We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On Brand! Viva Melbourne!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chin Chin

Chin Chin
Ranked #25 of 3,643 Restaurants in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Thai, Gluten Free
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Cairns
Level Contributor
103 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“On Brand! Viva Melbourne!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

Absolutely outstanding service from our waitress. Made suggestions, upsold us, kept us involved in the fun of the night. Food was creative AND tasty. Could have gone back every night but thought we'd better explore more :)

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank EssenceOfGoodTaste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,027 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,762
    879
    258
    82
    46
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

Brilliant food at a reasonable price, visited whilst in Melbourne with my daughter and her boyfriend we was given a waiting time we was then texted to say our table was ready which gave us time to have a drink I now know why this restaurant is so popular with a fantastic atmosphere

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank gill2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Terrible Service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

3 of us arrived with a 4th on the way. Couldn't seat us at a table for 4. Sat us at a table for 3 knowing 4th was coming. Kept hassling us to order food despite full party not being present (restaurant was 1/3 empty). 4th person arrived and we were treated like an inconvenience despite them knowing we were a group of 4 in the first place. After much carry on by wait-staff they finally moved us to a table for 4. We had all lost our appetite by this point due to the rude, pretentious attitude so we paid for our drinks and left. This was over the space of about 15 mins. Rude, obnoxious jumped up maitre de for what's supposed to be casual food. Went to Cumulus Up followed by Cumulus Inc where a bad start at ChinChin turned into a lovely relaxed evening. Thank you Andrew McConnell and team!! Avoid ChinChin unless you want indigestion!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tigger_t2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucca, Italy
Level Contributor
34 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Love it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013 via mobile

We went there for lunch and it was really nice. While they prepared our table we could sit at the bar downstairs and they text me to let me know our table was ready. I had the cakes and the barramundi and pork salad, they were both really good. I loved the place!

Helpful?
Thank Nenita9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Food to die for”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

This is just the best place to eat in MELBOURNE! We travel to Melbourne quite often to eat out and shop and had Chin Chin recommended to us by a friend in Launceston.We had an early Dinner after King Kong and were so impressed we went back for Lunch on Monday before flying back to Launceston. The service is quick and the staff are just great.I had the Barra with a green apple Salad for Dinner and the Duck for Lunch the next day. I wished I could have stayed longer to go right through the from top to bottom. Because this place is so good it is wise to get there early. Well done Chin Chin can't wait to go back for the next round.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike120Launceston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chin Chin also viewed

 
Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Chin Chin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing