in the room they were kept in when we checked in assuming it wouldn't be too much of a hassle. When we came back in a few hours to pick them back up the man once again wasnt there and when he finally did arrive he lectured us about how we should have let him know and how he should have just chucked them on the street. It seems he does have a personality and its being a jerk.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doitel21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
0.3 mi away
Adara East Melbourne
Adara East Melbourne
#114 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mantra on Jolimont
Mantra on Jolimont
#91 of 158 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,365 reviews
0.1 mi away
Magnolia Court Boutique
Magnolia Court Boutique
#143 of 158 in Melbourne
3.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Albert Heights Serviced Apartments
0.2 mi away
Pullman Melbourne on the Park
Pullman Melbourne on the Park
#68 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 858 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quest East Melbourne
Quest East Melbourne
#4 of 132 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to George Powlett Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about George Powlett Apartments

Property: George Powlett Apartments
Address: 30 Powlett St | East Melbourne, Melbourne, Victoria 3002, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 132 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — George Powlett Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
George Powlett Apartments is located in the quiet exclusive area of East Melbourne, just a short stroll to the CBD, Markets, MCG, Rod Laver Arena and Fitzroy Gardens. The 43 Studio Apartments are suitable for up to 3 people and include ensuite bathroom, kitchenette, airconditioning and limited free car parking. Guest laundry and ironing room, Same day dry cleaning service, Business fax and photocopying service, Easy public transport access to CBD and many Melbourne attractions, Rooms serviced regularly (except Sundays). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your George Powlett Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Powlett Apartments Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing