We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Central Location for the Budget Traveller” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Econo Lodge City Square Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Econo Lodge City Square Motel
Ranked #122 of 157 Hotels in Melbourne
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Central Location for the Budget Traveller”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

This budget motel is in a very central locaion in the CBD & is in waking distance to most Melbourne highlights.
The rooms are large but very basic, the bathroom smelt funny & wasn't the cleanest i've been in but for the price I really couldn't complain.

The noise from the trams on Swanston St were a little annoying late at night (as was the pedestrian noise). I personally wouldn't stay there again unless I'm in Melb just for 1 night & was alone.
Great for the budget traveller/backpacker.

Room Tip: Stay up as high as possible to minimise the tram noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jdelor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    84
    29
    13
    5
See reviews for
25
43
33
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
King Island, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

after staying on my last visit to melbourne at a budget hotel on spencer street ,i was not expecting much from the city square motel.iwas wrong ,the room was small but the room was spotless the toilet and shower area was sparkling clean and the bed was super comfortable.check in and out was quick and easy and the location is close to everything you could possibly need.if you a looking for a basic motel room then you should consider this motel .there is some motels in melbourne that are way below standard ,this is not one of them

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GrumpyOldFella1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

I'm writing this while I'm in my hotel room. First, there is no one at the reception past 10 p.m. so it is impossible to address any issues after staff leaves for the night. My room isn't clean. I found food from the previous occupant in the mini-fridge and there is no duvet cover on the duvet. The pillows are awful-all three of them are flat, yet very lumpy. I have had to abandon them entirely and will improvise with a towel and sweatshirt. Perhaps, the worst offense in this room is that the A/c unit and the mini-fridge make loud clicking noises. I unplugged the frige, but there is no such option for the A/c (even in the off state, it makes noises). I fear sleep will be impossible tonight! If only there was someone on staff to address these issues.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mel727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
189 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

I stay at this hotel every time I go to Melbourne as it's exactly (and all) I need. A block from Flinders St Stn and St Paul's Cathedral, and 1 1/2 blocks from Bourke St Mall. I attended a concert at the Victorian Arts Centre which is walking distance across Prices Bridge. I usually get upgraded to a room looking over Swanston St - you get some late-night chat from the cafes across the road, but with the double-glazed windows and aircon/heater on, you barely hear it enough to disturb sleep. The aircon is self-controlled and easy to operate - not like the modern switches which, in other hotels, don't change temperature at all. I was in 638 which has a queen and single, with a dressing area leading to the bathroom. Shower was over bath but at least the taps were outside the bath area, alongside the sink, so easy to adjust temperature. The bath was a bit chipped, but this is an old hotel (and I only used the shower anyway), so it didn't bother me. Reception is just a doorway in from the street so quite misleading - the rooms are quite large. Think this used to be a Forte hotel back in the day as the lift plaques indicate. You are supplied with a toaster, jug, fridge and microwave and tea making facilities and bread/jams are provided for breakfast. Not much, but you can eat more anywhere outside the door. I have always found the staff wonderful, from booking to checkout!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eillamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Augusta, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

Location Location Location. Great Value, rooms were clean & comfortable. Customer Service was excellent & we were smack bang in the middle of Melbourne. Short walk to everywhere, Trams stop directly out the front door & Flinders Street station not even 1 block away.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mandy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
113 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012

When first walking in, it looks like a reception for a hostel. Once up the lift, however, the rooms are good and the building is solid. The staff is very helpful and we really enjoyed our stay.

Right at Swansons and Flinders, it is very close to St. Paul's and Federation Square. This is the location of Stop #2 of the Free Shuttle service around town. I also met my transport for the Great Ocean Road tour here.

Overall, I recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gorper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2012

My husband and I stayed here with our teenage daughter for a couple of nights. The room we had was clean and comfortable and the hotel was close to restaurants and inner city attractions. The manager was helpful and gave us some good tips on local amenities.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rose G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
#109 of 157 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,062 reviews
Central Business District
Naughtons Parkville Hotel
Naughtons Parkville Hotel
#113 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
Central Business District
Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
BreakFree on Collins
BreakFree on Collins
#103 of 157 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,114 reviews
Central Business District
Ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel
Adara East Melbourne
#110 of 157 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge City Square Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge City Square Motel

Property: Econo Lodge City Square Motel
Address: 67 Swanston St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly The City Square Motel)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #122 of 157 Hotels in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Econo Lodge City Square Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The City Square Motel. Located in the heart of Melbourne. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Econo Lodge City Square Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The City Square Hotel Melbourne
City Square Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing