We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice flavors, small servings so order sides!”
Review of Mr. Hive

Mr. Hive
Ranked #485 of 4,065 Restaurants in Melbourne
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Very Nice flavors, small servings so order sides!”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Very lovely flavors, Small servings so order sides (chips were delish!) pork belly was yum! Nice atmosphere.

Big let down was when we were told to wait 10 minutes whilst for a table for 2 to become vacant and when we got seated there were about 20 vacant tables everywhere.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Nickodundai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    110
    53
    36
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Over priced and over rated”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

We ordered 2 Starters to share which were nice. Our waiter informed us that their main meals for rather substantial? more a small child maybe? my John Dory consisted of 3 very small bite size pieces of the fishes tail and my husband had a very small salmon fillet indeed. I suspect that the salmon would have been under sized! anyway $150 dollers later we left without a second drink or dessert!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Teri P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Enjoyable dinner”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Finally we made it for dinner at Mr Hive, it's has been in our plans for a while. Because we heard so much about desserts here we did not order any entres. For mains I had the crispy Otway pork belly with bulghur wheat, tomato & mint salad on the side, my partner had the special of the day which was a chicken and mushroom pie with chips. These were all very tasty. The serves are not huge but we have ordered the tasting plate for dessert and with that it was plenty. The tasting plate consisted of Mrs Hive's chocolate bar peanuts/caramel, summer berry Eton mess, white chocolate mango coconut with basil sorbet and rosemary panacotta with blood orange jelly. The chocolate bar and the pannacotta were the favourites but all was very good. Also, the service was exceptional and it is a very nice restaurant, interesting decor. After all this we waddled out very full, planning a comeback asap.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank EvaPete919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, nice comfort food, efficient service”
Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

It's a great little bar tucked away from the main part of the hotel and got a great vibe and atmosphere. I dined alone when on a work trip and it's always hard to find somewhere that you feel comfortable dining alone but there were couples, small groups of friends and I still felt comfortable and well looked after.

I ordered the chicken and mushroom pie and it was the healthiest pie I've ever eaten with chicken pieces, mushrooms and the chicken gravy to add on the side in a little jug. The pot it was served in had a pie pastry topping traditionally English and it was light and crispy! A great comfort dish to have! The Pinot noir from central it ago was also great!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacqui_Wright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Let The Fireworks Begin.”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We booked in New Year's Eve to the special five course meal package. There were two sittings so we decided on the later 8.30 Sitting which we thought would dovetail nicely into the midnight celebrations. Crown Casino is a big place and Mr Hives is a bit tricky to find but there are plenty of Casino staff who will help you. The restaurant is plush and comfortable. Before we went in we had some time to kill so we ordered drinks at the very comfortable lounge/bar area. Nice glass of French Champagne at $25 each. After putting the feet up for a while, we then headed into the restaurant. The four of us were seated in prime position and able to get nice views of Melbourne. We then started on our five course meal. We weren't disappointed. Serves were small, delicious and exquisitively presented. All five courses passed the test. Service was friendly and well-timed without being too hasty.We thought $120 each including a glass of wine was pretty good value on such an auspicious night as some of Melbourne's second rate pubs and restaurants now charge up to $80--$90 a head on New Year's Eve. But the real highlight of the evening was yet to come. As we had eaten at Mr Hives we were then invited up to the twenty-eighth floor of Crown Casino to see the New Year's fireworks. What a great viewing spot and we didn't have to fight our way through the 500 000 people watching it down below. The fireworks were fantastic!
Tips: 1. Give yourself lots of time so you can relax in the lounge area with a champagne prior to the meal.
2. Reserve a window seat and get great views of Melbourne.
3. Go there on a special occasion such as new Year's Eve. You might get invited to the 28th Floor.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 255100Max
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mr. Hive also viewed

 
Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Mr. Hive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing