We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“City centre location - hidden gem” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of City Square Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
City Square Motel
Ranked #117 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
191 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“City centre location - hidden gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

I stay at this hotel every time I go to Melbourne as it's exactly (and all) I need. A block from Flinders St Stn and St Paul's Cathedral, and 1 1/2 blocks from Bourke St Mall. I attended a concert at the Victorian Arts Centre which is walking distance across Prices Bridge. I usually get upgraded to a room looking over Swanston St - you get some late-night chat from the cafes across the road, but with the double-glazed windows and aircon/heater on, you barely hear it enough to disturb sleep. The aircon is self-controlled and easy to operate - not like the modern switches which, in other hotels, don't change temperature at all. I was in 638 which has a queen and single, with a dressing area leading to the bathroom. Shower was over bath but at least the taps were outside the bath area, alongside the sink, so easy to adjust temperature. The bath was a bit chipped, but this is an old hotel (and I only used the shower anyway), so it didn't bother me. Reception is just a doorway in from the street so quite misleading - the rooms are quite large. Think this used to be a Forte hotel back in the day as the lift plaques indicate. You are supplied with a toaster, jug, fridge and microwave and tea making facilities and bread/jams are provided for breakfast. Not much, but you can eat more anywhere outside the door. I have always found the staff wonderful, from booking to checkout!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eillamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    89
    30
    13
    5
See reviews for
29
45
37
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Port Augusta, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

Location Location Location. Great Value, rooms were clean & comfortable. Customer Service was excellent & we were smack bang in the middle of Melbourne. Short walk to everywhere, Trams stop directly out the front door & Flinders Street station not even 1 block away.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mandy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
113 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012

When first walking in, it looks like a reception for a hostel. Once up the lift, however, the rooms are good and the building is solid. The staff is very helpful and we really enjoyed our stay.

Right at Swansons and Flinders, it is very close to St. Paul's and Federation Square. This is the location of Stop #2 of the Free Shuttle service around town. I also met my transport for the Great Ocean Road tour here.

Overall, I recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gorper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2012

My husband and I stayed here with our teenage daughter for a couple of nights. The room we had was clean and comfortable and the hotel was close to restaurants and inner city attractions. The manager was helpful and gave us some good tips on local amenities.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rose G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

You cannot beat this hotel for location and price. Hotel staff are friendly. Room was small and outdated, but clean. My room was right outside the lift, so I suggest if you decide to book a room here, to request one away from the lift.

Room Tip: As I said, a room away from the lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank balijulia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

I stayed at the this hotel 15 years ago & was pleasantly surprised on this current stay that some of the rooms have been renovated (they certainly needed it) We were over for a footy final & with accom at a premium - it was nice to still find somewhere that wasn't going to "break the bank". Close to everything - this is a brilliant location especially if you are not spending much time in yur room as the window view hasn't changed...a brick wall!!
Rooms were spotless & had everything we needed...bed was comfy & the shower was large & great pressure/hot water. We will be back :)

Room Tip: We had a room at the back of the hotel & it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eurockAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rutherglen, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

We have stayed here a number of times and are very pleased with every thing it has to offer close to the railway station as we travel by train usually and we can leave our bags there for the day so that we do't have to carry them around all day untill it is time for the train.
Tha staff are very nice and helpfull rooms clean and comfy and close to eatery places. Thank you.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Teresa43_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Parkville
Naughtons Parkville Hotel
Naughtons Parkville Hotel
#112 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
Central Business District
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
#113 of 158 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,107 reviews
Central Business District
BreakFree on Collins
BreakFree on Collins
#105 of 158 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments
Central Business District
Ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel
Central Business District
Metro Apartments on Bank Place
Metro Apartments on Bank Place
#114 of 158 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Square Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Square Motel

Property: City Square Motel
Address: 67 Swanston St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Best Value Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — City Square Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The City Square motel is located in the heart of Melbourne on Swanston Street directly opposite the city square, surrounded by theatres, cafes, restaurants and department stores. A short walk to Flinders Street station, Federation Square, Crown Casino, MCG, Rod Laver Arena and the Etihad Stadium. This Melbourne CBD accommodation is the perfect place to stay for business or leisure, offering comfortable, clean and affordable accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your City Square Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The City Square Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing