We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the best ! Friendly, clean and comfortable” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Melbourne Metro YHA

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Melbourne Metro YHA
Ranked #51 of 126 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“One of the best ! Friendly, clean and comfortable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2014 via mobile

What a fantastic place. Checked in one evening on short notice and was superbly looked after by the yha crew. The Friendly staff Sophie and Doosh had exceptional customer service skills and the room was very comfortable, quiet and clean. Great attention to detail and service with a smile! Coming to melbourne? YHA is the place to stay

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Wildlifemelbourne1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    104
    49
    15
    11
See reviews for
16
29
89
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Burnley, Lancashire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2014

I ended up staying here for 5 months whilst working in Melbourne, the atmosphere is amazing and I made so many friends, including a lot of the staff too! The rooms are clean and comfy, the common areas, bathrooms and kitchen are cleaned often and are excellent. Every Tuesday (was Wednesday until recently) a travel auction is held by Safari Pete, I highly recommend going to his show, I saved so much money on trips in Victoria because of this. Also try the slow cooked burger from the cafe, it's delicious! Also if you're planning on staying for a while, the wine and cheese night is an excellent opportunity to meet fellow long term stayers.

The location, although slightly out of the city, is great, North Melbourne is very relaxed and quiet, with a few shops, cafe's and bars on Errol Street which is nearby, also nearby is the Queen Vic market, which is worth going to at least once. Over all the hostel is a lot of fun thanks to the staff and other backpackers, there's always something going on!

I really enjoyed staying here for five months and will definitely stay here again when I'm next in Melbourne!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisS91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2014

The Metro YHA is a bit further out than I was expected - about a 45 minute walk into the city.
(I tried taking the tram but ended up paying a fortune!)

There are get-to-know-you activities organised but the one I went to, everybody seemed to already know each other and didn't seem up for chatting to new people which was a bit awkward.

I ended up leaving early and paying a little extra to stay in the Central YHA.

Room Tip: Bring earplugs! This place seems to attract snorers ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pinkgrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2014 via mobile

Enjoyed our five night stay here in a mixed 4 bed room :)

Pros:
Very very clean hostel!
Close to Queen Vic markets
Good vibe, quiet place
Great cafe, cheap dinners
Most people in our room were friendly :)

Cons:
Bathroom door would slam at all hours!! People don't realise others are sleeping at 4am.. (Get earplugs)
Lockers in the room can't fit suitcases. You can hire one in the basement for $2 a day, and it's $2 each time you opened it. We took most of our stuff out and put it in the locker in our room.
A little out of the city but easy enough to catch a tram down the road

FYI don't put your food on the free food shelves or it'll be gone before you know it! Pricey mistake we made :/




Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank KA2456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014

I spent a weekend in Melbourne and stay here for one night. The room and toilet are very clean. The staff are helpful. The location is good just a few minutes to Queen Victoria Market. I have met some fellow traveller and share both our experience!

Room Tip: Clean, location is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ming Ho L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014

I stayed for a couple of nights and find the easiest way to do this review is in a list
Pros:
Big clean kitchen
Excellent cafe
Great staff
Quiet location

Cons:
1. They start playing music at 7am which could be heard in our room (twin) - it woke me up and is quite loud. I don't understand 1. Why it's necessary at 7am or 2. Why it's necessary in a corridor that has only rooms? This was a HUGE con for me because the location is otherwise quiet!
2. The hostel is literally in the middle of nowhere - there is no food around, no supermarket around, nothing - so you are basically forced to eat the food from the cafe (which was quite good though - very friendly tall guy behind the counter). Difficult to get your bearing because it's so residential.
3. The wifi was absolutely terrible. I am used to crappy wifi in hostels but this was beyond a joke - it dropped out every 10 mins then wouldn't reconnect, why bother really?
4. There was nothing to hold the bathroom door open, sounds a bit petty but the door was really quite heavy! Also the fan in there went all night!
5. The plumbing in the wall (from the room beside us) was deafening - again something that would wake you up!

The staff were lovely and helpful, obviously all these cons aren't their fault also the cafe was a nice place to hang!

While we were there it was very hot but our room stayed nice and cool without air con which I appreciated, however, I would not stay here again..I would prefer to pay more and stay somewhere else than deal with that music in the corridor ever again! Unbearable!!!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joeblowreviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airlie beach
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2014 via mobile

I currently sit here at 2:30am trying to get to sleep, (for the past 3 hours), the rather large older lady in the bottom bunk is snoring EXTREMLY loudly, so loudly that it's vibrating the bed. A fine definition of a sleep apnea patient.
I recorded this said lady and wandered down to reception to be advised there is nothing he can do to help. No compromise! Nothing! My only option being to wander the streets at 2:30 to find an alternate room.
I know this isn't the hostels fault, but the fact I paid an over pricey $38 for a bed and can't get any sleep. A little inconsiderate!
Yes the rooms are clean but this room is very small. And getting smaller by the second!

I've never stayed at a YHA before but always thought they had a better reputation. Not this one!
Never again!

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank KLL_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Melbourne hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Melbourne Central YHA
Melbourne Central YHA
#22 of 126 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
Central Business District
United Backpackers Melbourne
United Backpackers Melbourne
#4 of 126 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
Home at The Mansion
#45 of 126 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southbank
Urban Central
Urban Central
#28 of 126 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
Central Business District
The Greenhouse Backpacker
The Greenhouse Backpacker
#32 of 126 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
Central Business District
Discovery Melbourne
Discovery Melbourne
#97 of 126 in Melbourne
3.0 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melbourne Metro YHA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melbourne Metro YHA

Property: Melbourne Metro YHA
Address: 78 Howard St, Melbourne, Victoria 3051, Australia (Formerly Queensberry Hill YHA)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > North Melbourne
Amenities:
Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 126 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Melbourne Metro YHA 3*
Number of rooms: 360
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Melbourne Metro YHA is a modern hostel located on the city fringe in leafy North Melbourne. This hostel is your relaxed home away from home that's only minutes from famous Queen Victoria Markets and walking distance to all the major attractions - the best of both worlds! Facilities include a tour desk for all your tour and transport needs within Victoria and Australia, free Wifi Hot Spot (Wifi Plus option also available), fully equipped self-catering kitchen, communal lounge areas, launderette, secure car parking (subject to availability - $10 per day) and DVD's for hire. Enjoy the rooftop with panoramic city views as well as a BBQ and lounges perfect for socializing and meeting fellow travellers. Each room is heated and comes with lockers and an individual bed light. Bathroom facilities are shared. Guests can choose from a range of bed types, including 4 and 8 multi-share, twin/double rooms with optional en suite, and family rooms. We can also book groups of up to 120 people, ideal for schools, sporting groups and international exchange programs. Within the hostel there are always lots of great activities on including movie nights, Safari Pete travel auctions, free comedy, wine & cheese nights and a great weekly pub crawl! Activities are updated regularly so check with our friendly reception to see what's on and to get the best local tour and travel advice. Talking about what's on, Melbourne is the events and sporting capital of Australia! Getting around is simple with a free map and MyKi cards available for purchase at the hostel reception. A tram stop is located just 500m from the hostel and the $5 Melbourne Visitor Shuttle Bus stop is only 5 minutes walk which loops Melbourne's best attractions. Take advantage of the cities vibrant events calendar including the Spring Racing Carnival, Australian Open Tennis, AFL matches, Melbourne International comedy festival, Melbourne Fringe Festival, Melbourne Festival, Melbourne Cup and year round markets, live music, film, food, art and fashion activities and events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, HostelWorld, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Despegar.com so you can book your Melbourne Metro YHA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melbourne Metro Yha Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing