We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Long wait.......but worth it” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chin Chin

Chin Chin
Ranked #28 of 3,851 Restaurants in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Adelaide
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Long wait.......but worth it”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2014

We waited 3 hours for a table and were starting to get delirious in the bar......luckily we had the amazing Jack looking after us....he was wonderful. However the food more than made up for it. Prawn Vietnamese Salad (tick) Butter Chicken (best all of us have ever had) and the fish in cocunut sauce (my favourite). Make sure you leave room for the coconut, lime and honeycomb dessert (amazing). Suggest you get there as early as you can so you don't need to wait too long.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank JudithSAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,760 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,227
    1,046
    320
    108
    59
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
190 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Stunning Food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2014 via mobile

A group, able to book a table early in the GoGo bar and we went for the Feed Me option. The drinks service was sporadic, the food service was slow to kick off then continued with a vengeance. Each dish we ate was of a very high standard, all a mastery of taste and technique. I won't be back though. The noise levels were punishing and conversation was albeit impossible. I hope the management comply with the Victorian Noise Regulations by documenting noise levels and monitoring their employees hearing.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Chickerdees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abingdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent- never been so full!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2014

We went to chin chin's Melbourne, on a saturday afternoon, we didn't have to wait and got a table straight away.

With wanting everything on the menu we went with the feed me option. It was amazing! We were served dishes that I would not normally of gone for and they were all great. Word of warning go with big eaters and people that don't mind sharing food!! My favourite was the salmon baked in banana leaves, the pork and apple salad and the honeycomb pudding. I have a healthy appetite but after the 4th dish I was rather full!! I also had the coconut crush cocktail and it was amazing.

The atmosphere was alive and friendly, you find yourself singing along to the 80's tunes and everyone was extremely friendly. It was the perfect end to a perfect trip to Australia and a must return when back in December!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Alexclairecook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“First visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2014

I was a bit anxious coming here as you cannot book a table however, we didn't have to wait too long (went there early). The food wow, it was full of flavour and it was definitely an experience to remember.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Savvie856
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mittagong, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2014 via mobile

Had dinner there two nights ago - couldn't get a table so sat at the bar overlooking the kitchen area - great vibe and energy. Food was excellent - fresh, really interesting flavours and well presented. Kingfish sashimi was outstanding. We all absolutely enjoyed ourselves and will definitely go back.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Steve-Rob3a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chin Chin also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Chin Chin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing