We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“love this place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Docklands Private Collection of Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Docklands Private Collection of Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“love this place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

We booked a 3 bedroom apartment. View is awesome. Facilities are superb. Location is great, away from noise, yet a few minutes walk to 3 stations of the free city tram. A supermarket below our unit. Price is reasonable. Would recommend to friends.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jiuan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyn K, General Manager at Docklands Private Collection of Apartments, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Thanks Jiuan for taking the time to review our apartment at Docklands Private Collection of Apartments, New Quay. We hope to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    150
    34
    8
    4
See reviews for
150
124
17
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2014

We stayed in a 2 bed, 2 bathroom apartment (Room 202) for two nights. We could not fault it. The view was amazing, great location close to lots of very good restaurants. So quiet. The apartment had everything you could possibly need and was located just a few mins walk to the tramline. We will definitely be back next time we visit Melbourne. Cannot recommend this apartment enough and the staff were really helpful and informative.

Room Tip: We had room 202 overlooking the harbor. Great views and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank weegart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyn K, General Manager at Docklands Private Collection of Apartments, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Thank you for your review, weegart, and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2014

We stayed in the sub penthouse featured in the picture above. It is perfect for a couple who like to entertain. Attentive staff, clean apartment and the views mesmerised us. We will be back and hopefully for longer.

Room Tip: It is worth paying a little extra for the harbour and city skyline view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vulcan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyn K, General Manager at Docklands Private Collection of Apartments, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Thanks VulcanH, for your review, the 1 bedroom apartment with Harbour views is stunning. We hope you return soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noumea, New Caledonia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2014

Public transport at the door step, 5 min from the CBD. Apartments is a bit small, specially the kitchen. Adapted for short (business) stays. Free Wifi and secured parking. Only bad point is the view on the railways and noise due to trains. Very friendly and helpfull staff.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Audrey G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyn K, General Manager at Docklands Private Collection of Apartments, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Hello Audrey, Thanks for your review and the highlights you mention about us being close to transport , attractions and city centre. You stayed in our “Value Apartments” which are very keenly priced and not all of them afford you the perfect skyline view. If you are looking something larger and featuring divine views take a look at our "Executive Apartments" in the Docklands Private Collection range of properties located across the road from where you stayed. We look forward to having you stay with us again. Kind regards Lyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2014

Stayed at the sub-penthouse for the second time and enjoyed the stay. This room has 3 rooms, one with ensuite and the other two share a bathroom. Very large lounge area, serviceable kitchen and a great balcony area wrapping around the entirety of the apartment with its own enclosed area to get out of the wind and the views are very impressive. Perfect for the footy with Etihad 600m's away and easy access to trams and Harbour Town for the girls to go shopping. There are enough dining options close by but you can tell Docklands is struggling as many of the restuarants have either closed or are only open part of the week. I have stayed at Docklands Private Collection on three occassions and never had any issues with the staff and always found them to be pleasant, but then I haven't had any reason to complain. Only negatives that I have is that if you are paying $400-$600 a night shouldn't a quick tidy of the apartment and making the bed be included? No it isn't and will cost you a further $35 a day for the privilege. Also there are certain aspects of the apartment that are becoming a bit tired as they were when I stayed back in August 2013 and if they are not adressed soon will become bigger issues. Not big things but simple things like paint the front door so you can't see all the marks when you first arrive, after all first impressions are important. Would stay again and would recommend highly for small groups as there is plenty of room to move.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyn K, General Manager at Docklands Private Collection of Apartments, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Hi Martin W
We truly value your comments as a return guest (three times return).
Glad you all had a great stay with your friends. Thanks for your comments about the touch ups we need to attend to and rest assured I will put it down on the log to be attended too. Thank you for bringing this to our attention and we look forward to welcoming you back. Regards Lyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2014

Stayed 2 nights at this service apartment. Very clean and comfortable place with the usual necessities available like washer, dryer microwave etc. Very near harbour town shopping center. 3 mins walk only! Check in is a breeze and so is checkout. Hassle free. Living room view is yacht pier, very nice! Night scenery is beautiful... Can't comment on the housekeeping as it is not a hotel which is cleaned daily. Nevertheless, the staff is quick to respond when we have a problem with the washer. Price per night slightly steep but it is acceptable for the apartment.

Room Tip: Request for a room with yacht view maybe? :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fenzf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyn K, General Manager at Docklands Private Collection of Apartments, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Hello Fenzf, we always value the comments of a Senior Reviewer. Our waterfront apartments boast beautiful views of the harbour and city skyline. We agree with you that the waterview rooms are sensational to stay in and these need to be requested at the time of booking. Thanks for your review. Lyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2014

We stayed in the 2 bedroom apartment in the Digital Harbour complex for a family holiday. The check-in process was terrible. We arrived in the reception and advised them who we were and provided them with our booking confirmation, ID and debit card. The lady took all of our information and then informed us that she would check in the other party we were with first (they had only just walked in and didn’t have any documents/ID ready so we found this really strange). When it was our turn the lady insisted we be charged a credit card fee even though we were paying with eftpos however we strongly disputed this and didn’t have to pay the fee. Eventually we got through the long winded check in process and we were shown to the building and our room. The main bedroom with ensuite and view only had a double bed where the second bedroom had a queen sized which we found very strange. We slept in the second bedroom which was disappointing as my partner is tall and doesn’t fit in a double bed. The bathroom is small and the shower door opens into the side of the toilet, as the door is glass you have to be very careful! Overall the room was large and comfy with great views over docklands. We saw our other parties room that was down the hall and only 1 bedroom. It was tiny, dark and had a very bad layout. We would stay in the 2 bedroom again however we would not book here for the 1 bedroom.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NatandAdz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyn K, General Manager at Docklands Private Collection of Apartments, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Hi NatandAdz
It is unfortunate that your check in was below our normal standard levels.
The Digital Harbour complex is our “Value Apartments” complex and our rate reflect value for money. We do have more deluxe apartments in our range to choose from but of course the rates are not as attractive as Digital Harbour “Value Apartments” prices. We trust we will see you back again to stay and perhaps experience our "Executive Apartments" in the Docklands Private Collection of Apartments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Central Business District
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
#30 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,412 reviews
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#9 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Docklands
The Sebel Melbourne Docklands
The Sebel Melbourne Docklands
#57 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#4 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,161 reviews
Docklands
Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Docklands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Docklands Private Collection of Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Docklands Private Collection of Apartments

Property: Docklands Private Collection of Apartments
Address: U 7 G 198 Harbour Esp, Melbourne, Victoria 3008, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Docklands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 126 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Docklands Private Collection of Apartments 4.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay and enjoy the vibrant, cosmopolitan waterfront experience surrounding Docklands Private Collection of Apartments in Melbourne. We provide short and long term accommodation to corporate travellers and visitors to Melbourne. We have a rnage of 1,2,3 bedroom self contained apartments at NewQuay and Digital Harbour, the heart of Docklands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Docklands Private Collection of Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing