We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable City Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Ibis Melbourne Little Bourke Street
Ranked #83 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Reviewed December 19, 2012

Friendly staff, not bad position, close to Southern Cross Station and Sky Bus. Room small but well designed and very clean. Not much in the way of facilities but not far to take away food or Pubs and Restrauants.

Room Tip: Choose High Floor Room because of Night Club next door.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chrissyi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ibis3030, General Manager at Hotel Ibis Melbourne Little Bourke Street, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2012

Dear Chrissyi

Many thanks for your valuable feedback.

Great to hear that the hotels location was central to your requirements.
The hotel offers a daily breakfast service, and leaves other dining cuisine choices
to the extensive range that are on offer within the many dining precients within Melbourne being so extensive.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Seasons Greetings.

Mary Ellen O'Malley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,187)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Ibis Melbourne Little Bourke Street
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

729 - 735 of 1,187 reviews

Reviewed December 17, 2012

We were coming in to the main bus station from Adelaide and leaving from the same location so I booked the hotel which is just up the street. I wasn't sure how it would be but the front desk service was friendly and helpful. The hotel is located within walking distance to everything downtown and it's half a block's walk to the main area for pick-up if you are booking any day trips. There are bus stations and trams that are easy to access. Great place for a reasonable place to stay.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank stopoverqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ibis3030, General Manager at Hotel Ibis Melbourne Little Bourke Street, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2012

Dear Stopoverqueen

Thanks for your time to share your recent experience at the hotel.

We are pleased to hear that you found the hotel and its location in particular
very central to your requirements.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Seasons Greetings.

Mary Ellen O'Malley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

All in all the hotel is more or less okay in terms of pricing and the overall quality of the stay. Lets start with the good things first. Arriving from the airport with the skybus the hotel is nearly right next to the southern cross station. If you cut short through 7eleven its less than a five minute walk. The second good thing is that you have a good starting point to discover the Melbourne CBD. I even used the small gym room on the upper floor once. It was also okay, although it did not provide any towels or cleanser for the equipemnt everything looked pretty clean and was working.

The bad thing about the hotel is that most of the rooms are next to a small alley with a gray old and dirty building next to it. So whenever you dare to pull up your window blinds you won't gain nearly any light out that and look at the dirty wall of the building next door (I had twice a room on the second floor). My AC control panel looked like it was from the 50s or 60s. Temp was always set to "19" (degrees?) and whenever I pressed the "med" or "high" switch I heard some clicking noise. That was it. By the way, I stayed twice in that hotel in two different rooms and the AC was same in both rooms. I did not experience any cooling at all (although tempretures outside were okay). The ameneties in the bath and towels and all stuff were okay. However they had only shampoo and soap bars and I was missing some shower gel. I did not ask for it. Perhaps they would have had it at the reception.

Further downsides are extra costs: Wifi is 10 AUD per day. And if you want to pay with credit card it is another 1.5 percent on your bill. If you want to deposit your bag before leaving, you can either do so in a small shelf in a room on the ground floor which they don't want to be resposible for or you have to put it into a locker that is standing there an pay about 14 AUD/day extra. In my opinion the room rates for this hotel already are an upper bound to its quality even though it is in a good location adding extra charges for the small and nice things makes it not a good deal.

Room Tip: Try to get a room that has a view to little bourke street and prefer the higher floors.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Max M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ibis3030, General Manager at Hotel Ibis Melbourne Little Bourke Street, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2012

Dear Max M

Many thanks for your valuable feedback on your recent stay at the hotel.

It is great to hear that aspects of your visits meet your expectations.

Views from the rooms are limited as the building is surrounded by buildings which are all taller than the 9 levels of accommodation at the hotel. There are 2 rooms per level that overlook Little Bourke Street these rooms do look into the buildings car park or offices again limiting the views.
Unfortunately we are limited with our ability to change this format.

Bathroom amenities per our recommendation do not include a shower gel, they consist of shampoo, conditioner and soap. We will forward your feedback on this to the brand standard specialists.

Wifi charges we have been able to dramatically reduce in the past 12 months from $27.50 to $10.00 per 24 hours. In the foyer we also offer a daily 15 minute free session for all guests to access emails and internet. The brand is currently in the process of reviewing the Wifi charges
as to what options may be available in the future in a ongoing process to best meet our guests needs.

The use of additional services within the hotel do incur fees. The concept is to keep the pricing of rooms as low as possible and base other services on a user pay application. This does not always meet everyone's expectation - we work hard to be as effective as possible in these areas and do work on reviewing these services regularly.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Seasons Greetings

Mary Ellen O'Malley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2012

Stayed here several times just year, rooms are always clean and well presented. Looks like they've just gone a renovation too :)

The staff have always been friendly and i've met many of them! They're always happy to see you and are very professional. Considering the low cost of rooms, definitely value for money.

5 minute walk from southern cross station and 15 minutes to Docklands.
Cheaper than a taxi home after a night out :)

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jemmstar87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ibis3030, General Manager at Hotel Ibis Melbourne Little Bourke Street, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2012

Dear Jemmastar87

Many thanks for your time to share your recent experience.
The team work very hard to ensure that the hotel is presented in the best possible
manner achievable.

We value your regular support and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Seasons Greetings.

Mary Ellen O'Malley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2012

This is your standard Ibis. Rooms not too big, not too small, reasonable price and always clean.

We stayed here for one night last week. The hotel is quite thin, flanked by two large buildings, and very easy to get to from southern cross station.

We were checked in quickly and had a room on floor 4. We were near the lift but it's a pretty quiet lift so it didn't bother us one bit. There wasn't much of a view though, just the wall of the building next to us.

We were in a standard room. The rooms are small, just a double bed, desk, TV, cupboard and bathroom. There is a bedside table beside each of the beds with power points to charge phones etc. There is a cupboard under the desk with a fridge in it but no mini bar. The room was clean and well presented. The bed was comfy. The doona however is a doona between a flat sheet and a top blanket.

I saw a video here on tripadvisor of a coxy's big break segment on this hotel and it shows one of the standard rooms. This must have been the largest one, ours was only about half the size.

Checkout was at 11am and very quick. There are storage lockers starting at $6 (I think) for 4 hours to store your luggage if you are leaving the city later in the day. It was easy for us because we were headed back to southern cross station.

I can't comment on any of the hotels other amenities as we were only there for the quick trip.

For the price and location, we would stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank josh-aus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ibis3030, General Manager at Hotel Ibis Melbourne Little Bourke Street, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2012

Dear Josh - Aus

Many thanks for your review on your recent stay at the hotel.

The hotels rooms are compact with restricted views due to neighbouring buildings.
There are a range of room types consisting of double, twin, queen and king room types within
the hotel. At times the various room types can cause confusion due to the slight variations between them. The Coxy promotion used the queen room type which is larger than the double room.

We hear your comments re chargeable luggage storage - we will forward your comments to those who establish the international branding standards for Ibis.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Seasons Greetings.

Mary Ellen O'Malley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2012

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ben_flood
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ibis3030, General Manager at Hotel Ibis Melbourne Little Bourke Street, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Handy hotel close to southern cross station and the sky bus. Close to Etihad stadium .Friendly staff , comfortable clean rooms. Comfortable bed , good size shower with good amenities . Will stay there again next time in Melb.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Henk69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ibis3030, General Manager at Hotel Ibis Melbourne Little Bourke Street, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2012

Dear Accor Traveller,

Many thanks for your time to share your recent stay at the hotel.
We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Seasons Greetings

Mary Ellen O'Malley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
ibis Melbourne Hotel and Apartments
Central Business District
Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel
ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel
#137 of 160 in Melbourne
1,353 reviews
Central Business District
Atlantis Hotel
Atlantis Hotel
#100 of 160 in Melbourne
1,865 reviews
Central Business District
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
#61 of 160 in Melbourne
3,653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ibis Melbourne Little Bourke Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ibis Melbourne Little Bourke Street

Address: 600 Little Bourke St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Best Value Hotel in Melbourne
#70 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $87 - $186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ibis Melbourne Little Bourke Street 3*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great value, unsurpassed location and excellent service make ibis Melbourne Little Bourke Street a very popular hotel choice. Boasting 121 rooms, this hotel has all the convenience of a central city location close to the financial, legal and entertainment precincts and is walking distance to the Skybus airport transfer service and Southern Cross Train Station. Ibis Melbourne Little Bourke Street is modern and affordable with comfortable rooms and great amenities to ensure a pleasant stay. Facilities include a breakfast room, Internet access and private offices. Conference rooms are available for a variety of small to medium functions, training seminars, trade shows or workshops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Ibis Melbourne Little Bourke Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing