We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but never again”
Review of City Square Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
City Square Motel
Ranked #115 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great location but never again”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

The location is unbeatable. The price is so affordable but still not worth what you get. The rooms are unloved and unclean and in desperate need of updating and maintenance. The air conditioner was pointless and kept us up all night with its shocking noise. The bed and furnishings were less than average. The staff are almost never around and the check in "gentleman" was rude, condescending and sarcastic. Tough situation when there are noisy guests in the middle of the night or other issues. Wouldn't even consider this place again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mack1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    98
    30
    13
    5
See reviews for
36
47
41
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013

This budget motel is in a very central locaion in the CBD & is in waking distance to most Melbourne highlights.
The rooms are large but very basic, the bathroom smelt funny & wasn't the cleanest i've been in but for the price I really couldn't complain.

The noise from the trams on Swanston St were a little annoying late at night (as was the pedestrian noise). I personally wouldn't stay there again unless I'm in Melb just for 1 night & was alone.
Great for the budget traveller/backpacker.

Room Tip: Stay up as high as possible to minimise the tram noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jdelor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King Island, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

after staying on my last visit to melbourne at a budget hotel on spencer street ,i was not expecting much from the city square motel.iwas wrong ,the room was small but the room was spotless the toilet and shower area was sparkling clean and the bed was super comfortable.check in and out was quick and easy and the location is close to everything you could possibly need.if you a looking for a basic motel room then you should consider this motel .there is some motels in melbourne that are way below standard ,this is not one of them

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GrumpyOldFella1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

I'm writing this while I'm in my hotel room. First, there is no one at the reception past 10 p.m. so it is impossible to address any issues after staff leaves for the night. My room isn't clean. I found food from the previous occupant in the mini-fridge and there is no duvet cover on the duvet. The pillows are awful-all three of them are flat, yet very lumpy. I have had to abandon them entirely and will improvise with a towel and sweatshirt. Perhaps, the worst offense in this room is that the A/c unit and the mini-fridge make loud clicking noises. I unplugged the frige, but there is no such option for the A/c (even in the off state, it makes noises). I fear sleep will be impossible tonight! If only there was someone on staff to address these issues.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mel727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
208 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

I stay at this hotel every time I go to Melbourne as it's exactly (and all) I need. A block from Flinders St Stn and St Paul's Cathedral, and 1 1/2 blocks from Bourke St Mall. I attended a concert at the Victorian Arts Centre which is walking distance across Prices Bridge. I usually get upgraded to a room looking over Swanston St - you get some late-night chat from the cafes across the road, but with the double-glazed windows and aircon/heater on, you barely hear it enough to disturb sleep. The aircon is self-controlled and easy to operate - not like the modern switches which, in other hotels, don't change temperature at all. I was in 638 which has a queen and single, with a dressing area leading to the bathroom. Shower was over bath but at least the taps were outside the bath area, alongside the sink, so easy to adjust temperature. The bath was a bit chipped, but this is an old hotel (and I only used the shower anyway), so it didn't bother me. Reception is just a doorway in from the street so quite misleading - the rooms are quite large. Think this used to be a Forte hotel back in the day as the lift plaques indicate. You are supplied with a toaster, jug, fridge and microwave and tea making facilities and bread/jams are provided for breakfast. Not much, but you can eat more anywhere outside the door. I have always found the staff wonderful, from booking to checkout!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eillamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Augusta, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Location Location Location. Great Value, rooms were clean & comfortable. Customer Service was excellent & we were smack bang in the middle of Melbourne. Short walk to everywhere, Trams stop directly out the front door & Flinders Street station not even 1 block away.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mandy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2012

When first walking in, it looks like a reception for a hostel. Once up the lift, however, the rooms are good and the building is solid. The staff is very helpful and we really enjoyed our stay.

Right at Swansons and Flinders, it is very close to St. Paul's and Federation Square. This is the location of Stop #2 of the Free Shuttle service around town. I also met my transport for the Great Ocean Road tour here.

Overall, I recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gorper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
#114 of 160 in Melbourne
1,170 reviews
Central Business District
BreakFree on Collins
BreakFree on Collins
#112 of 160 in Melbourne
1,696 reviews
Central Business District
Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
City Centre Budget Hotel
City Centre Budget Hotel
#118 of 160 in Melbourne
208 reviews
Central Business District
Metro Apartments on Bank Place
Metro Apartments on Bank Place
#111 of 160 in Melbourne
424 reviews
Central Business District
Flinders Landing Apartments
Flinders Landing Apartments
#107 of 160 in Melbourne
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Square Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Square Motel

Property: City Square Motel
Address: 67 Swanston St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — City Square Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The City Square motel is located in the heart of Melbourne on Swanston Street directly opposite the city square, surrounded by theatres, cafes, restaurants and department stores. A short walk to Flinders Street station, Federation Square, Crown Casino, MCG, Rod Laver Arena and the Etihad Stadium. This Melbourne CBD accommodation is the perfect place to stay for business or leisure, offering comfortable, clean and affordable accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your City Square Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The City Square Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing