We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great location, reasonably priced” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Albert Park Manor Boutique Hotel

Albert Park Manor Boutique Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Melbourne
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Albert Park Manor Boutique Hotel
Save
You added Albert Park Manor Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Ranked #144 of 157 Hotels in Melbourne
San Francisco
Level Contributor
71 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Great location, reasonably priced”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Located on St Kilda Rd just down from the Shrine of Remembrance and near the Botanical Garden, this is a great location for exploring Melbourne. Good tram connections to CBD and St Kilda. Reasonably priced, for Melbourne. Our room, no 8, had none of the problems mentioned in other reviews - on the back of the hotel, with no view, but quiet. Tea and coffee-making facilities provided but no breakfast included in the rate. Pay laundry facilities available on site. Wifi worked wel. There are cafes close by for breakfast. Based on our experience, we would recommend this as an affordable place to stay in Melbourne

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tibbrit2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    12
    6
    5
    3
See reviews for
5
15
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here after googling accom near Rod Laver Arena. Perfect location - 20 minute walk to the Arena. Room size was great, bathroom was a little grubby, mould in grout, corners etc looked a though it needed a good scrub and bleaching! Overall for budget, we didnt have high expectations, and got what we paid for. Staff were quite helpful, couldn't fault them though.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CMSimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013 via mobile

I don't often feel inclined to write a review on trip advisor but our experience was not a terribly pleasant one and I wish to advise others to avoid here if possible. Very outdated and dirty, rooms and bathroom need a good clean and upgrade. We also had a room facing the road and found it difficult to sleep with all the notice from St Kilda Road. Owner was also not helpful when we broached the subject. You're better off staying at a backpackers if you're on a budget.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrea C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Melbourne hotels

Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

We used one of the need it in a hurry websites to find this motel. It only got worse from then on.
We should hae researched the motel more BEFORE booking.
After booking realised the "cheaper" rate we booked was the same as regular the regular rate. Not happy!
We arrived at 4.00pm to be be advised we weren't expected until the next day. Not happy!
However the management did have a vacancy, no wonder, the place is a cross between a geriatric hospital and Fawlty Towers.
As others have commented, the place was previously a hospital and very little has changed.
I don't like being in hospital and I didn't like being here either.
We had a room facing the main road.
The room smelt musky and damp, in fact the whole place had a smell to it. Carpet is well worn, plastic shrubbery is covered in dust, there is no ambience to this place at all. No wonder there were few images of the facilities on their website.
We couldn't close the curtains and had the night lights from the street streaming in all night.
We had coffee making facilities, but no power to plug the jug into. Had to use the beside table to connect to a plug in the power board. Not sure what Occ Health & Safety issues are in place! There is no toaster to make toast for a BYO breakfast.
Television reception was intermittent - ranging from good, to pixelated, to loosing signal, to back to good. If you're watching with any intent don't bother!
Walls were dirty and marked, mirror frame in the bathroom had paint flaking off. There was mould/fungus in the shower recess, the shower caddy was rusting. The air-conditioner was connected to an extension cord plugged into the power board. The ceiling fan is turned on/off by pulling a shoelace.
How by any stretch of the imagination this place could be rated three stars is beyond me.
For me giving it any star rating is being generous.
If by chance you read this review before booking, consider yourself lucky.
AVOID AT ALL COSTS

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank GOIDAU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012 via mobile

I used this hotel for the first time as the last night of a business and social visit to Melbourne. Having booked this room as a 3 star, i must say i was disappointed. Whilst the bed was a 4 poster, it inhibited the view of the tv. most power outlets were by extension lead, which was somewhat of an inconvenience. water stains on the walls and fungus on grout in the bathroom. As a positive, it was conveniently located and reasonably priced. The is a similar styled hotel close by which I'd prefer to use in the future.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank G M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Stayed in here on transit and was a good place. Nice location to Albert Park and surrounding shopping and bars. Great transport link to Melbourne's CBD and the staff were very pleasant and helpful. Room was nice and spacious and i slept very well.

Some of the rooms and the decor was a tad tired but nothing to put you off as the point of your holiday is the sites beyond the hotel not the room itself.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Geanaux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

The rooms are shabby and outdated. It was like being in a nursing home. I know it was once a hospital (orthapedic), but they could of at least changed the doors to the rooms. They are those hospital ones that open double for wheeling in and out beds. No lift which was a struggle for me having just recently had bi lateral knee replacements. Can"t imagine how that worked for patients. Although the bathroom was clean we had no soap on that first night and when I asked for it the owner treated me like I just had not seen it because he was sure it was there. The first time we turned the TV on it had a high pitched scream so we had to ask to get it replaced. No radio in the room not even a clock radio. One of the windows had a huge crack that was taped up, not a good look. The first night we arrived there was an overwhelming smell of roast like there was a restaurant in there. When we asked the owner said he had just had his dinner but the smell went all the way upstairs with us. We often smelt food which is not pleasant when you are not the one eating it. The hallways are full of plastic palms and dried flowers that have seen better days they were so dusty, yuk. The staff that we did see (3 people over the entire 5 day stay) just seemed over it. It would not take much to make this place shine. Get rid of the Dried flowers first then the palms that would be a start. Also we started with lovely thick sheets but after a couple of days they were changed to very thin synthetic ones which were very uncomfortable and hot to sleep on. All I can say is you get what you pay for and will pay more for better accom next time. Even the pizza/italian restaurant downstairs was not open for brekky.

Room Tip: Towards back of hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank missymoo10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Melbourne
Royce Hotel
#31 of 157 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 963 reviews
Magnolia Court Boutique
#130 of 157 in Melbourne
3.0 of 5 stars 174 reviews
Central Business District
City Garden Hotel
City Garden Hotel
#132 of 157 in Melbourne
3.0 of 5 stars 209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quest South Melbourne
#2 of 2 in South Melbourne
3.5 of 5 stars 24 reviews
Bayview Eden
#106 of 157 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 stars 559 reviews
Central Business District
Hotel Sophia
Hotel Sophia
#142 of 157 in Melbourne
3.0 of 5 stars 542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albert Park Manor Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albert Park Manor Boutique Hotel

Property: Albert Park Manor Boutique Hotel
Address: 405 St Kilda Rd, Melbourne, Victoria 3004, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Spa
Hotel Style:
#25 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
Hotel Class:3 star — Albert Park Manor Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Also Known As:
Hotel Albert Park Manor Boutique

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing