We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Fun and interesting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Australian Centre for the Moving Image

Australian Centre for the Moving Image
Ranked #21 of 344 things to do in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Gallery featuring innovative contemporary and historic Australian screen-based art through interactive exhibits, large-scale projections, computer animations and digital media.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fun and interesting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012 via mobile

My boyfriend and I went there this morning and we lost the time. There are three galeries. One is permanent and is about games, television and movies. It is very interesting. The other two change from period to period and until March 2013 they will place two very good expositions. Worth the time!

Helpful?
Thank gessicalafeta
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

1,003 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    569
    341
    75
    13
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wish We Could Have Stayed Longer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

My girlfriend and I came here on our first day in Melbourne and were quite disappointed that they had already closed (the staff closed the escalator down right in front of us :[ ). And then we came back again on our last day in Melbourne.. It was great! Though we wish we could have stayed a little longer..

The Screen World is completely free and the exhibition is amazing! Pretty much whatever you can ask for if you're interested in media (tv, internet, video games, movies etc). Even my girlfriend thought this would be a great place to go on a date (not sure if other girls would agree on this). Definitely worth the visit! It is located just a straight road down from Flinders Street train station.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank maverickyeung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Always Something”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

If you love film you'll love this. Theres always something cool to see at ACMI. Check out their website to see what movies are showing. There's always something foreign or culty. The displays are very cool including props from pirates of the caribbean or costumes from Tim Burtons films. This place is good for kids, I'd definitely recommend it.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Hannah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
253 reviews
135 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
“Nostalgia”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

I enjoyed seeing footage from old movies and TV shows that I remember from years ago. Seeing other items such as costumes, props and Oscars added to the interest. Tracing the development of film through the old equipment was also interesting.

Unfortunately a number of the exhibits were out of action which was a pity in a place which seems to want to encourage interactivity. I also thought it was not well laid out. The sound from some exhibits spilled over into other exhibits, and the flow of the story of moving image was not always clear. This museum has so much interesting stuff in it, it just needs better organisation.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Selsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
233 reviews
119 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Great for Arty Films with an Edge”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

ACMI gets used for all sorts of events but a great idea is to go see a short arty film, or they also have exhibitions e.g. gaming exhibitions. it is a good idea to check the website to see upcoming events

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Australian Centre for the Moving Image also viewed

 

Been to Australian Centre for the Moving Image? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing