We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great location but they hold the security deposit for too long!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge City Square Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Econo Lodge City Square Motel
Ranked #119 of 157 Hotels in Melbourne
Mena Creek, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great location but they hold the security deposit for too long!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014 via mobile

We have stayed here a few times before and found it suited our needs for a budget price.
Our most recent trip was an overnighter. This particular room has had a makeover and was neat and clean. On the second floor overlooking Swanston St., we didn't find the noise too bothersome.
My one complaint is taking a $250 security deposit ( nearly twice the room rate) which they did advise at the time of checking in would be held for a week (I think this is excessive, personally) but now, ten days later, they still have not released it.
For travellers on a budget, holding this sum back for this length of time makes the affordability questionable.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Grimace60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shontinelle d, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge City Square Motel, responded to this review, March 10, 2015
Thank you for your recent review of your stay with us. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed staying with us and had wonderful time in the CBD. Its unfortunate to hear of your issue. We will definitely look into this and rectify it for future.
We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards,
Shontinelle Daji
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    78
    27
    12
    4
See reviews for
20
42
32
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

I stayed there in March with two other friends. It is in a great location - close to everything. The room itself is nothing special but the location makes up for it. I definitely recommend this place if you want somewhere cheap right in the city.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank food_lovers26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shontinelle d, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge City Square Motel, responded to this review, March 10, 2015
Thank you for your review of your stay with us. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed staying with us and had wonderful time in the CBD.
We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards,
Shontinelle Daji
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

I've been staying at this budget motel for almost 30 years. It was cheap and clean with friendly staff in an excellent location: a perfect place for me to stay several times a year when in Melbourne. Prices go up, of course, but I still stayed there because they were fixed for any night of the week. Now they follow other places and price according to how much they can get for any given night. Today I did a check for tonight and found the City Square cheapest standard single room is $135, while the Ibis is $139. I stayed at the City Square last week and was feezing cold as the aircon now seems fixed at a low temp and keeps shutting off. The sheets were like boards, so I couldn't wrap the covers round myself to get warm. For $4 extra a night at the Ibis I can get warmth, comfort in bed, Foxtel tv, a light room (instead of a gloomy) and a fridge that has a bar in the door so my milk doesn't fall out every time I open it. I will also get a table/dsk for my laptop, while at the City Square the single rooms only have a very low coffee table so I have to set up the ironing board if I don't want to break my back crouching over it. It's a very disappointing way to end such a long association.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back, otherwise you will hear the trams and traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AngelaD17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shontinelle d, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge City Square Motel, responded to this review, March 10, 2015
Thank you for posting a review on Trip Advisor. It is really disappointing hear about some issues during your stay with us. We will definitely look into this and rectify it for future.

Kind Regards,
Shontinelle Daji
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaside Heights, New Jersey
Level Contributor
236 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 385 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

This is an Econolodge brand hotel. It is a budget hotel with a great location right in the middle of Swanson Street (which does not allow cars.) It is across the street from Town Hall. Swanson street is busy and active both day and night. There are many, many restaurants and stores. This hotel is in the center of all the action.

We stayed in a Queen room. The room was clean and fairly large for a hotel in the middle of the city. The bath was good and bed comfortable. There was a refrigerator, kettle and toaster in the room. They provide a “light” breakfast which means tea or instant coffee and 2 slices of white bread for each person. They do provide butter and vegemite. There is a laundry facility: 2 washers and 2 dryers. They worked well.

There is not 24 hour coverage at the front desk so if you plan to arrive very late be aware. The hotel is in the middle of the block on Swanson Street. Cars are not allowed on Swanson so if you arrive by taxi you will be dropped off at the end of the block and need to walk carrying your luggage the ½ block to the hotel. I share this in case you have limited mobility or a lot of luggage.

I would stay here again.

If you find this review helpful, I would appreciate a helpful vote. Thanks.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room away from Swanson Street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Mary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shontinelle d, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge City Square Motel, responded to this review, March 10, 2015
Thank you for your review of your stay with us. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed staying with us and had wonderful time in the CBD.
We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards,
Shontinelle Daji
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

We checked in at 9pm when we got to our room the internal light wouldn't turn on and when it finally turned on it power surged from completely off to on for 5minutes before working, the power point box had a 20cent piece size hole in it with wires exposed, with hubby being an electrician this is not safe. The air con was covered in dust. I am fully aware you get what you pay for in room look and amenities however safety in this hotel is dangerous. The maintenance man would accused us of damaging the power point and refused to speak to me even though the booking was in my name. When asking to be moved to another room for the night whilst it gets fixed tomorrow they advised the last room was taken by a walk in, the refused to refund out money so we could stay somewhere else and refused to have the manager contact us. Do yourself a favour and stay somewhere else

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lovetravel2723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shontinelle d, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge City Square Motel, responded to this review, March 10, 2015
Thank you for posting a review on Trip Advisor. It is really disappointing hear about some issues during your stay with us. We will definitely look into this and rectify it for future.

Kind Regards,
Shontinelle Daji
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

The hotel is in the perfect location. The rooms were large, modern and clean. All staff were very friendly and parking was available nearby. Unfortunately, the noise coming from outside the room was just terrible. We were only able to sleep a few hours each night. We expected some noise being central Melbourne city but the amount was incredible. I wouldn't stay here again, unless they installed some sound proof windows and walls!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shontinelle d, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge City Square Motel, responded to this review, March 10, 2015
Thank you for posting a review on Trip Advisor. It is really disappointing hear about some issues during your stay with us. We will definitely look into this and rectify it for future.

Kind Regards,
Shontinelle Daji
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

I was so happy when staying at this hotel. Not only did I feel I got a really good bargin in accomadation, I was comfortable, it was clean, it was in a great location and staff were very friendly and helpful. The place feel more like a 4 star hotel. Will definitley be recomending it to my friends and staying again.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade into the deluxe room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fatpug1117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shontinelle d, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge City Square Motel, responded to this review, March 10, 2015
Thank you for your review of your stay with us. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed staying with us and had wonderful time in the CBD.
We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards,
Shontinelle Daji
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
#120 of 157 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 stars 1,028 reviews
Central Business District
BreakFree on Collins
BreakFree on Collins
#106 of 157 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 stars 810 reviews
Central Business District
Ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments
Central Business District
Metro Apartments on Bank Place
Metro Apartments on Bank Place
#116 of 157 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 stars 266 reviews
Central Business District
City Centre Budget Hotel
City Centre Budget Hotel
#104 of 157 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 stars 184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge City Square Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge City Square Motel

Property: Econo Lodge City Square Motel
Address: 67 Swanston St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly The City Square Motel)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #119 of 157 Hotels in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Econo Lodge City Square Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The City Square Motel. Located in the heart of Melbourne. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Econo Lodge City Square Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The City Square Hotel Melbourne
City Square Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing