We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and convenient but ordinary”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Ibis Melbourne Little Bourke Street
Ranked #82 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Clean and convenient but ordinary”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Very compact, clean and good for budget travel as close to sky bus depot and trains. Unfortunately housekeeping ignore their own "sleeping" signs and watch out for the under performing TV remotes as you can end up being asked to pay for unwanted and unused movie packages if you are woken up by them and try to switch on the TV without your eye glasses. Plenty of door shutting and internal hallway noise at night, very ordinary buffet breakfast for a hotel and a concrete wall view from the room complete the picture. Didn't see any pool and didn't need room service.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 512traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ibis3030, General Manager at Hotel Ibis Melbourne Little Bourke Street, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear 512traveller

Thanks for your time to provide valuable feedback. Our sincere apologies that aspects of the stay were of a frustrating nature. We have passed your feedback onto the relevant departments for corrective action.

The hotels location in the heart of the city is surrounded by tall buildings and there are no views from the rooms. The hotel does not have a pool.

All the best with your travels.

many thanks
Mary Ellen O'Malley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    579
    275
    64
    22
See reviews for
131
426
212
219
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
vancouver
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Nothing but positive comments as with previous guests.

The room was smaller by North American standards - not cramped, rather nice n' cozy. All amenities one gets in North America there as well. As noted by all reviewers location, staff, cost all positive.

A really nice touch for us Seniors - when it was ascertained we were celebrating a 45th Anniversary there was the lovely bottle of wine in our room. Further, when the Front Desk saw one of us was somewhat mobility impaired we were given a room next to the elevators without having to swallow pride & ask.

It is touches like this that make a great Hotel a Super hotel - often at a par or exceeding hotels of higher prices and service.

We just loved our too short a stay here. Needless to say we recommend this establishment to all. If ever we should be back in Melbourne we'll be here.

Room Tip: In any hotel the higher the better. There is construction next door at the time of our visit. Only...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mar2dav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ibis3030, General Manager at Hotel Ibis Melbourne Little Bourke Street, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear mar2dav

Many thanks for your feedback - it is pleasing to hear that we where able to assist you in a discreet manner during your stay. Congratulations on your anniversary. All the best with your travels.

take care

Mary Ellen O'Malley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
66 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013

As we had an early morning flight, we stayed at the Ibis for a couple of reasons. The room cost was very reasonable for a Melbourne CBD hotel and it is close to Southern Cross station and the Skybus to the airport.

The room had two single beds and although on the small side, was clean and comfortable. Our view was of a blank concrete wall, but this didn't worry us as we were only there for one night. If you are staying a few days, this may be an issue.

As hotels near the airport can be close to $300, the Ibis is a far better alternative. I'm more than happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tripper2Melbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ibis3030, General Manager at Hotel Ibis Melbourne Little Bourke Street, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear Tripper2Melbourne

Great to hear from you - and many thanks for your time. We are please to hear that
you found many aspects of the hotel appealing.

Being located in the heart of the city - views are limited.
Look forward to seeing you next time.

thanks
Mary Ellen O'Malley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Location is convenient, at the edge of town and across the road from Southern Cross Station. Beds were a little too soft -- gives you aches after a couple of days.

Staff were generally friendly and helpful -- although some were not.
Rooms were promptly cleaned when we get back every night.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Stephanie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ibis3030, General Manager at Hotel Ibis Melbourne Little Bourke Street, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Stephanie K

Many thanks for your valuable feedback. Apologies that a couple of things did not meet your expectations. Your comments regarding the staff, we have discussed with the team and they will take a closer look at their interactions to ensure improvements for other guests.
we look forward to welcoming you back when next in the area.

thanks
Mary Ellen O'Malley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

This is a real gem in an expensive town - neat and tidy rooms, immaculate bathrooms and a short walk to all the Melbourne action, hard to beat for price and convenience. And the staff are really friendly - a cheery greeting goes a long way - and helpful - oh that other establishments would follow suit. Ibis seems to have given their properties a major overall - this was our first experience but we will be back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deh56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ibis3030, General Manager at Hotel Ibis Melbourne Little Bourke Street, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear deh56

Great to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Many thanks for providing us with
this valuable feedback.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

thanks
Mary Ellen O'Malley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

You kind of know what to expect when you book an Ibis, so once you're not expecting five star facilities you won't be disappointed.

That said, the staff here were extremely helpful, and the hotels location couldn't have been better for us. We were visiting the city for 3 days so wanted to see as much as possible on that time.

The rooms were a reasonable size, the bed comfortable and the shower was good, what more could you ask for from an Ibis.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sheldon82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ibis3030, General Manager at Hotel Ibis Melbourne Little Bourke Street, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Sheldon82

Many thanks for your valuable feedback. It is great to hear the hotel and its team
looked after.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

many thanks
Mary Ellen O'Malley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Level Contributor
115 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

This small hotel is located very close to Victoria Market and it only took us 5 minutes or so to walk there. Upon checking in we found the staff courteous and helpful. Our room was fairly small and the mattresses were very soft. We did not find them comfortable to sleep in due to the lack of back support. Overall cleanliness of our room was good. Breakfast variety is limited to a few basic selections only. We found this hotel to be of average quality.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlobeTrekker6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ibis3030, General Manager at Hotel Ibis Melbourne Little Bourke Street, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Dear GlobeTrekker6

Many thanks for you time to provide us with feedback.

It is pleasing to hear that you found the hotel ideally located and the staff very friendly.

Buffet breakfast offers an "all you can eat" fixed price $20.00 includes, fruits, yoghurt, toast, cereals, waffles, tea/coffee and juices, along with a selection of hot food, bacon, tomatoes, eggs, hash browns and chippolattas. A great way to get your day started at a very affordable price.

Sorry to hear that you found the bedding somewhat uncomfortable - we will investigate this matter and fix accordingly.

Many thanks take care with your travels.

Mary Ellen O'Malley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
ibis Melbourne Hotel and Apartments
Central Business District
Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Mercure Welcome Melbourne
Mercure Welcome Melbourne
#104 of 159 in Melbourne
4,176 reviews
Central Business District
ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel
ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel
#134 of 159 in Melbourne
1,329 reviews
Central Business District
Ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ibis Melbourne Little Bourke Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ibis Melbourne Little Bourke Street

Property: Hotel Ibis Melbourne Little Bourke Street
Address: 600 Little Bourke St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#70 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ibis Melbourne Little Bourke Street 3*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great value, unsurpassed location and excellent service make ibis Melbourne Little Bourke Street a very popular hotel choice. Boasting 121 rooms, this hotel has all the convenience of a central city location close to the financial, legal and entertainment precincts and is walking distance to the Skybus airport transfer service and Southern Cross Train Station. Ibis Melbourne Little Bourke Street is modern and affordable with comfortable rooms and great amenities to ensure a pleasant stay. Facilities include a breakfast room, Internet access and private offices. Conference rooms are available for a variety of small to medium functions, training seminars, trade shows or workshops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Ibis Melbourne Little Bourke Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing