We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great location but way too noisy” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge City Square Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Econo Lodge City Square Motel
Ranked #121 of 157 Hotels in Melbourne
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great location but way too noisy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

The hotel is in the perfect location. The rooms were large, modern and clean. All staff were very friendly and parking was available nearby. Unfortunately, the noise coming from outside the room was just terrible. We were only able to sleep a few hours each night. We expected some noise being central Melbourne city but the amount was incredible. I wouldn't stay here again, unless they installed some sound proof windows and walls!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shontinelle d, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge City Square Motel, responded to this review, March 10, 2015
Thank you for posting a review on Trip Advisor. It is really disappointing hear about some issues during your stay with us. We will definitely look into this and rectify it for future.

Kind Regards,
Shontinelle Daji
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    79
    28
    12
    5
See reviews for
21
42
33
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

I was so happy when staying at this hotel. Not only did I feel I got a really good bargin in accomadation, I was comfortable, it was clean, it was in a great location and staff were very friendly and helpful. The place feel more like a 4 star hotel. Will definitley be recomending it to my friends and staying again.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade into the deluxe room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fatpug1117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shontinelle d, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge City Square Motel, responded to this review, March 10, 2015
Thank you for your review of your stay with us. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed staying with us and had wonderful time in the CBD.
We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards,
Shontinelle Daji
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights only. with my husband. we had a comfortable time. nice place. no complaints. will surely visit again next time. my husband loved the place more. he is planning for next stay. clean good environment.very comfortable.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Gracie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shontinelle d, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge City Square Motel, responded to this review, March 10, 2015
Thank you for your review of your stay with us. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed staying with us and had wonderful time in the CBD.
We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards,
Shontinelle Daji
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

Ok. It's not luxurious but the staff are friendly, the beds comfy and our bathroom (while a bit old) was spotless. Yes, the trams rumble by, and yes, you can hear the street buskers -- it's in the dead centre of downtown Melbourne people! Personally, my kids and I loved being a 5 minute walk from everything - restaurants, shopping and street life.
A total bargain and we will definitely return.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Stressmagnet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

Stayed here for one night with a friend. Rooms are well equipped, though the furnishings are starting to look tired. The bathroom in particular needs a spruce up as paint is peeling etc. Lights are a bit harsh as they are fluro bulbs.

However it was clean, and relatively quiet given it is right on Swanston Street. The staff at reception desk were all friendly and accommodating.

I booked an advanced rate and got a good deal, though the other hotel I stayed in in Melbourne was only $5 more per night and far, far superior. I only changed as I extended my stay and the other hotel was full. If you are looking at clean and tidy accommodation, then this is your place. If you are looking for ambience or intend to stay in your hotel room a lot, then I would say you shop around for other alternatives.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wellingtondweller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

I stayed here two nights and enjoyed my stay.

The location is the best you are going to get, diagonally opposite Town Hall (the location of my conference).

My room was large, clean and very quiet. Toiletries were standard, bathroom good.

It is not a place to hang out, with no foyer or other amenities like that, but who needs that when the location is as it is.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alexhamiltonaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyoto, Japan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

I stayed there in September with couple of my friends and we did had to struggle to find this place as this is hided among giant buildings and chances are that you be circling it and still would be looking for it. But luckily one of my friends had the sense to call the desk and they helped us reach the motel safely. The location is the one thing that you can’t ignore when it comes to a stay and this particular takes credit in that area since its located right in the center of Swanston street. The rooms are nice and decent for a short stay and all the basic amenities are provided

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Nasir M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
#112 of 157 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 stars 1,033 reviews
Central Business District
BreakFree on Collins
BreakFree on Collins
#98 of 157 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 stars 881 reviews
Central Business District
Ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
City Centre Budget Hotel
City Centre Budget Hotel
#107 of 157 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 stars 188 reviews
Central Business District
Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments
Central Business District
Metro Apartments on Bank Place
Metro Apartments on Bank Place
#115 of 157 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 stars 274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge City Square Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge City Square Motel

Property: Econo Lodge City Square Motel
Address: 67 Swanston St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly The City Square Motel)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #121 of 157 Hotels in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Econo Lodge City Square Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The City Square Motel. Located in the heart of Melbourne. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Econo Lodge City Square Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The City Square Hotel Melbourne
City Square Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing