We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Perfect accommodation in Melbourne” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Docklands Private Collection of Apartments

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Docklands Private Collection of Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
uk
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect accommodation in Melbourne”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

We booked an apartment as we wanted a bit more space and flexibility than a hotel room, and we were really pleased we stayed here. Great location with a tram stop outside, great restaurants within walking distance (woolshed pub, nine elephants, curry vault) we were there for ten days, and really appreciated the amount of storage in the bedroom as it meant we could unpack completely, put our suitcases away and feel like we lived there. We arrived after the office had closed, and we were a bit nervous about how we would get the keys etc, but there was a lovely lady that had been working late that assisted us as soon as she spotted us outside. The complementary teabags and milk were a lovely touch as it meant we could have a cuppa before heading out to the supermarket for supplies and wine. (coles and wine shop 10 minutes walk away at southern cross station) we are really pleased we stayed here and would not hesitate to stay again.

Room Tip: We asked for a high floor, and were given 704a which was a top floor corner apartment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anon71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyn K, General Manager at Docklands Private Collection of Apartments, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Hello anon71, thank you for your review, we appreciate your comments and delighted you found Docklands to be a convenient location for restaurants, shops, entertainment and transport.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    143
    30
    7
    4
See reviews for
140
117
15
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bendigo, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

First the Positives.
Location!Location!Location! Great spot close to everything you need.
Views fantastic night or day. Great balcony. Comfy lounge. Onsite undercover parking.
Negatives
Over priced for a outdated apartment. No fans anywhere bedroom like a hot box if you open the window the road noise is horrific.Bed like cement.
Bathroom has a shower over the bath and badly needs updating

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank sheila198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyn K, General Manager at Docklands Private Collection of Apartments, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you sheila198 for the review and the positives detailed about our apartments and their location. With regard to your negative comments for this particular apartment, we have addressed these with the owner and scheduled this apartment for an upgrade. We hope you will stay with Docklands Private Collection of Apartments again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

Ae were in Melbourne primarily for the Australian Open. This location is just perfect, one tram from across the road takes you straight to Rod Laver Arena and is free if you have your tennis tickets on you. Beautiful location on the harbour, choice of restaurants along the promenade or quick tram trip to city for shopping , chinatown etc. Harbourtown shopping centre across the road. We drove to Melbourne but only used our car once to visit a supermarket, the rest of time used great tram service ( don't have to worry about drinking and driving!).
Apartment great (2 bed 1 bath) has everything you need. Terrific view of harbour and city.
Only disappointing thing was the pool as it was very cold. When I booked i thought it was heated but it wasn't. Even though we had warm weather ( one day over 40 degrees) it was still freezing. To make it more comfortable it needs to be heated all year round. My 13 year old was a little disappointed in this however my 15 year old loved the gym!
Loved our stay we will definately be going back next year.

Soussa Family

Room Tip: look for harbour/ city view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyn K, General Manager at Docklands Private Collection of Apartments, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Hello Linda S, we are delighted you chose Docklands Private Collection for your stay in Melbourne during the Aus Open and that the location was perfect for you. With regard to the pool temperature, we have brought this to the attention of the building manager who is looking into this matter with maintenance as the pool should be 'warm' and pleasant to swim at this time of the year as it is heated. We appreciate your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

We stayed in a one bedroom apartment on the top floor of the Sant Elia building overlooking the marina. Booking was easy, the managers give great instructions on how to find the office and even come and personally show you where to park and show you to the apartment. The apartment complex has great security and the parking is undercover and secure too.
The apartment was beautiful, very clean and spacious with a big balcony and amazing views. Two tv's with foxtel, very nicely furnished and really well equipped with everything we needed. Lots of bench and cupboard space in the bedroom and bathroom which was great to be able to spread out a bit.
There's lots of nice places to eat right on the doorstep, we ate at Medici and Berth and can recommend both, great value and the service and food were fantastic.
We loved the location, we felt very safe walking around at night and theres a stop close by for free tram to take into the city.
We wouldn't hesitate to stay here again and definately recommend.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dane73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyn K, General Manager at Docklands Private Collection of Apartments, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dane73, thank you for your review. We like to make our apartments feel like a 'home away from home' for our guests with the added location of Docklands and all this precinct has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

Stayed in a 2 bedroom 2 bathroom apartment over Christmas period. The apartment was very clean. Kitchen had everything we needed and the beds were comfortable with clean high quality linen and towels. There were 2 flat screen TVs with basic Foxtel channels. Location was fine for us; it's obviously not in the middle of the city but there are two trams that stop right infront of the apartment and we never had to wait more than 5 minutes for a tram even on public holidays. The trip to Bourke St mall was only 5 minutes. There was a small IGA supermarket right outside the apartment. The gym and the pool were great. We felt at home and it was a great apartment for our group of friends.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RachSydney2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyn K, General Manager at Docklands Private Collection of Apartments, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thanks for your review of the apartment and facilities RachSydney2010, we strive to make our apartments feel like a home away from home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

Staff were lovely, helpful, even walked us to the room explaining the security features of the pass. Had a one bedroom Soho marina view, Room was gorgeous, bigger than I expected. Great location, close to Edihad, Docklands shopping district and trams. Price was really reasonable, looked elsewhere that were more expensive but didnt look as good. Will definately refer and return! Thanks to the staff there.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LanaD81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyn K, General Manager at Docklands Private Collection of Apartments, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Our Soho apartments are excellent value for money and we appreciate your review LanaD81. Hope you come and stay with us again in 2013!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
90 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

We stayed in a 3 bedroom apartment for 4 nights, and it was a great alternative to a hotel. Nice to have your own space and privacy, living in an actual apartment, rather than just a room or suite. Main living area was great, nicely furnished and spacious. Large windows which looked out over the harbour area, made the place nice and bright. No curtains though, which was lovely during the day, to look at the view, but a bit weird at night time when you feel everyone can see in! Second and third bedrooms were quite small, but fine for 1 person.
We had a courtyard area (6th floor) rather than a balcony, which was great to sit outside and enjoy a drink. Not as good a view as the upper floors though.
Location is quiet, but the city circle tram stops right outside, so its easy enough to get into town, and would be an excellent location for Etihad Stadium.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank senorita08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyn K, General Manager at Docklands Private Collection of Apartments, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thank you senorita08 for taking the time to review your accommodation with Docklands Private Collection of Apartments and we are delighted to hear you enjoyed apartment accommodation as an alternative to a hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back to Docklands should you need an apartment again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Docklands
Peppers Docklands
Peppers Docklands
#13 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Central Business District
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
#31 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,076 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Docklands
Travelodge Melbourne, Docklands
Docklands
The Sebel Melbourne Docklands
The Sebel Melbourne Docklands
#45 of 157 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#9 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Docklands Private Collection of Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Docklands Private Collection of Apartments

Property: Docklands Private Collection of Apartments
Address: U 7 G 198 Harbour Esp, Melbourne, Victoria 3008, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Docklands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 119 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Docklands Private Collection of Apartments 4.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay and enjoy the vibrant, cosmopolitan waterfront experience surrounding Docklands Private Collection of Apartments in Melbourne. We provide short and long term accommodation to corporate travellers and visitors to Melbourne. We have a rnage of 1,2,3 bedroom self contained apartments at NewQuay and Digital Harbour, the heart of Docklands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Docklands Private Collection of Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing