We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Functional with great roof views” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Melbourne Metro YHA

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Melbourne Metro YHA
Ranked #55 of 123 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Functional with great roof views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

We stayed in an ensuite double which was comfy but more expensive than the more modern st kilda hotel we had just left. Room had a fan which was used as the temps reached 37 whilst we were here. The rooftop terrace was a great place to hang out and see the city light up at night. we even saw fruit bats flying over at twilight. The first night we didn't sleep so well as the family next to us had screaming children awake so acoustics were not a strong point. Functional vibe to the communal areas. Lots of school trips using the pace. We did wander down to North Melbourne shops one evening which was a really pleasant place to be on a summer's evening. wide leafy streets and tables out under verandahs and plenty of dining options.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KarenL63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    102
    48
    15
    11
See reviews for
15
29
88
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

We spent 6 nights in an ensuite double. These rooms are in a separate area on the ground floor ao noise wasn't an issue even though 3 or 4 school groups stayed while we were there. Room is small but adequate, queen size bed, tiny analog TV, all linen, kettle, tea and coffee provided.

After cleanliness and security I rate hostels on their common areas and these were very good: ground floor lounge with comfy couches, large dining area, two separate TV lounges and a rooftop lounge and outdoor bbq as well. Very pleasant. Kitchen ok, can get crowded at peak times (and never any teaspoons, must be a hostel thing). There's also a coffee shop that does cheap & cheerful breakfasts (beans on toast $5) and dinners (schnitzel & chips $10).

Staff helpful & happy to chat but usually very busy. Guests apart from school groups were mostly young overseas backpackers with a fair few baby boomers like us mixed in ( very common at YHA these days).

Wi-fi $7.95 per day (I think), $19.95 for 3 days or $39.95 for 7. Good connection & speed.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank daymares
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

big thanks to the YHA for accommodating me in a 4 bed dorm by myself!!
I was staying in the city because I was being a marshal on the Ride to conquer cancer and had to be up at 4:15am!! I requested to be by myself if possible because I didn't want to disturb others getting up so early and they helped out so Big Thanks Guys!! i stayed on 26 OCT paid $28.50 YHA rates I think it is now about $33 YHA member rates.

the bathroom and common areas and bedrooms are all very clean and most important there were heaps of power points in the room so I had my GPS, My IPad and my phone all charging up at once, bonus.
thanks for a quiet restful stay at the YHA!!
My tip for dinner The Leveson a 6 min walk down the road, such yummy food!!!

Room Tip: 1 ST floor at the back nice and quiet if you like your sleep!! There is even a bath tub on this floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shez177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

I stayed at the Melbourne Metro YHA for 2 nights when I was in Melbourne. This is not the most amazing backpacker I've ever seen, but it is still really good. The staff was professional and helpful.
I stayed in a 4-shared female room. What I've thought when I first opened the door of the room is: "It is small !!". And, indeed, the rooms are not to big. I mean, I really don't know how it is possible to have 4 big luggages in the room at the same time. Thanksfully, my roomates and myself were traveling with backpacks which made movement in the room possible. My bed was comfy and there is a readind lamp which is really useful. In the room there are lockers for valuables, which is also a good point.
No shower towel is provided at chek-in. The bathrooms are huge and clean but no hair-dryer for ladies.
The lounge and the kitchen area at the ground level are really nice and there is a lot of space for everyone. If you don't want to cook, there is a café, integrated to the kitchen, that offers cheap breakfast, lunch and diner.
The rooftop is one of the assets of the hostel. There is a BBQ and you can easily relax and chill out. The view on Melbourne CBD is amazing too!
You can walk from the YHA to the city center (30min app) but there is also a tram stop close to the hostel. Reception can also arrange you some pick-up to the airport with Skybus.

This is not a party hostel which does NOT mean you cannot meet new people and make friends. On the contrary you can meet a lot of different people from various countries AND enjoy quiet nights. Isn't it the perfect match?

I would definitely recommend staying at Melbourne Metro YHA, even if it is quite expensive.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FrenchieInOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

I stayed here for a couple months even though maximum stay is 2 weeks. This hostel is designed for big school groups, don't expect to stay in the same room your whole stay and they expect you to pay for a locker between room changes. Clean and quiet if that is what you want.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AndreNationless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

I went to the YHA Metro Melbourne on a band tour with my high school. We had dinner and breakfast and rooms of four each. The amenities were all very clean and the food was almost as good as home. The location is of course on Howard St which is very close to a tram station which will take you anywhere in the city. Apart from that it is pretty close to Queen Victoria Markets (great shopping at QVM!) I would rate it five-star as it was not as expected in a positive way of course! Very, very, very, very, very good!!!

Room Tip: On floors above floor 1 are good as some Melbourne schools come and go on Floor 1 and may be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kate B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2012

Quiet, Relaxed with alot of space. Rooms have a great lay out, bathrooms are very large and super clean, kitchen and common rooms again clean large and very spacious no complaints at all. Only down side is the global gossip internet...PLEASE YHA Break away from this, Its poisoning your market of backpackers and making them book other places.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Suttar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Melbourne Central YHA
Melbourne Central YHA
#24 of 123 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
Home at The Mansion
#44 of 123 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Central Business District
United Backpackers Melbourne
United Backpackers Melbourne
#5 of 123 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southbank
Urban Central
Urban Central
#26 of 123 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
Central Business District
The Greenhouse Backpacker
The Greenhouse Backpacker
#35 of 123 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
Central Business District
Discovery Melbourne
Discovery Melbourne
#93 of 123 in Melbourne
3.0 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melbourne Metro YHA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melbourne Metro YHA

Property: Melbourne Metro YHA
Address: 78 Howard St, Melbourne, Victoria 3051, Australia (Formerly Queensberry Hill YHA)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > North Melbourne
Amenities:
Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 123 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Melbourne Metro YHA 3*
Number of rooms: 360
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Melbourne Metro YHA is a modern hostel located on the city fringe in leafy North Melbourne. This hostel is your relaxed home away from home that's only minutes from famous Queen Victoria Markets and walking distance to all the major attractions - the best of both worlds! Facilities include a tour desk for all your tour and transport needs within Victoria and Australia, free Wifi Hot Spot (Wifi Plus option also available), fully equipped self-catering kitchen, communal lounge areas, launderette, secure car parking (subject to availability - $10 per day) and DVD's for hire. Enjoy the rooftop with panoramic city views as well as a BBQ and lounges perfect for socializing and meeting fellow travellers. Each room is heated and comes with lockers and an individual bed light. Bathroom facilities are shared. Guests can choose from a range of bed types, including 4 and 8 multi-share, twin/double rooms with optional en suite, and family rooms. We can also book groups of up to 120 people, ideal for schools, sporting groups and international exchange programs. Within the hostel there are always lots of great activities on including movie nights, Safari Pete travel auctions, free comedy, wine & cheese nights and a great weekly pub crawl! Activities are updated regularly so check with our friendly reception to see what's on and to get the best local tour and travel advice. Talking about what's on, Melbourne is the events and sporting capital of Australia! Getting around is simple with a free map and MyKi cards available for purchase at the hostel reception. A tram stop is located just 500m from the hostel and the $5 Melbourne Visitor Shuttle Bus stop is only 5 minutes walk which loops Melbourne's best attractions. Take advantage of the cities vibrant events calendar including the Spring Racing Carnival, Australian Open Tennis, AFL matches, Melbourne International comedy festival, Melbourne Fringe Festival, Melbourne Festival, Melbourne Cup and year round markets, live music, film, food, art and fashion activities and events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, HostelWorld and Hotels.com so you can book your Melbourne Metro YHA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melbourne Metro Yha Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing