We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good”
Review of City Square Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
City Square Motel
Ranked #117 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“good”
Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights only. with my husband. we had a comfortable time. nice place. no complaints. will surely visit again next time. my husband loved the place more. he is planning for next stay. clean good environment.very comfortable.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Gracie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shontinelle d, Guest Relations Manager at City Square Motel, responded to this review, March 10, 2015
Thank you for your review of your stay with us. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed staying with us and had wonderful time in the CBD.
We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards,
Shontinelle Daji
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    94
    30
    13
    5
See reviews for
32
47
37
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

Ok. It's not luxurious but the staff are friendly, the beds comfy and our bathroom (while a bit old) was spotless. Yes, the trams rumble by, and yes, you can hear the street buskers -- it's in the dead centre of downtown Melbourne people! Personally, my kids and I loved being a 5 minute walk from everything - restaurants, shopping and street life.
A total bargain and we will definitely return.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Stressmagnet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2014

Stayed here for one night with a friend. Rooms are well equipped, though the furnishings are starting to look tired. The bathroom in particular needs a spruce up as paint is peeling etc. Lights are a bit harsh as they are fluro bulbs.

However it was clean, and relatively quiet given it is right on Swanston Street. The staff at reception desk were all friendly and accommodating.

I booked an advanced rate and got a good deal, though the other hotel I stayed in in Melbourne was only $5 more per night and far, far superior. I only changed as I extended my stay and the other hotel was full. If you are looking at clean and tidy accommodation, then this is your place. If you are looking for ambience or intend to stay in your hotel room a lot, then I would say you shop around for other alternatives.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wellingtondweller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2014

I stayed here two nights and enjoyed my stay.

The location is the best you are going to get, diagonally opposite Town Hall (the location of my conference).

My room was large, clean and very quiet. Toiletries were standard, bathroom good.

It is not a place to hang out, with no foyer or other amenities like that, but who needs that when the location is as it is.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alexhamiltonaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyoto, Japan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 18, 2013

I stayed there in September with couple of my friends and we did had to struggle to find this place as this is hided among giant buildings and chances are that you be circling it and still would be looking for it. But luckily one of my friends had the sense to call the desk and they helped us reach the motel safely. The location is the one thing that you can’t ignore when it comes to a stay and this particular takes credit in that area since its located right in the center of Swanston street. The rooms are nice and decent for a short stay and all the basic amenities are provided

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Nasir M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

On the famous busy Swanston street. You will never go hungry. Stayed here because it was walking distance to Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG) for Melbourne Marathon. Requested for higher floors and room facing the back. The room was big enough for 2 with luggage consisting a queen size bed & sofa bed. The bath tub might be old & chipping but this wasn't a romantic holiday anyway. However, the hot & cold faucet for the shower was really tricky. When night came and 2 light sleepers, on the highest 6th floor was good with no tram noise however weekend party-goers walking along the back alley and shouting profanities didn't really give us a peaceful sleep.

Room Tip: Higher floors and facing the back away from tram noise however partygoers likes to venture on back a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank purrjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

Fantastic city location! Right near Flinders st station. Hidden behind a money exchange place so we did have some trouble finding it! Very safe and secure! Friendly staff. Discount parking close by. Rooms neat and tidy budget accommodation. Bathrooms need an upgrade. The porcelain on the bath was badly chipped off. Need new heaters also- very old. Service was great- easy to book via email. Unfortunately my iPhone charger went missing. It was left there with my sisters phone charger in the same power point and oddly enough, the maids found her charger but not my iPhone one... Definitely recommend you stay here- just don't leave your iPhone charger behind!!! ;)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lyndell_f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
#112 of 159 in Melbourne
1,150 reviews
Central Business District
BreakFree on Collins
BreakFree on Collins
#110 of 159 in Melbourne
1,599 reviews
Central Business District
Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
YTI Garden Hotel
YTI Garden Hotel
#138 of 159 in Melbourne
237 reviews
Central Business District
Metro Apartments on Bank Place
Metro Apartments on Bank Place
#109 of 159 in Melbourne
380 reviews
Central Business District
City Centre Budget Hotel
City Centre Budget Hotel
#118 of 159 in Melbourne
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Square Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Square Motel

Property: City Square Motel
Address: 67 Swanston St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #117 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — City Square Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The City Square motel is located in the heart of Melbourne on Swanston Street directly opposite the city square, surrounded by theatres, cafes, restaurants and department stores. A short walk to Flinders Street station, Federation Square, Crown Casino, MCG, Rod Laver Arena and the Etihad Stadium. This Melbourne CBD accommodation is the perfect place to stay for business or leisure, offering comfortable, clean and affordable accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your City Square Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The City Square Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing