We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One word....Delicious!!”
Review of Akachochin

Akachochin
Reserve with
Akachochin is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #201 of 4,029 Restaurants in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $20
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Named after the red paper lanterns that hang outside traditional Japanese izakaya's, Akachochin is an elegant and modern Tokyo-style bar. Head Chef Kengo Hiromatsu combines quality ingredients and japanese tradition to present a menu with a focus on true japanese cuisine presented in a modern way. Akachochin's specialty sake range showcases the best Japan has to offer and if requested, can be matched to a variety of regional dishes to suit your palate. Akachochin's dining room is elegant and when seated at either the marble laden sushi bar or a private table overlooking the water, you will be sure to have your tastebuds looked after at Melbourne's most unique and authentic japanese restaurant.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One word....Delicious!!”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

By far the best Japanese restaurant I have been to outside of Japan! The concept is a Japanese style of tapas, where you order a number of dishes and share between the table. Everything we ordered was amazing! The food was fresh and full of flavour. Even converted someone who never liked sushi to a sushi lover! Wagyu beef is a must. Also a huge selection of traditional sake to try.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nat0609a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    45
    8
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
259 reviews
156 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

We had heard great reviews on this restaurant, and our friends who took us there had eaten there before.
We all agreed however that the meal was average with a couple of exceptions - mainly the mornay style oysters, and the beef.
Seafood dishes were average.
Service lass did not have much English which probably didn't help, and maybe our choices could have been better.
However our friends agreed that the last meal there was a lot better - perhaps it was because on this occasion it was a week night - who knows?

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank avidtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“An excellent Japanese restaurant!!!”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

This restaurant is fantastic!! Located in South Wharf, with a modern interior that includes a sushi bar for those that like the choice of a more casual and quick dining experience, or even a quick solo dinner with views of the Yarra river. The staff are very attentive, and the menu is good- much more to offer than many Japanese restaurants that have all the same things on the menu. Apart from the super fresh lovely sushi, I tried the following dishes and can recommend: Butaraba (grilled pork belly) it was really divine, Quail karaage- so nice, it also comes with little soft boiled quail eggs and a quail croquette ball- very nicely done, An amazing udon soup that I can't remember the name of- but I remember the deliciousness!!! And for dessert I had the sweet potato brûlée- it was the nicest dessert I've had in a while!!! I was really impressed with what they had on the menu, all the food was such excellent quality and the chef is ex- Nobu- so if you want Nobu quality without the Nobu pricetag, I definitely recommend you try this place!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CaughtBriEye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland.New Zealand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Superb Japanese food”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

This restaurant was recommended by the concierge at the Hilton South Wharf, a short stroll away. The service was good and the food sublime. You can choose a la carte or a 3 or 6 course tasting menu. Having had a busy day and pre dinner drinks and substantial canapes at a pre dinner function we chose the 3 course menu. As expected for a tasting menu the portions were not huge, but the flavours were amazing. Kingfish sashimi finely chopped and served with a mixed Japanese salad, followed by stir fried beef with fresh, taste tingling ingredients and then barrumundi served in a broth Japenese vegies. My husband is not particularly keen on fish, but loved both fish courses and the beef. We drank a New Zealand sauv. blanc with the meal, which went really well with it, but the restaurant suggests Sake or Japanese Beer to make the meal more authentic. Next time we go to Melbourne we will definitely go here, but make sure we have room for more courses, as we feel the chef here really wants people to experience the diverse flavours that Japanese cuisine has to offer, every mouthful was superb!!! It was lovely to see a couple of Japanese families there with young children( all well behaved) and everyone enjoying the food. We were near the kitchen and so saw lots of food having the finishing touches added, before being taken to tables, it all looked and smelt amazing. There are a few tables outside so those would be great for a romantic riverside meal. As stated in previous reviews the Head chef is ex Nobu and is clearly a master of modern Japanese cuisine. Let yourself experiment with new food combinations- you will not be disappointed.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bear101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A gr8 find”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Hiding down the end of south wharf is a great value for money sushi bar with sakes to die for. The chef is ex nobu, he's designed a gr8 menu that is modern, value and tastes gr8. If staying at the Hilton one can fall in and out of the door into bed......

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Deemon72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Akachochin also viewed

 
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Akachochin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing