We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value close to downtown Melbourne”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Miami Hotel Melbourne
Ranked #69 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 22, 2012

The prices at the Miami Hotel are very fair. The rooms are on the small side, but the bathrooms are very nicely outfitted. We also found the staff to be very friendly, helpful, and informative. Like most hotels in Australia, there is no free Internet, but the Rubicon Cafe a 5-minute walk away offers good food and free Internet.

Room Tip: There are rooms available on the ground floor.
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank yekatman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (560)
There are newer reviews for Miami Hotel Melbourne
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

412 - 418 of 560 reviews

Reviewed January 17, 2012

Despite its odd choice of a name, Miami Hotel is a well-priced, budget hotel with the advantage of being quite close to the city and the Queen Victoria Markets. Water pressure in the shower was good, staff were helpful and the place was not noisy like a backpackers.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NusantaraRover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2012

Stayed here with my girlfriend for 3 nights then after a night away on the great ocean road a further 4 nights. The first 3 night were in a large 6 person room & other 4 nights were in a standard double room. Both rooms were very similar, generally clean and had all the standard things you require/expect. I did think the decor was looking a little tired but given the price and it's location we couldn't complain.
Reception staff were always helpful and friendly, tram stops just around the corner along with some small shops/supermarkets/restaurants.
We used the secured parking , $5 a day.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EnglishMonkey2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2012

nothing much to say, good price and clean room, small room but comfortable bed, we arrived late and left early next morning so it was ok, bit far from city centre was good place for the reasonable price I paid.

Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
1  Thank sami7986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2012

Great location, clean and very good value for money.
If you are looking for a luxurious hotel that is going to pamper your every needs then this is not the place for you. A quick search online will underscore the dearth of value accommodation in Melbourne.
So, this is probably one of the best options to stay in Melbourne if you are on a budget.

Location :
- Near perfect. This is not bang in the middle of CBD but on its fringes within walking distance to it.
- Queen Victoria market is within 10 minutes walk from this place
- Tram stops on Route 35 (free tourist circle tram) also within 10 minutes walk
- Skybus hotel drop-off service includes this hotel. Although Skybus hotel drop off officially ceases at 10.30pm, we had reached at 10.45 and they were generous enough to drop us off. Even though it was just me and my wife. So we basically had the whole bus to ourselves.
- Quiet neighborhood

Service & Facilities :
- They have offstreet parking available for 5AUD/night. There is no other hotel that I could find in the same category which provides parking at these rates. Awesome. I did see several people parking overnight on the street in front of the hotel for free as well
- Reception is manned 24hrs a day and very efficient
- No lift : Can be an issue if you have heavy luggage to haul up. I did, but I was already aware of it and didnt have an issue since I was definitely getting what I had paid for.
- Breakfast available : basic one for 6AUD & bigger one for 9AUD (never tried it since QV market was so close)
- Vending machine on site
- I didnt not have an Aussie electrical adapter and was provided one for a refundable deposit of 10AUD
- They have maps of the area in the reception and was able to provide good friendly advice.

Rooms:
- Small and the basic ones have no attached baths. The superior rooms basically have an attached bath but the size is small.
- But the rooms are clean with comfy beds with clean towels. Good flow of both hot and cold water.
- Thats what counts. How much time are you gonna spend in the room anyways since this is basically a place where you keep your luggage and come to bunk at nights

Room Tip: Superior rooms have toilets. Try to get 1st floor if available as this place doesnt have elevator
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SauravDe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2012

About $AU55 taxi ride away from the airport and is a corner away from the tram stop that takes you into the city. Stayed in a room with double bed and bunk bed. Suitable for families.

Walking into the city is possible, but I found that it is better to get a daily metro pass to save the energy for shopping!
There is no elevator, the bunk bed is creaky and wobbles, bathroom door doesn't lock and the room is the size of a small bedroom but at the price you're paying you really shouldn't expect luxury! Room and bathroom is clean, location safe, and staff friendly enough and helpful in answering questions.
So I think it's a very good option for the budget conscious but if you can spare that extra money I'd stay closer to the city as it really just saves that extra hassle and the decor isn't that fancy.
But I definitely recommend this as a budget hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snifter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2011

The hotel location is excellent. However, the service provided by the staffs are very poor. The housekeepers are annoying and the front desk girl is very unfriendly. I won't stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kentutwangi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Chapel Street
Hotel Claremont
Hotel Claremont
#111 of 160 in Melbourne
380 reviews
Central Business District
City Centre Budget Hotel
City Centre Budget Hotel
#118 of 160 in Melbourne
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
Central Business District
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
#116 of 160 in Melbourne
1,183 reviews
Central Business District
ibis Melbourne Hotel and Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Miami Hotel Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miami Hotel Melbourne

Address: 13 Hawke St, Melbourne, Victoria 3003, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Melbourne
#59 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#61 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#68 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $57 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Miami Hotel Melbourne 3.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Miami Hotel Melbourne is located on the Northern fringe of the city, close to Etihad Stadium, Docklands, Queen Victoria Market, public transport and everyday conveniences, it's the perfect base for travelers on a budget. As a 3.5 Star family operated property, Miami Hotel offers personal, friendly service and value for money.Winner of the 2006 Australian Tourism Award for Excellence in Standard accommodation, the Miami Hotel offers award winning service at a bargain price, and without skimping on facilities.Please note: This property has rooms located on the Ground, First and Second floors of the building and does not have a lift. Please request in the comments section if you require a Ground floor room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Miami Hotel Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miami Motel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing