We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'd wait longer.”
Review of Chin Chin

Chin Chin
Ranked #27 of 4,067 Restaurants in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“I'd wait longer.”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

"Oh darling, my life is far too busy to make reservations these days" said a typical Melbournian.
In keeping with this wave sweeping Melbourne, CHINCHIN has adopted a no reservations policy - and it works a treat!
The hustle and bustle atmosphere created from a muddle of flipping tables, bright neons, hot woks and screaming conversations - you'd think you were in Asia.
The food is brilliant. The drinks list snappy. The service intelligent.
I waited 90 minutes for a table for two - don't tell them but I'd wait longer.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank temple_of_gloom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,097 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,440
    1,126
    351
    115
    65
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Best Thai Food”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I have been there three times this year and the experience never disappointed me. Every dish I had exceeded my expectation - consistently delicious! I could never fault it. It is the cleverest concept and I wish we have something like this in Perth. I will go back everytime I'm in Melbourne. I highly recommend this place.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TeeJayGirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“One of my top restaurants worldwide”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Been here now twice while on business in Melbourne from the US. Always packed, always fun, and always some of the best food I've ever had. My business partner loves it so much he is flying his wife from Sydney to just have dinner here. If you are looking for amazing food and experience then look no further. This is it!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berwick, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Just the best food !”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Just returned from dining at Chin Chin this evening , have to say - outstanding !
Efficient service in this busy establishment but its the food that's to die for .
Twice cooked beef short ribs , crispy duck the two absolute highlights of the main fare but the pork roll ups , the chicken wings and the crab cakes not far behind .
Wasn't going to have desert but because of the quality of all dishes thought why not , once again not disappointed , the coconut sago with sweet corn ice cream and the palm sugar ice cream sundae blew us away .
Nearly forgot the sun in law eggs rocked as well

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 54Bulldogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Fabulous food as long as you're prepared to wait”
Reviewed November 1, 2012

I loved Chin Chin so much we returned the next night for the dinner as well.

The only down side is the fact that this restaurant does not take bookings over the phone and therefore one has to hope for availibility upon arrival. As it is very popular, and for a good reason, we had to wait downstairs in the bar for over an hour for the sms informing us that we have a table.
So excited and hungry we rushed upstairs to be notified we have 2 stools around the kithcen bar and that is where we'll be eating. Under the bar there are hooks to hang your hand bag or jacket..very clever.
Once the food and drinks order is placed service is real fast and yummy!!!
The second night we had a proper table which was much more comfortable then eating on bar.

If you dont want to wait for a long time, I would suggest to come early (about 5pm) to get onto that precious waiting list or arrive late at night as the kitchen closes around 11pm and you'll have a better chance of getting a table..or a stool!!

Nevertheless, the service was great, the menu is extensive and though it's not cheap for asian food it was fresh, creative, modern and delicious!! Even the ice cream/sorbet dessert.

I'll be back...

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Zeeva21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chin Chin also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Chin Chin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing