We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming small hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Albert Park Manor Boutique Hotel

Albert Park Manor Boutique Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Melbourne
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Albert Park Manor Boutique Hotel
Ranked #146 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Charming small hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2009

We stayed here for two nights in August. It was a quiet time of year, so we got an upgrade. This was the nicest place we stayed in during our month long visit to Australia. The decor in the room and in the hallways is Victorian and pretty. When the water was turned off by the city one morning the owner brought us some bottled water. Luckily I had already finished my shower. The owner and his son are very friendly and welcoming. There are frequent trams downtown or you can walk in about 20 min. We only had one full day in Melbourne, but I really liked its architecture and the lights at night.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frugs33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    12
    6
    5
    3
See reviews for
5
15
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lutterworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2008

The hotel is fairly small and very nice.

A fair distance from the city centre and airport but easy access to both. Tram and bus routes are just outside and give very good access to both the city and St Kilda beach.

The owners were the most helpful and friendly people you could hope to meet.

If I'm ever in Melbourne again this is where I will stay.

  • Liked — Good access to public transport to both the city and beach
  • Disliked — A fair distance from the city
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lome1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicagoland, IL
Level Contributor
51 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2008

For $125 AUD we got a quiet, clean room on the tram lines running to the main part of town, and also the funky neighborhood of St. Kilda. Tony was most helpful as was his son Jamie.

Stayed April 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank Trample
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambridge
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2008

A quirky Hotel that is very good value for money. The Hotel is within walking distance of the centre of Melbourne, although there is a tram stop outside. The room was very large and clean, with a spotless onsuite. The only problem we had was the bed was too hard for us, but the ever helpful and friendly owner swapped the mattress straight away. Would stay here again.

  • Liked — Location and Helpful staff
  • Disliked — Hard beds
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank 007Cambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rangsdorf, Germany
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2008

Starting with the good points, the hotel location is reasonable, air conditioned, friendly and helpful staff, relatively cheap and the entrance is nice.

Our room however was very grubby. Curtains and drapes over the bed needed a good wash. The last guests half eaten meal was left in the fridge. The room did not reflect the website photos, it was really quite shabby in comparison.

My advice is that if you find a dirty room acceptable then go for it, I wouldnt stay here again.

  • Liked — Entrance
  • Disliked — A dirty room. Dead flies on the drapes over the bed
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kipperlug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Melbourne hotels

Worcester
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2008

An interesting hotel near to the city without being in the city centre. Victorian building though there isn’t a bar or dining room so light on guest facilities. Very clean room and owners were very helpful withinfo on Melbourne.

  • Liked — Victorian building
  • Disliked — Lack of guest facilities
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bobabout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GAINESVILLE
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2007

Our stay at the Albert Park Manor Boutique Hotel June 21-25 was a pleasant one. The hotel was appealing to us because it offers good access on a main tram line (5-10 minutes) to the Melbourne cbd as well as quick access to a nearly freeway for excusions outside of town. In many respects it is more akin to an upscale B&B than a true hotel, since it has no dining facilities or elevator and appears to be owned and managed by one person, "Tony ." There is a small Italian restaurant and a cafe serving breakfast and lunch next door so meals are no problem.

When we arrived, the hotel was almost full so we had to take a room on the top floor which was ok except that the windows are smaller than those on the lower floors which made the room rather dark. Tony was very helpful, carrying our bags up to our second floor room himself and providing helpful guidance to all of our questions concerning Melbourne attractions.We found our room and the entire hotel to be clean, comfortable and a good value for the money.
If you arrive by car we recommend phoning ahead for detailed directions. The traffic patterns in the area are confusing and we drove around in the neighborhood for almost 30 minutes before figuring out how to get to the hotel.
We enjoyed the Albert Park Manor would be glad to stay there again.

  • Liked — Location, good value for money
  • Disliked — No elevator, room a bit dark
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank RobertGainesville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Royce Hotel
#34 of 160 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,087 reviews
Magnolia Court Boutique
#139 of 160 in Melbourne
3.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Seasons Botanic Gardens
#88 of 160 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bayview Eden
#109 of 160 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
Southbank
Quest on Dorcas
Quest on Dorcas
#9 of 160 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
Quest South Melbourne
#119 of 160 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albert Park Manor Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albert Park Manor Boutique Hotel

Property: Albert Park Manor Boutique Hotel
Address: 405 St Kilda Rd, Melbourne, Victoria 3004, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Spa
Hotel Style:
#24 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#113 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Hotel Class:4 star — Albert Park Manor Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Also Known As:
Hotel Albert Park Manor Boutique

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing