We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Much overrated.”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Chin Chin

Chin Chin
Ranked #30 of 4,058 Restaurants in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Much overrated.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

Thought we would try this restaurant out after hearing all the reviews. Put our name on list at 5pm had to wait until 7.30. So overcrowded and full of noise. Party of six. Food came quick so that was good. But so overpriced, we had to question whether the salt and pepper squid was an entree instead of the main we had ordered. So we had to pay $26.00 for a very small main size dish. Tough and really hard to chew. Everyone else was disappointed as well. The only good thing I could say was the flavours were nice, but price and size of meals a real let down. Would definately not bother with this restaurant again. So much better around .

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cazz1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,877 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,294
    1,079
    330
    113
    61
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
77 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Flavour with a punch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

Loud, racy and very cool. Chin Chin is all that and more. From the minute you arrive and are confronted with a small queue at the door to be told of a 40 minute wait ( no booking policy ) the result being to be ushered to the amazing basement holding bar, which is more like a cavernous cocktail lounge spinning wonderful groove in the background.
One drink and next thing off back upstairs where we where seated in a comfortable yet tight seating arrangement (space is a premium though) wow what a menu! Simply irresistible, I'd suggest a degustation and finish with deserts for sure. If you like South East Asian food then you've come to the right place. Atmosphere is buzzing, with people watching and the who's who of the social set abound. Enjoy

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fezzMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food, the Atmosphere downstairs was much more relaxed, loved it”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

Have been 3 times, and each time my experience has been unique, different each time, always great yummy food that I thoroughly enjoy, we are so lucky to have such food

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank antonio_rendina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Level Contributor
124 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

Went for the first time in a group of four and must admit we had no idea where to start with the menu. The waiter was great and suggested we try a series of dishes we could all share and every dish was a good or better than the previous one. Can not wait to get back there again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hapasi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Rocking place..atmosphere,food and drinks”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

We were lucky to get place in the restaurant straight away. Otherwise the waiting is too much. We sat at the bar and its was great experience. I had the best asian food. They have so much to experience and then the bar menu which is just awesome.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Yashwant24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chin Chin also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Chin Chin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing