We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An Ibis hotel by name only”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Ibis Melbourne Little Bourke Street
Ranked #82 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
244 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
“An Ibis hotel by name only”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

I am a very frequent traveller, and I have over the years stayed in many Ibis hotels in Asia and in the Middle East. The Little Bourke Street Ibis is by far the worst, and I am amazed at the poor standard. This Ibis hotel is squeezed in between industrial looking buildings/lofts ..it doesn't look or feel like a usual Ibis hotel.

Check-in was a breeze, and the Front Desk was about the best experience about this place. Room size appeared to be smaller than the usual Ibis experience. The bath room was about the only other highlight , other than the Front Desk.

What irked me were 2 things:
My room looked out onto the facade, about 5 meters away, of an ugly industrial building ..couldn't even see the sky. So here is a warning for those hotel guests with claustrophobic tendencies ..stay away.
The other irk was the breakfast - what a desaster; a very small breakfast room ..more like an odd corner quick snack canteen than an Ibis breakfast room. The fruit juices were dispensed out of the original catering containers; the coffee machine dispensed hot milk froth only ...no sign of any coffee when I pressed the Latte , or the Cappuccino buttons ...
In summary, this Ibis is an Ibis Hotel by name only ..it does not at all reflect the usual standard of the many Ibis hotels I have been to.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ibis3030, General Manager at Hotel Ibis Melbourne Little Bourke Street, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear MichaelPohl

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at the hotel.

It is disappointing to hear that you did not find the hotel to be similar to that
of hotels located in Asia and the Middle East.

It is pleasing to hear that you found the service of the staff at Reception able to provide you with
a speedy checkin.

We wish you all the best with your future travels.

many thanks
Mary Ellen O'Malley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    566
    270
    62
    22
See reviews for
126
420
207
214
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a weekend. The location of the hotel is great - it's only a short walk away from flinders street and southern cross station. It is down a side street which may seem a little unsafe at times, so best to keep that in mind when planning to walk home or get a cab. Price wise the hotel was great - very reasonable. And the amenities were fine, they weren't brand new and 5 star, but very very reasonable which is what this hotel offers. A great place to stay - highly convenient!

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank GGalham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ibis3030, General Manager at Hotel Ibis Melbourne Little Bourke Street, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear GGalham

Thank you for sharing feedback about your recent stay in Melbourne.

We are pleased to hear that you found the hotel and its services to your liking.

Location in the heart of the city with close access to the railway stations makes getting
around very easy.

many thanks

Mary Ellen O'Malley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton
Level Contributor
92 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

We stayed here on an Accor free night. The hotel was fine. The receptionist was very friendly and helpful when we dropped our bags off early - we were actually able to get into our room at about 8.30 am. The location is great being close to Sthn Cross staion and therefore the SKyBus. An easy walk to South Bank and only a little further into the CBD. The only thing that was a little strange was that the two single beds were that close together that it felt like I was sleeping in the same bed as my firend.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank golfingkiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ibis3030, General Manager at Hotel Ibis Melbourne Little Bourke Street, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear golfing kiwi

Many thanks for your feedback and it is pleasing to hear you enjoyed many aspects of your stay.

Early assess to your room can be a great advantage, during busy period this can not be guaranteed. If rooms are available upon arrival we are always happy to check you in straight away.
Check in time is 2.00pm check out time is 11.00am.

The hotels rooms are compact using the space available in the most efficient way possible. In the twin rooms the beds are separated by the bedside table.

We wish you all the best with your travels and golfing.

many thanks
Mary Ellen O'Malley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013

Located just a few blocks away from the hussle and bussle of Swanston St and Chinatown, rooms are quiet but often look out onto multistorey parking (out the front) or roof-tops (out the back) and are equipped with all basic necessities. The hotel has a basic gym with slightly dated equipment – that none of the hotel info material mentions, and staff only confirmed that there was an on-site gym upon enquiry. Wireless and wired internet for laptop use available at a fee, alternatively there is a workstation on the ground floor of Café 600. Breakfast is outsourced to Café 600 which I did not try, but my understanding is that it is not included in the room rate. I highly appreciated the possibility to check in early to freshen up before an appointment, and staff were also very helpful and friendly in pointing out eating-out options in walking distance.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank veepka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ibis3030, General Manager at Hotel Ibis Melbourne Little Bourke Street, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Veepka

Many thanks for your time in providing valuable feedback.

The hotels location in the heart of the city is certainly surrounded by tall building and this will continue as the sites around us have current works going as high as 42 levels and planning permits have been grant for vacant sites to undertake similar builds. Popularity on inner city living is encouraging this type of development. This does however mean that views from the hotels windows are restricted.

Where possible and room type permitting we always try and check early arrivals into their room, for ease and comfort. This service can not be guaranteed in particular during busy periods. Check in time is 2.00pm and check out time is 11.00am.

We wish you all the best with your travels and look forward to seeing you when next in Melbourne.

many thanks
Mary Ellen O'Malley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newry
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

I love Ibis Little Bourke St.
I sometimes have to overnight in Melbourne and the location of the hotel is great for trains, plains and trams. It's also close to my favourite steak house, a place i was recommended by the knowledgeable and friendly staff at Ibis.
Rooms are very well appointed for the price.
I wouldn't stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Kat K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ibis3030, General Manager at Hotel Ibis Melbourne Little Bourke Street, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Kat K

Thank you for your valuable feedback and ongoing support of the hotel.

It is rewarding when the team hear that they have been able to assist your needs.

We look forward to seeing you in the future.

many thanks

Mary Ellen O'Malley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel
Central Business District
ibis Melbourne Hotel and Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
Central Business District
ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel
ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel
#134 of 158 in Melbourne
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,302 reviews
Central Business District
Mercure Welcome Melbourne
Mercure Welcome Melbourne
#105 of 158 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ibis Melbourne Little Bourke Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ibis Melbourne Little Bourke Street

Property: Hotel Ibis Melbourne Little Bourke Street
Address: 600 Little Bourke St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Melbourne
#70 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ibis Melbourne Little Bourke Street 3*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great value, unsurpassed location and excellent service make ibis Melbourne Little Bourke Street a very popular hotel choice. Boasting 121 rooms, this hotel has all the convenience of a central city location close to the financial, legal and entertainment precincts and is walking distance to the Skybus airport transfer service and Southern Cross Train Station. Ibis Melbourne Little Bourke Street is modern and affordable with comfortable rooms and great amenities to ensure a pleasant stay. Facilities include a breakfast room, Internet access and private offices. Conference rooms are available for a variety of small to medium functions, training seminars, trade shows or workshops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, ACCOR, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Ibis Melbourne Little Bourke Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing