We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location, super convenient!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ibis Melbourne Little Bourke Street

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Ibis Melbourne Little Bourke Street
Ranked #87 of 157 Hotels in Melbourne
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
112 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Fantastic location, super convenient!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Ibis on the 16/1/2013, our checking was smooth and managed a fast transition to our room by Michael. The rooms were clean and well appointed, although on the small side, but when you only really need the bed - this is sufficient! Glasses, cup, kettle etc were supplied in the room, although we did not need them. It is located close to Southern Cross station, short walk to the Casino, Aquarium etc it is the perfect spot to stay. Included in our package was the Full Buffet breakfast which was filling and delicious. I will definitely stay here again, and would be happy to recommend others.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Mel_Cat75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ibis3030, General Manager at Hotel Ibis Melbourne Little Bourke Street, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear Melissa

Many thanks for your time to provide the team with great feedback.
Michael works very hard at providing the best possible customer service and we appreciate
that you have mentioned him in your review, this is great to be able to share this with him.

We look forward welcoming you back in the near future.

many thanks
Mary Ellen O'Malley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,030 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    516
    246
    59
    20
See reviews for
115
388
189
194
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

You just cannot get any better if you want comfort at a budget price in a central location. Get the same service, cleanliness and comfort that you'd expect from the Accor chain (Mecure, Novotel), but at a fraction of the price.

Location: Right near Southern Cross station and a short stroll to the city hub. Perfect if you don't have a car. I expect parking would not be free in this area. This is not the Paris end of Melbourne city (they are trying to call it the New York end but I don't think it's catching on), so don't expect it to be as lovely as uptown.

Rooms: Quiet, perfect temperature, view of the office next door. Mine was very spacious with a king sized bed. Clean bathrooms with no unsightly mold. They replaced the milk and coffee on a daily basis, tidied the room and made the bed. Great to come home to after a full day out.

Internet: There is a computer in the lobby where you can check your emails etc free for 15 minutes. I used this option as I came from overseas and didn't get a 3G plan in Australia for my iphone. It was good enough for me, but I do wish there was free internet in the rooms. I guess that's why it's budget.

Breakfast: I didn't have breakfast in the hotel, especially when there are so many exciting coffee shop options down the lane ways of Melbourne. It did kinda have a kitchen smell when you walk past the lobby though. Not a concern for me though.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that does not face Little Bourke Street. It's nice and quiet on the other side of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alfieandme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ibis3030, General Manager at Hotel Ibis Melbourne Little Bourke Street, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear Alfieandme

Thank you of your informative overview of your recent stay.
It is pleasing to to hear that you enjoyed many aspects of the hotel.

Internet access is a subject we are reviewing regularly to see if we are able to offer
the best service possible. We currently have an in room offer of $10.00 per 24 hours
as an option providing you have your own device compared with the 15 minutes free in the lobby.

An all you can eat buffet breakfast is served daily on the first floor, the aromas do not linger down
to the ground floor.

We do struggle to make comparisons to Uptown New York - however Real Estate agents marketing the many apartments being built in the immediate vicinity do get creative with the names used on development sites

We wish you all the best with your travels and look forward to welcoming you when next in Melbourne.

many thanks
Mary Ellen O'Malley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
133 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

The hotel's location is very convenient because central and within walking distance from the station of Southern Cross. Nearby there are restaurants, supermarkets and food take-away food. The hotel is clean and comfortable. The rooms are spacious and equipped with kettle, cups, tea and coffee. The natural light illuminates the room by a large fixed window and if on the one hand the visual effect is nice, on the other hand it constitutes a defect because the air comes from an inlet duct forced. Air ducts not have deflectors and the current of air is a little troublesome because it goes straight on the bed. Overall, I would still recommend staying in this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dysaules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ibis3030, General Manager at Hotel Ibis Melbourne Little Bourke Street, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear dysaules
Many thanks for taking the time to provide valuable feedback.
It is great to hear that you enjoyed many aspects of the hotel.
The hotel is equipped with full length windows, for natural light given the hotel is surrounded
by many tall buildings this does limit the views. As a result the windows do not open
and the air circulation in the room is dependant upon air conditioning.
We wish you all the best with your travels and welcome the opportunity to see you when
next in Melbourne.

many thanks
Mary Ellen O'Malley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Same as all other Ibis I tried, their price is always affordable (while service is great) and location is excellent. Great for exhibition as it's only 5-10 minute walk to the convention centre. Great for relaxation as it's close to South Bank and the night view and the bars are so great there. The great accommodation choice for travelling in Melbourne CBD.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ibis3030, General Manager at Hotel Ibis Melbourne Little Bourke Street, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear Patrick
Thank you for your feedback about your stay at the hotel. It is pleasing to hear you find the Ibis
brand regularly suits your needs.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

many thanks
Mary Ellen O'Malley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Stayed here while in Melbourne for 4 days. The room was clean and quiet. The staff was friendly and helpful. It was centrally located and just a short walk from all attractions. The grocery store is near by and a great place to buy snacks.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank G0Travel2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ibis3030, General Manager at Hotel Ibis Melbourne Little Bourke Street, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear G0Travel 2009

Many thaks for your time in providng valuable feedback.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time at the htoel whilst visiting Melbourne.

The hotel offers a great location and access to all the things travellers need whilst visiting.

We wish you all the best and good luck with your travels around the world.

many thanks
Mary Ellen O'Malley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 6 nights. When we arrived the lady on the front desk was extremely helpful, got a map out for us and showed places we may want to go etc. We had done our own research and asked lots of questions which she answered brilliantly!
The room itself was quite spacious, very clean. We had our own tea & coffee facilities and a fridge. Bathroom was clean and a fair size.
The location is brilliant too, right next to tram stations to get you places, not to far from train station and 2 seconds from a bus station.

All in all an enjoyable and comfortable stay. If we're ever lucky enough to visit Melbourne again we will be staying here.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ibis3030, General Manager at Hotel Ibis Melbourne Little Bourke Street, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Laura M

Thank you for taking time out of your holidays to provide valuable feedback on your recent stay at the hotel.

The team find it very rewarding sharing their knowledge and assisting visitors to our fine city with the many things to see and do whilst in Melbourne.

The hotels location is very central and accessible to get around.

We wish you you all the best with your travels and maybe one day we will see back here.

Happy travelling
many thanks

Mary Ellen O'Malley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aussie In Canberra
Level Contributor
107 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

this hotel exceeded my expectations. The reception staff were very helpful. The position of the hotel is extremely convenient to public transport, the city and the airport bus Southern Cross Station, about 200 metres. Although the rooms are quite compact, everything I needed was there, including coffee making and good television reception. The room was clean and the bed comfortable. I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stamptom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ibis3030, General Manager at Hotel Ibis Melbourne Little Bourke Street, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Stamptom

We appreciate you taking the time to share your recent experience at the hotel.

The team is pleased to hear that you enjoyed our hospitality and the hotel
provided everything you needed.

We welcome the opportunity to see you back at the hotel in the near future.

many thanks

Mary Ellen O'Malley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
ibis Melbourne Hotel and Apartments
Central Business District
Ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel
ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel
#129 of 157 in Melbourne
3.0 of 5 stars 1,211 reviews
Central Business District
Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
Central Business District
BEST WESTERN Atlantis Hotel
BEST WESTERN Atlantis Hotel
#97 of 157 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 stars 1,597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ibis Melbourne Little Bourke Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ibis Melbourne Little Bourke Street

Property: Hotel Ibis Melbourne Little Bourke Street
Address: 600 Little Bourke St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#69 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ibis Melbourne Little Bourke Street 3*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great value, unsurpassed location and excellent service make ibis Melbourne Little Bourke Street a very popular hotel choice. Boasting 121 rooms, this hotel has all the convenience of a central city location close to the financial, legal and entertainment precincts and is walking distance to the Skybus airport transfer service and Southern Cross Train Station. Ibis Melbourne Little Bourke Street is modern and affordable with comfortable rooms and great amenities to ensure a pleasant stay. Facilities include a breakfast room, Internet access and private offices. Conference rooms are available for a variety of small to medium functions, training seminars, trade shows or workshops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com and Orbitz so you can book your Hotel Ibis Melbourne Little Bourke Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing