We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Well Cooked Burger At Last”

The Merrywell Melbourne
Reserve with
The Merrywell Melbourne is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #470 of 4,055 Restaurants in Melbourne
Cuisines: American, Bar, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Scenic view, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
123 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“A Well Cooked Burger At Last”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2014

It's been really difficult finding a burger in Australia that hasn't been overcooked. Well, the Merrywell advertises its burgers are served pink and they are.

There's a good choice of burgers and you get a decent portion of fries - probably enough for two (depending on your appetite.We ate here before going on to the theatre so we were early and found a table easily. Not cheap, but certainly the best burger I've fond so far.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank otbc_oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

569 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    218
    141
    52
    42
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
71 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nice view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

This was my second visit to here and both visits were just for drinks at the outside patio. The view of the city here is awesome and makes for a great place to meet up with friends and hang out for a few hours. The mixed drinks, though, are a bit weak (for a place in a casino!) and the prices are a bit up there. I'm on holiday from the states, so the prices didn't bother me too much, but it would make it a bit expensive for regular local visits. Sort of a shame. My ratings therefore on the atmosphere and not the drinks.

The staff were super friendly and fast.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank cdycdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good American burger & gorgeous onion rings!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014

Best American burger I've had outside of the USA.
Caught the weekday lunch special which made it even better.
Beer, burger & onion rings definitely hist the spot!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank clare22bear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
204 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Snazzy, flavoursome & worth a visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2014

The MerryWell Upstairs has a good menu, with sufficient variety for vegetarians (unlike most other restaurants in the Crown Complex), & friendly, attentive staff. As per the Crown brand, everything is overpriced but once you get past that, the experience is enjoyable. For entrees, we recommend the mac & cheesy bites, & fig & prosciutto focaccia. For mains, I had baked mac & cheese (which is actually a side dish) & my partner had seafood gumbo, both of which were delectable. My parents had the wagyu burger & barramundi, which they enjoyed immensely. The restaurant has a youngish metro dwelling type of crowd, & gets noisy, but for a quick bite before a show at Palms, it is perfect.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Travelache
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Food is overpriced but great venue”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2014

The first time i went I really enjoyed it, the venue is great. Second time the menu had changed and I didnt enjoy it at all. I got the ocean trout, it was $35 and SO SMALL and didn't even come with anything as a side nor did it taste nice. My partner ordered the burger he enjoyed it but it didn't come with chips, so you have to order that separately. It was bit over priced for average food. Our waiter was great though.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alana D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Merrywell Melbourne also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to The Merrywell Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing