We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Ibis Melbourne Little Bourke Street
Ranked #83 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Motel is well located close to Southern Cross Station and trams, Staff were friendly and helpful, the room was smallish but clean and comfortable, only downside was that I arrived early and wanted to store my luggage for a few hours was sent to a room with pay to use lockers $6 min charge ( other motels I have used have held my luggage free of charge until the room was ready}

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ibis3030, General Manager at Hotel Ibis Melbourne Little Bourke Street, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2014

Dear John B

Many thanks for your feedback on your recent visit.

It is pleasing to hear that you enjoyed so much of your stay.

Early arrivals where possible we provide guests into their rooms early, in the event that
this is not possible we offer coin operated lockers to secure bags safely for early arrivals of
on departure. This incurs a cost, giving you access to to your items as required at all times.
We trust this was not too inconvient for your needs.

many thanks
Mary Ellen O'Malley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,187)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Ibis Melbourne Little Bourke Street
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

548 - 554 of 1,187 reviews

Reviewed March 9, 2014

We stayed 3 nights at the Ibis which was chosen because of its proximity to Southern Cross Station.
Reception staff were bright and cheery and because I am an Accor member I was given a free bottle of beer which was very welcome.
The room itself was small but clean and tid with the usual facilities. Our room was at the side of the building as the view from the window was the side of an adjacent building. At first the air conditioning was too cold and I couldn't fix it with the remote. I mentioned it to reception and it was fixed that day while we were out.
Free wifi was available but the password only lasted for 2 days so you have to request another if staying longer.
There was a reasonable range of hot and cold food available for breakfast and we managed to fill up for the day.
Overall its a typical Ibis hotel, nothing flash but reasonably reliable.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eldertofu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ibis3030, General Manager at Hotel Ibis Melbourne Little Bourke Street, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2014

Dear Eldertofu

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at the hotel. It is rewarding to hear that your enjoyed your stay and the staff were very responsive to your needs.

Views from the hotel rooms are limited by the inner city high rise buildings surrounding the hotel.

We are pleased to see as an Accor member you received your special benefits.

We look forward to seeing you when next in Melbourne.

many thanks
Mary Ellen O'Malley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Close to southern cross station if arriving by train or bus from the airport.
Obviously a backpacker favourite but who cares. A quick walk to trams, city centre, Victoria market, and most of what Melbourne offers as a city.
Check in was quick, room not a football field size but clean and tidy.
Overall a good stop for a couple of nights

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank oldie_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ibis3030, General Manager at Hotel Ibis Melbourne Little Bourke Street, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2014

Dear Oldie_9

Thank you for your comments on yur recent stay. It is pelasing to hear that you found the hotel to your liking.

Location is very handy to the Southern Cross Station and walking around Melbourne is easy or alternatively catching a tram will get you out and about.

Rooms are compact and equipped with the essential needs.

Wish you all the best and look forward to seeing you when next in Melbourne.

many thanks
Mary Ellen O'Malley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

If you want a clean room, please stay out of this hotel. I recently stayed here for two nights with my parents. Yes, the location is handy to Bourke st mall and local arcade. But I cannot understand why can't they clean the room properly. The carpet was stained pretty bad, along with dirty curtain and dusty windows. They weren't the worst thing as I discovered a big dirty stain over the bed sheet. The amenity was pretty tiny and we also need to heat up kettle in the cupboard as it seems to be the 'right place' to have them. If this is the motel standard 'hotel room', then we shall get charged at motel room rate.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank Dozza M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ibis3030, General Manager at Hotel Ibis Melbourne Little Bourke Street, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2014

Dear DozzaM

Our sincere apologies that your stay was not up to the standard we strive to achieve.
Cleanliness is something we pride ourselves on and are extremely dissappointed that on this ocassion we failed the expectation. We do hope that during your stay you made contact with Reception to have your concerns rectified immediately.

Our kettle and tea/coffee amenities are stored in the wardrobe, with the powepoint located on the work bench to boil the kettle and conduct the preparation.

The hotel is centrally located close to Southern Cross Station and 4 blocks away from the Bourke Street Mall. This is a stroll or a short tram ride away form the hotel.

We wish you all the best with your future travels.

Kind regards

Mary Ellen O'Malley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2014

This hotel was nice and close to Southern Cross Station, although a little difficult to locate at first as it's on the road behind the station. The room was clean, tidy and quiet. It's what I would expect for a 3 star hotel and for the price we paid.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissDavina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ibis3030, General Manager at Hotel Ibis Melbourne Little Bourke Street, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2014

Dear MissDavina

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent stay at the hotel. It is pleasing to hear that
you found the hotel to your liking and expectations.
Currently with major developments within the street, locating the hotel around these works is not as easy to the eye. We are working closely with the site to ensure we have as much access as possible during these necessary works.

We look forward to seeing when next in the area.

take care
Mary Ellen O'Malley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Location: Hotel is located on the side street so you won't really see a nice view. However, it is very near (about 200m) from the Southern Cross station which is a major/Central station in Melbourne. In the station (basement), there is COLES grocery and a Pharmacy and also a food court (2nd floor of the shopping area).

24-hour Food Access: Most establishments close down around 5-6pm if you're looking for "late" night food store, there is a 7/11 and subway nearby (abour 50 meters) and Hungry Jack (like Burger King) outside the Southern cross station.

Room: Is big enough for 2 people. The water pressure of the shower isn't ideal, we ended up removing the shower head. Bed is fine, in fact it is hard enough for a good night sleep. They only make-up your room until 1pm, one thing to take note if you're planning on staying inside or scheduling your tour. However, if you may always ask for supply (clean towel, soap, etc) if you opt not to forgo the cleaning for the day.

Staff: Very nice and friendly. They allowed us to checkin even before lunch time as the room was already available. Plus we are able to leave our baggage when we checked out as out flight was at night.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DuchessDiaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ibis3030, General Manager at Hotel Ibis Melbourne Little Bourke Street, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2014

Dear Shoppingmissy

Thank you for sharing your valuable feedback from your recent visit.

It is great to hear you found the hotel to your liking and inparticular the very friendly staff.
The team work very hard to provide a warm and friendly welcome to all our guests.

Location in the city makes the hotel very central as a base to explore and get around the city.

Apologies to hear that the water pressure was not suitable - please with these things let us know whilst you are at the hotel so we can investigate to ensure the matter is rectified for the next guest.

Housekeeping work the hours based on occupancies - this will mean that room cleaning times will vary from day to day between 8.00am and 4.00pm. To ensure that you are catered for in the best possible way - if you have a request please let Reception know and we can make every endeavour to fulful this requirement.

Good luck with your travels and we look forward to seeing you when next in Melbourne.

thanks
Mary Ellen O'Malley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2014

As other reviewers have stated you are getting what you pay for. A centrally located room close to transport. Southern cross station 5 minutes walk and a tram stop on Bourke street also 5 minutes walk. There are many eating places close by and a Coles supermarket at the station. We were on the 7th floor and looked out to a building next door. The fridge kept
water very cold, great in 42 degree heat outside.

The room and bathroom was presented in tidy and clean condition. The room was cleaned daily to a high standard. The cleaner seemed to arrive about 3pm catching us out as we returned to the room to freshen up. The front office desk staff were helpful and friendly arranging for an extra key card to allow the air conditioning to function in the hot conditions when we were out.
All in all an enjoyable stay.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
Thank 1smost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ibis3030, General Manager at Hotel Ibis Melbourne Little Bourke Street, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2014

Dear 1smost

Many thanks for provide us with valuable feedback on your recent stay.

Melbourne has certainly had a summer to remember with some very hot days -
as team we have put in place some strategies to assist with guest comfort
during these extreme conditions. We are pleased to hear that you found the
hotel accommodating.

many thanks
Mary Ellen O'Malley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
ibis Melbourne Hotel and Apartments
Central Business District
Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel
ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel
#137 of 160 in Melbourne
1,354 reviews
Central Business District
Atlantis Hotel
Atlantis Hotel
#99 of 160 in Melbourne
1,865 reviews
Central Business District
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
#61 of 160 in Melbourne
3,654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ibis Melbourne Little Bourke Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ibis Melbourne Little Bourke Street

Address: 600 Little Bourke St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Best Value Hotel in Melbourne
#70 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $88 - $188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ibis Melbourne Little Bourke Street 3*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great value, unsurpassed location and excellent service make ibis Melbourne Little Bourke Street a very popular hotel choice. Boasting 121 rooms, this hotel has all the convenience of a central city location close to the financial, legal and entertainment precincts and is walking distance to the Skybus airport transfer service and Southern Cross Train Station. Ibis Melbourne Little Bourke Street is modern and affordable with comfortable rooms and great amenities to ensure a pleasant stay. Facilities include a breakfast room, Internet access and private offices. Conference rooms are available for a variety of small to medium functions, training seminars, trade shows or workshops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, ACCOR, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Ibis Melbourne Little Bourke Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing