We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“The worst place I have ever encountered” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of City Square Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
City Square Motel
Ranked #117 of 156 Hotels in Melbourne
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The worst place I have ever encountered”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014

We checked in at 9pm when we got to our room the internal light wouldn't turn on and when it finally turned on it power surged from completely off to on for 5minutes before working, the power point box had a 20cent piece size hole in it with wires exposed, with hubby being an electrician this is not safe. The air con was covered in dust. I am fully aware you get what you pay for in room look and amenities however safety in this hotel is dangerous. The maintenance man would accused us of damaging the power point and refused to speak to me even though the booking was in my name. When asking to be moved to another room for the night whilst it gets fixed tomorrow they advised the last room was taken by a walk in, the refused to refund out money so we could stay somewhere else and refused to have the manager contact us. Do yourself a favour and stay somewhere else

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lovetravel2723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shontinelle d, Guest Relations Manager at City Square Motel, responded to this review, March 10, 2015
Thank you for posting a review on Trip Advisor. It is really disappointing hear about some issues during your stay with us. We will definitely look into this and rectify it for future.

Kind Regards,
Shontinelle Daji
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    87
    30
    13
    5
See reviews for
28
45
36
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014

The hotel is in the perfect location. The rooms were large, modern and clean. All staff were very friendly and parking was available nearby. Unfortunately, the noise coming from outside the room was just terrible. We were only able to sleep a few hours each night. We expected some noise being central Melbourne city but the amount was incredible. I wouldn't stay here again, unless they installed some sound proof windows and walls!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shontinelle d, Guest Relations Manager at City Square Motel, responded to this review, March 10, 2015
Thank you for posting a review on Trip Advisor. It is really disappointing hear about some issues during your stay with us. We will definitely look into this and rectify it for future.

Kind Regards,
Shontinelle Daji
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2014

I was so happy when staying at this hotel. Not only did I feel I got a really good bargin in accomadation, I was comfortable, it was clean, it was in a great location and staff were very friendly and helpful. The place feel more like a 4 star hotel. Will definitley be recomending it to my friends and staying again.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade into the deluxe room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fatpug1117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shontinelle d, Guest Relations Manager at City Square Motel, responded to this review, March 10, 2015
Thank you for your review of your stay with us. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed staying with us and had wonderful time in the CBD.
We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards,
Shontinelle Daji
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights only. with my husband. we had a comfortable time. nice place. no complaints. will surely visit again next time. my husband loved the place more. he is planning for next stay. clean good environment.very comfortable.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Gracie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shontinelle d, Guest Relations Manager at City Square Motel, responded to this review, March 10, 2015
Thank you for your review of your stay with us. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed staying with us and had wonderful time in the CBD.
We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards,
Shontinelle Daji
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

Ok. It's not luxurious but the staff are friendly, the beds comfy and our bathroom (while a bit old) was spotless. Yes, the trams rumble by, and yes, you can hear the street buskers -- it's in the dead centre of downtown Melbourne people! Personally, my kids and I loved being a 5 minute walk from everything - restaurants, shopping and street life.
A total bargain and we will definitely return.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Stressmagnet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2014

Stayed here for one night with a friend. Rooms are well equipped, though the furnishings are starting to look tired. The bathroom in particular needs a spruce up as paint is peeling etc. Lights are a bit harsh as they are fluro bulbs.

However it was clean, and relatively quiet given it is right on Swanston Street. The staff at reception desk were all friendly and accommodating.

I booked an advanced rate and got a good deal, though the other hotel I stayed in in Melbourne was only $5 more per night and far, far superior. I only changed as I extended my stay and the other hotel was full. If you are looking at clean and tidy accommodation, then this is your place. If you are looking for ambience or intend to stay in your hotel room a lot, then I would say you shop around for other alternatives.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wellingtondweller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2014

I stayed here two nights and enjoyed my stay.

The location is the best you are going to get, diagonally opposite Town Hall (the location of my conference).

My room was large, clean and very quiet. Toiletries were standard, bathroom good.

It is not a place to hang out, with no foyer or other amenities like that, but who needs that when the location is as it is.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alexhamiltonaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Naughtons Parkville Hotel
Naughtons Parkville Hotel
#113 of 156 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Central Business District
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
#111 of 156 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,089 reviews
Central Business District
BreakFree on Collins
BreakFree on Collins
#103 of 156 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments
Central Business District
Causeway Inn On The Mall
Causeway Inn On The Mall
#99 of 156 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
Central Business District
Ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Square Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Square Motel

Property: City Square Motel
Address: 67 Swanston St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #117 of 156 Hotels in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — City Square Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The City Square motel is located in the heart of Melbourne on Swanston Street directly opposite the city square, surrounded by theatres, cafes, restaurants and department stores. A short walk to Flinders Street station, Federation Square, Crown Casino, MCG, Rod Laver Arena and the Etihad Stadium. This Melbourne CBD accommodation is the perfect place to stay for business or leisure, offering comfortable, clean and affordable accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your City Square Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The City Square Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing