We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 night stay in a one bedroom apartment”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Docklands Private Collection of Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
mornington peninsula
1 review
“2 night stay in a one bedroom apartment”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

the apartment was perfect for what we needed it for, great having transport at front door and the gentlemen who worked the reception were very helpful and friendly and we loved the fact that the check in guy actually assisted us from the car to the room and showed us how everything worked.

Room Tip: haha dont burn your toast and open your door to cause a hotel evacuation like one guest did :D
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cutefiremen2413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyn K, General Manager at Docklands Private Collection of Apartments, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Thanks cutefiremen2413 for your comments on our customer service. Our attentive staff strive to be the best they can be to every guest. Thank you for making note of this in your comment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    162
    34
    8
    4
See reviews for
163
136
17
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

Docklands private apartments is a great place to stay if you want to watch the AFL at Ethiad or do some shopping at Harbour town. The free city loop team passes right out side. Good accommodation but no room service, concierge etc as the apartments are self contained and you pick up the key from the travel shop in an adjoining building.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mcoj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyn K, General Manager at Docklands Private Collection of Apartments, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Thank you mcoj for your comment and we trust your favourite team one the AFL match. Our apartments are self contained, spacious and ideally located to the best of Melbourne. We manage to keep our room rates down by not providing room service and with so many eating places surrounding the apartments we feel the guests have far more choices than we could provide from one kitchen.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Great location, good enough room, friendly staff. And that's about it.

Melbourne is a great city to wonder around so if you are only after a clean tidy modern-ish room/bed for a sleep then this is the place to be.

Hot water obviously only supply for 5-10 mins then you have to wait for another 30mins for it to come back, they can do nothing about it, this is how it is. I think they should sort this out before they convert a business unit into a service apartment, 5 mins shower is just simply ridiculous! Surely I didn't spend that much to stay in an army camp. They should let people know about this on the website then at least I have the choice to book it or not.

BRING YOUR OWN SHAMPOO! We've always bring our own shampoo and stuff but just this time we didn't, and they only supply 1 tiny tube of it, when we asked for more, the answer is 'that's it, so you have to buy one from supermarket for the rest of the nights.'

Also we booked the package from their website which included free wifi but got told its for emails only.

Above are all only for the first day but I'm sure if none of these bothering you then this is really a great place to stay in Melbourne.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abyssinnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyn K, General Manager at Docklands Private Collection of Apartments, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Thank you Abyssinnz for your posting. It is unfortunate that you did not enjoy your stay as much as you had hoped. We have indeed addressed the hot water problem and a spoken to our staff about shampoo supplies. The Soho apartments are our Value Apartments. The rates are modest, the apartments are brand new, the location sensational. I do hope we can entice you to stay with us again when next you are in Melbourne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Stayed last week in new quay booked a 2 bdrm apartment, was pleasantly surprised on arrival to have a 3 bdrm corner unit with full view of harbour magnificent. Hosts went out of their way with directions & Instructions for self check in. As I was arriving after hours. Couldn't have been more helpful. Will most defiantly stay again & recommend this property.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angieshep1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyn K, General Manager at Docklands Private Collection of Apartments, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thanks for choosing our NewQuay apartment for your stay angieshep1. We are delighted you enjoyed the experience and we look forward to you welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
1 review
Reviewed August 10, 2013

This was the first time I have stayed in the Docklands area, and recently has a week's stay in the Nolan Building. The staff were very welcoming and helpful, the apartment was what I expected from seeing what was shown on the internet, and we had great views. The kitchen was well stocked with every thing needed to self cater, and the bathroom had a shower and a bath, which was very welcome after a long trip from interstate. It was the little things that we found annoying - no batteries in the remote, a reading lamp in the lounge room that didn't work, the remote to the parking garage had a flat battery and would not work. We also left a little sleep deprived as both bedroom windows, which were double glazed, did not seal properly letting the wind and rain in, as well as the noise from adjacent building works that went all night (we needed earplugs). Apart from that, I felt it was good value for the cost, and I would stay at NewQuay again with variety of restaurants, coffee shops, supermarket and shopping in the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Queensue2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyn K, General Manager at Docklands Private Collection of Apartments, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thanks for your review, Queensue2013. Your feedback is important and reinforces a more detailed checklist for our apartments by housekeeping.
Our maintenance has been alerted to the window seal issue. We look forward to welcoming you back to Docklands in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

I recently stayed at these apartments over the weekend. I was very disappointed as these apartments show on the internet of views over the water or city, but we got views over railway tracks. The apartments were called "life labs" and a lab would be the only way to describe them. It looked like a prison with polished concrete floors, with bright coloured doors leading to each apartment, which looked like cells in the corridor of a prison. It looks cold and sterile and very unappealing. The apartment was very small, like a 1 bedroom apartment had been compacted into a small office space. The bathroom was so small and we were told that we could only have 5 minute showers and then the hot water would cut out. We would then have to wait for another five minute to get hot water again.
The blind in the main sitting area was useless in keeping out the sun in the morning and the door to the bedroom was a big glass sliding door, so the sun woke us up. The cleanliness of the apartment was spotless. The reception was extremely polite and helpful. But at $279 I wouldn't stay in a "life lab" again.

Room Tip: Ask not to put in the "life labs"!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LizPAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyn K, General Manager at Docklands Private Collection of Apartments, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thanks LizPAS for your comments. Your feedback alerted us to a problem with four people in our Soho Apartments. We will only put max three in the Soho in the future The $279 price for 4 people is value for accommodation in Melbourne city.
We did have a problem that weekend with the hot water problem - we were full and unfortunately couldn't move you. Our front office staff were trying to be polite informing the best solution to the hot water problem which we could not get fixed in the time frame of your visit. Our staff were simply trying to assist with a solution.
We've established that there was a valve problem in a couple of the apartments and this has been rectified.Thank you for taking the time to post our comments and appreciate hearing how clean our rooms and staff friendliness as we pride ourselves on these aspects of service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Subang Jaya, Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 28, 2013

My second visit to Melbourne. This time I didn't choose a hotel, because when we were in France, we found that apart-hotels were more convenient for long stays rather than hotels. When I booked the Marine view Digital Harbour, I was not actually certain which room I'd get but voila, I got a stunning view, the room was clean and specious, a sofa-bed was included so my son who has been staying in Melbourne for a few years could join us.
The place also included a microwave, stove, oven, toaster, a series of knifes, 3 different sized saucepans, a frying pan, dining set with cutlery, can/bottle opener, vegetable peeler... What more can you ask for?
Extra pillows and extra towels were included too. Of course, it feels different to my own home, but I would positively love to stay here again, and definitely recommend it to all my friends.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lindadoank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyn K, General Manager at Docklands Private Collection of Apartments, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay in our apartments at Docklands, lindadoank, and for your review on our Digital Harbour apartments. We are glad you enjoyed the Marine View apartment you booked.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Docklands
The Sebel Melbourne Docklands
The Sebel Melbourne Docklands
#56 of 160 in Melbourne
669 reviews
Docklands
Peppers Docklands
Peppers Docklands
#25 of 160 in Melbourne
937 reviews
Central Business District
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
#39 of 160 in Melbourne
2,965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Treasury On Collins
Treasury On Collins
#8 of 160 in Melbourne
586 reviews
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Docklands Private Collection of Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Docklands Private Collection of Apartments

Property: Docklands Private Collection of Apartments
Address: U 7 G 198 Harbour Esp, Melbourne, Victoria 3008, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Docklands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 137 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Docklands Private Collection of Apartments 4.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay and enjoy the vibrant, cosmopolitan waterfront experience surrounding Docklands Private Collection of Apartments in Melbourne. We provide short and long term accommodation to corporate travellers and visitors to Melbourne. We have a rnage of 1,2,3 bedroom self contained apartments at NewQuay and Digital Harbour, the heart of Docklands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Docklands Private Collection of Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing