We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“as usual”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ibis Melbourne Little Bourke Street
Ranked #81 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Reviewed March 25, 2013

This hotel is by choice, our hotel for Melbourne. We have lost count of the number of times we have been here. OK, the rooms are not large and the bathrooms miniscule, but you get what youy pay for. Room rates are excellent for downtown. It is clean and comfortable but once again it is the little things that count. Housekeeping were in a hurry obviously before we checked in. The bathroom waste bin was in the room with the other one. There was only one glass in the frig until we looked in the freezer box and there was the other one, half full of water [?] The fan in the bathroom had a whine like an air raid siren and there was an unfortunate brown mark on the inside of the sliding door. Ugh ! Otherwise we would have marked the room up a notch.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Russell H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ibis3030, General Manager at Ibis Melbourne Little Bourke Street, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Dear Russell

Many thanks for your valuable feedback. We are pleased to hear that you have once again selected to stay with us. Thank you for your ongoing support.

We have stepped up our approach to having rubbish from guests rooms seperated into a more environmentally friendly manner so we can recycle more actively. As a result the bins are now placed together in the rooms to prompt the recycling process in a silent manner. It has been working very well with guests actively contributing to the seperation using the bins.

In the event that something has been missed or overlooked in the rooms please do not hesitate to contact Reception immediately so we can address any concerns.

Once again thanks for your continued support and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

many thanks
Mary Ellen O'Malley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,227)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

712 - 718 of 1,228 reviews

Reviewed March 24, 2013

We had booked the hotel for three days , unfortunately didn't have pleasant experience , Stay if you wish to stay close to the main Railway station and Bourke and other major streets ., very small rooms with out any ventilations , large french windows overlooking street , need to keep the curtains on or the street will have full view of your room . shockingly we had very bad experience with house keeping , rooms were not cleaned for two days and the reception had just two words " we will look into it "

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank AjWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ibis3030, General Manager at Ibis Melbourne Little Bourke Street, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Dear AjWorld

Thank you for your time to provide us with valuable feedback in relation to your recent stay.
It has been apparent from your feedback that Housekeeping and Reception have
been remise in ensuring your stay was as comfortable as possible.
Both teams regert that they allowed their stadnards to slip and wish to past on their sincere apologies for the inconvenience.
As a team we have discussed the concerns and will work actively to ensure they are rectified in the future.
We wish you all the best with your travels and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

many thanks
Mary Ellen O'Malley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Tucked away in little bourke street is the Ibis.
It is a 2 minute walk to southern cross station, trams and the skybus to and from the airport.
Perfect if you are in need of these links including the free city circle tram.
With ibis you know you get great value, clean rooms, and good service.
A room with 2 singles still left plenty of room to swing the cat, and bathroom was adequate.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
2  Thank kentlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ibis3030, General Manager at Ibis Melbourne Little Bourke Street, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2013

Dear Kentlad

Thanks for your feedback - great to hear the hotel suited your needs.

We look forward to welcoming you back when next in the area.

thanks
Mary Ellen O'Malley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Recently stayed here for two nights, in a nutshell, this is a very basic "hotel".
The decision to stay here really depends on what you are looking for in a hotel, and what you plan to do whilst in Melbourne.If you want somewhere to just sleep for one night,shower & change, get up and go, then this may suit you.
The room I was allocated overlooked a multi storey car park, there is a night club next door and a back packers hostel just up the road.
The room appeared to have been recently "renovated".It had a bed (comfy), bar fridge (not stocked), complimentary tea & coffee, a TV, ensuite with the usual sink, toilet and shower over the bath, and an iron + ironing board.
There is no in room safe, however, you can use the safe facility at reception but that is not practical.
There is no proper lobby as such, just a reception desk, there are no dining facilities here either. Breakfast is available in a cafe style room upstairs, it's OK, but just the usual basic breakfast fare.
The hotel does offer a 24 hour very limited "take a way" type service, you can order a few items from a menu and then pick up at reception e.g.lasagne (presume this is frozen and just re
heated).
As for location, again, it depends on why you are visiting Melbourne. This hotel is not in an attractive area, it's surrounded by alley ways, and I would certainly not venture out by myself after dark around here.
To end, all the staff I met were excellent and really helpful, my room was very clean ( towels well used and very thin though) but it is really just a basic one night place to stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PortBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ibis3030, General Manager at Ibis Melbourne Little Bourke Street, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

Dear Port Beach

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts and feedback on your recent visit.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed many aspects of the hotel.

As an Ibis hotel the brand is designed to appeal to the affordable. Located in the city centre surrounded by tall buildings does limit the views. Melbourne's iconic laneways and little streets are all part of the cultural fabric that form part of Melbourne's attraction.

We wish you all the best with your travels.

many thanks
Mary Ellen O'Malley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

The hotel is about 2 minutes walk from Southern Cross Station where the Skybus terminus is located - this makes it very handy for early morning trips to the airport.
Reception friendly and efficient, including offers of map and directions. My room was quite spacious and bed was comfortable.
My only gripe is the $50 "in case of damage" fee charged to my credit card - my stay was Thursday night and it had not been refunded by the following Tuesday.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Tina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ibis3030, General Manager at Ibis Melbourne Little Bourke Street, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

Dear Accor Traveller

Many thanks for your valuable feedback on your recent visit.

It is pleasing to hear that your enjoyed your stay.

The $50.00 pre authorisation taken on your card on arrival is a hold on the funds and not a charge. The bank will release the hold on the funds after your departure. This release ont he funds will not show as a transaction line on the your credit card it will impact the avaible funds limit.

If your have any furhter queries please do not hesitate to contact me directly o 03 9672 0000 to discuss.

many thanks
Mary Ellen O'Malley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

i happened to stay in both ibis hotels in melbourne cbd. so given the choice i would much prefer thierry street. it is bigger, new newer and the rooms are brigther and more modern. plus the beds are queensize and really comfy. this little bourne hotel had an uncomfy bed and is quite near a backpackers and a strip club. down a typical melbourne alley it does however have great places to eat nearby. this hotel is well located for spencer street station if arriving by skybus

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank the_jolly_greengiant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ibis3030, General Manager at Ibis Melbourne Little Bourke Street, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

Dear Jolly Green Giant

Many thanks for taking you time to provide valuable feedback.

Location and access is very handy from our hotel. We are dissappoionted to hear you did not find the bed comfortable. We are in discussions at the moment to but a program to change them over in the near future.

We apprecirate that Ibis in Therry Street is your preferred hotel, we look forward to you continued support of the brand at which ever location you choose.

many thanks
Mary Ellen O"Malley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Brisbane, Australia
21
Reviewed March 16, 2013

The hotel is located a stones throw from the Skybus terminal, which you take from the airport. The staff at this hotel along with all Ibis staff are very friendly and helpful. Being our first trip to Melbourne we had many questions and all were answered. The staff even looked things up on the internet for us if they were not sure of the answer. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ibis3030, General Manager at Ibis Melbourne Little Bourke Street, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2013

Dear Accor Traveller

Great to hear you enjoyed your stay and thanks for taking the time to provide valuable feedback.

You look forward to welcoming you back soon.

thanks
Mary Ellen O'Malley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
ibis Melbourne Hotel and Apartments
Central Business District
Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Atlantis Hotel
Atlantis Hotel
#95 of 161 in Melbourne
1,932 reviews
Central Business District
ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel
ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel
#131 of 161 in Melbourne
1,402 reviews
Docklands
Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Docklands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Melbourne Little Bourke Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Melbourne Little Bourke Street

Address: 600 Little Bourke St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Melbourne
#70 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $85 - $193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Melbourne Little Bourke Street 3*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great value, unsurpassed location and excellent service make ibis Melbourne Little Bourke Street a very popular hotel choice. Boasting 121 rooms, this hotel has all the convenience of a central city location close to the financial, legal and entertainment precincts and is walking distance to the Skybus airport transfer service and Southern Cross Train Station. Ibis Melbourne Little Bourke Street is modern and affordable with comfortable rooms and great amenities to ensure a pleasant stay. Facilities include a breakfast room, Internet access and private offices. Conference rooms are available for a variety of small to medium functions, training seminars, trade shows or workshops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Accorhotels.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Ibis Melbourne Little Bourke Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing