We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Misleading child policy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Ibis Melbourne Little Bourke Street
Ranked #86 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Misleading child policy”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

The only reason that the overall score of this Hotel is 'Terrible' is because their child policy is misleading (the hotel in fact is fine). I booked 2 standard double rooms for 2 nights for my family (2+1, 6 y.o.) and my parents. The website of booking.com shows; 'children <12 can stay free when using existing beds'. At arrival the first thing they ask is 'how many persons?', the hotel staff then mention one is not allowed to use a standard room for more than 2 persons due to fire regulations. OK, but when confronting them with their child policy, they argue that this policy still holds in general, but that they can't change the room fire regulations. But of course you can get upgraded to a Queen room, but you will have to pay about 50% more. In my view this is misleading since there is no mention of this anywhere in the hotel policies. In the end your wallet is empty and you have a bad taste in your mouth about the way you have been treated. In addition I asked booking.com to look into it, which they did, but it did not result into any form of compensation or excuse. At the time of writing this review their child policy has not been updated and so I assume that this hotel does not wish to properly inform its customers or make sure there is no misunderstanding, but rather mislead them in an effort to sell more Queen size rooms. I find this a very shameful way of doing business.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MFS79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ibis3030, General Manager at Hotel Ibis Melbourne Little Bourke Street, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear MFS79

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with the hotel. Our sincere apologies the hotel did not meet your expectations in being able to accommodate an extra person in your room. We understand this is extremely infuriating from your perspective that such a simple request was a challenge and the only available offer of a change in room type at an additional fee was available. The team feel frustration that they could not resolve the matter in a manner to your liking.
The hotel room layouts are configured to accommodate a maximum of 2 people in a room. Additional existing bedding is not in any of the hotel rooms. There are no sofa beds or pull out divans in the rooms. Rollaway beds are unavailable in our rooms as mentioned on the website. Family configurations of 2 adults and 1 child or 2 adults and 2 children or such combinations are unable to be accommodated at the hotel. We endeavour in all our descriptions about the hotel to have this message clearly conveyed to all readers. We have forward your comments onto the e commerce team to review the wording and taglines on external websites to ensure that messages can be clearly understood and are not misleading. Once again apologies that we were not able to assist with a simple family request.
Many thanks
Mary Ellen O’Malley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    587
    282
    64
    22
See reviews for
132
436
214
220
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013

First - the good stuff. Friendly, cheerful folks at the front desk when one walked in after 16 hours of travel on a wet and windy night. Excellent buffet breakfast value with great service by the lone lady on duty. Outstanding location within a few minutes walk of Souther Cross train station and bus terminal for shuttles to both Melbourne International and Avalon Airports.

The rooms, though, are barely more than basic. A single type of pillow, slightly noisy air-conditioning, a light whiff of musty odour from the towels.

I also had some trouble getting an invoice copy - strange as that sounds - for the prepaid room rent. Yet that may have been a good thing - I mentioned this in my response to the e-questionnaire I received a couple of days letter and the matter was addressed very promptly.

Am looking forward to trying it again and perhaps it will rate up a notch next time.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better natural lighting since there are buildings all around.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pixie0427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ibis3030, General Manager at Hotel Ibis Melbourne Little Bourke Street, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Pixie0427

Many thanks for your time to share on a number of mediums your recent experience at the hotel.

It is pleasing to see that you enjoyed many aspects of your stay. We strive to provide prompt and efficient service and it is pleasing to hear we addressed the invoicing matter as quickly as possible for you.

We look forward to welcoming you when next in the area.

take care
thanks
Mary Ellen O"Malley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

Great location from southern cross station and etihad stadium. Stayed here after a concert. Room was small and tv old but I didn't care I was only sleeping there! Bed and pillows were comfy and very clean and very friendly staff. Great if you want somewhere clean and nice for a couple of nights cheaply in Melbourne. Had free buffet breakfast. I wouldn't pay the $20 for it. I'd go to a cafe.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eljay27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ibis3030, General Manager at Hotel Ibis Melbourne Little Bourke Street, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Eljay27

Many thanks for your time to provide valuable feedback on your stay. Access to Etihad Stadium and Southern Cross Station is very easy from the hotel. We hope you enjoyed the Kiss Concert.

We offer an "all you can eat" buffet breakfast daily for $20.00 per person.

We look forward to welcoming you back when next in the area.

take care
Mary Ellen O'Malley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
67 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Another last minute work trip.
Usual accomodation fully booked so ended up here. No parking available so parked a few blocks away on Spencer Street. Reception attitude not great.
No meeting facilities, bar or in fact anywhere to have a meeting - had to adjourn to the bar next door.
The room on the 1st floor was of a good size and was appointed with the basics.
The bed however was clearly a hand-me-down and had a vinyl gym-type mat topping the matress. I'm guessing this was to stop the guest falling through onto the floor.
Small bathroom
Not a great experience - my Accot loyalty card was all but dismissed at check in and am not sure there would have been much of an upgrade available anyways.
Wouldn't be booking to stay here.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Garth O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ibis3030, General Manager at Hotel Ibis Melbourne Little Bourke Street, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Dear GarthO

Thank you for your valuable time to provide feedback on your recent stay.
A busy week in Melbourne has found many people unable to obtain accommodation in their usual abodes.
We apologies that the delivery of our service was not up to the expected standard of staff behaviour and attitude. The team have been addressed on this matter to prevent it from future occurrences.
In following up your loyalty program membership - I have checked that your Le Club Silver where processed on the day of departure. Apologies that the staff attitude in relation the processing of the card. Le Club members are a very valuable part of our business and recognition of these members is extremely important.
The hotel does not have any on site parking – we refer all guests to a car parking in Spencer Street, approximately 400 metres from the hotel, payment is made directly with the car park.
You reference with the bedding is being followed up and with plans in the future to change over to the Sweet Bed.
Once again thank you for your time and we wish you all the best with your future travels.
Many thanks
Mary Ellen O’Malley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Location - Close to
Southern cross station (less than 5 minutes walk) - also gives you access to skybus to airport
Melbourne Exhibition and Convention Centre (15 minutes walk)
Federation Square (15 minutes walk)
Queen Victoria Market (15 minutes walk)
Map available in hotel for free to move around

Can be isolated at night and since it adjacent to King's cross street - be careful at night (especially weekends). There is a bar and backpackers hostel next to hotel.

Rooms are clean, comfortable, 2 pillows provided. Ironing facilities available in room. TV with good range of channels (including a few sport channels). Bathroom with shower and bathtub. Don't expect views from your window. Fridge available. No safe in room. Wifi for a fee.

No room service. I had a faulty remote, had to go down to change it myself!

Food: Pie face (southern cross), Subway (King's street), Hudson's cafe (King's street) and other choices available less than 5 minutes.

If you're looking for a place just to sleep over, this is your best bet for the price you are getting.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank john_gpjm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ibis3030, General Manager at Hotel Ibis Melbourne Little Bourke Street, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Dear John_gpjm

Many thanks for your valuable feedabck based on your recent stay.

It is pleasing to hear that overall you were happy with your stay.

Apologies that you had to come to Reception to change the remote. We have discussed this with Reception, outlining differing options to provide a better standard of service in the future.

We look forward to welcoming your back in the near future.

many thanks
Mary Ellen O'Malley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
ibis Melbourne Hotel and Apartments
Central Business District
Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel
ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel
#136 of 160 in Melbourne
1,347 reviews
Central Business District
Ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel
Central Business District
Atlantis Hotel
Atlantis Hotel
#101 of 160 in Melbourne
1,843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ibis Melbourne Little Bourke Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ibis Melbourne Little Bourke Street

Property: Hotel Ibis Melbourne Little Bourke Street
Address: 600 Little Bourke St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#70 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ibis Melbourne Little Bourke Street 3*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great value, unsurpassed location and excellent service make ibis Melbourne Little Bourke Street a very popular hotel choice. Boasting 121 rooms, this hotel has all the convenience of a central city location close to the financial, legal and entertainment precincts and is walking distance to the Skybus airport transfer service and Southern Cross Train Station. Ibis Melbourne Little Bourke Street is modern and affordable with comfortable rooms and great amenities to ensure a pleasant stay. Facilities include a breakfast room, Internet access and private offices. Conference rooms are available for a variety of small to medium functions, training seminars, trade shows or workshops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Ibis Melbourne Little Bourke Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing