We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome Asian bakery”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Breadtop

Breadtop
Ranked #31 of 51 Bakeries in Melbourne
Cuisines: Fast Food, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Takeout
Neighborhood: Chinatown
Brisbane
Level Contributor
190 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Awesome Asian bakery”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2014

Having spent many years in Asia, I can vouch that BreadTop is as close to an authentic Asian bakery as it can get. Red bean bun, pork floss bun, BBQ pork bun, pineapple bun, green tea bun - hmm... I'm back in Asia and stuffing my face with comfort food.
The disappointing thing are the prices - I'm so used to cheap prices in Asia that my mind battles against the Aussie prices in front of my eyes. That said, I'd rather grab a snack from Breadtop than from boring Maccas.
Breadtop fills my tummy with warm delights! As other reviewers have commented, service could be better, which baffles me because Breadtop is a franchise. Every franchisee should train their staff to be more courteous and appreciative of customers. It doesn't bother me because I'm used to getting poor service from hole-in-the-wall bakeries in Asia. But Aussies like to interact and therefore expect better service.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TADoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    13
    6
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“shop assistant is rude.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014

I went to Breadtop shop in Docklands with my entertainment book vourcher, (shop address: 25 -29 Star Crescent, Harbour Town), shop assistants told me they have never heard of it, and don't accept the vourcher. Told me to go away and try tomorrow again!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CrystalBell01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
197 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Fantastic Asian bakery, just like HK”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2014

Having spend a year living in HK I am always on the lookout for a bakery that does the Asian style baked goods like you get everywhere in HK. Breadtop, which is all over Melbourne, is a really great place that serves up the yummy morsels just like HK.

I am sure there are other, better, Asian bakers in Melbourne but given the number of breaktops around, its easy to get your Asian Bakery fix in most areas of Melbourne!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Savitar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Best Bakery in Australia”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

I love BreadTop and every time we visit Melbourne we make sure we stop here for something. The range of sweets and savories is amazing and the self-serve atmosphere makes you feel free to browse and choose as you like. I would recommend any visitor (or local) in Melbourne to take advantage of this fabulous place. I wish they would expand to more states in Australia. Yummo!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CCstar14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tasmania
Level Contributor
738 reviews
214 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 362 helpful votes
“Great bakery but naans are going downhill”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

We still love Breadtop but on this visit the naans were a bit hard and not as large as usual. The regular favourites of chocolate horns and twin sausage buns made up for it...

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wombatdavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Breadtop also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Breadtop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing