We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best tour i've got experience in my life.”

Winebus Winery Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
$100.46*
and up
Yarra Valley Winery Tour from Melbourne Including Lunch and Yarra Valley...
Ranked #13 of 93 Food & Drink in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The moment you step on a Winebus(R) tour you'll know you're in for a good time. We're not wine snobs and we're not into cross-country cruisin' and boozin'. We guarantee a relaxed day of sampling the magnificent wines of the Yarra Valley. We know where the vintages are. Your Winebus(R) tour guide won't bore you to tears with statistics, but they will share their knowledge of wine, especially the cool climate wines of Australia's Yarra Valley. You'll be visiting four wineries and enjoy a superb restaurant gourmet lunch. Chocolate tastings at Yarra Valley Chocolaterie. Your tour guide will take you on a winery tour of Domaine Chandon, showing you how the bubbles get inside a bottle of bubbly.
Singapore, null, Singapore
1 review
“The best tour i've got experience in my life.”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Thanks for taking care of us.Paul is a awesome guide. We made great memory in Melbourne. Hope to see you again!
From Sophie Jung and Andrew Ann.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hye Jung J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    295
    24
    2
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great fun, great company, great wine :-)”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

We had a fantastic day out with Paul on the Winebus.
You don't have to be a wine snob, connoisseur or whatever to enjoy this trip, it's for people that enjoy wine and are interested in the production process.
It's highly enjoyable plus highly informative too.
The trips can be small and intimate, there were 5 of us when we went.
Paul is an amazing host and keeps up a great and witty commentary throughout the day.
We went to 4 vineyards on our trip. The highlights for us were the amazing Chandon estate at the start of the tour ( try the sparkling shiraz, it really is Christmas in a glass, we bought a couple of bottles home to the UK for our rather colder Christmas ).
Plus we really enjoyed the lovely smaller boutique winery at Maddens Rise with the lovely Emma.
We visited two other great vineyards too and also included in the tour price is a really good lunch with wine at one of the vineyards.
And the wine, well it was marvellous, we tasted so many during the day, there were even nice Chardonnays :-) Plus some cider & perry at one vineyard too.
The bus is great and comfortable and if you ask Paul nicely he may even play some Thin Lizzy for you on the way back.
A great day out, thanks Paul :-)

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank LordVelcro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Down, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice day out”
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Paul's tour was recommended to me by another wine tour operator who wasn't operating on the day we wanted to go. It was a relaxed informative day, where we learnt some information about the Australian wine industry that we hadn't heard on previous wine tours in Australia. My husband also appreciated some of Paul's cheesy jokes (maybe it was a bloke thing?!?).

The 915am start was a respectable time to get started on your holidays and as the Yarra Valley is short drive (45-60mins) it wasn't long before we got started on the wine tasting. Paul's choice of wineries was pretty good in that they were all in close proximity to each other so you don't lose time travelling across the region, but if you are looking for a day of cellar door/smaller wineries, this might not be the tour for you as many of the wineries covered were of reasonable size. We covered 4 wineries - starting with Chandon, beating the crowds by hitting this first thing on the tour (many of the tours seem to close with this one). Don't expect to get much included in your tour price here - however that is Chandon's issue, not Paul's. You can however purchase more tastings for a reasonable $5.

Lunch at Oakridge was included, which felt like a good value - it's a beautiful venue for both tasting and lunch, and Oakridge was very generous with the number of wines you get to taste. Punt Hill was also very friendly and generous with their wine & cider tasting. Soumah was the least well known of the 4 and produce some interesting wines from grapes that are less common in the region - perhaps one to watch for the future, and offers great insight to the range of grapes that producers could use. Personally I felt the tour finished a little early and I would have liked one more small winery included, however I'm sure that this was designed to enable a return to Melbourne before the peak hour traffic started.

Personally I was looking for an experience of smaller, lesser well known wineries but these tours (if they exist from Melbourne) seem to be very hard to find - perhaps one of the other wine regions around Melbourne (like Mornington Peninsula) might be better for that type of experience. However if you are looking for an easy day out in the Yarra Valley escorted from Melbourne, where you can visit some of the better known wineries, then this tour can be highly recommended.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank bronsters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
77 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A great trip with Paul”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Completely worth the price of admission! Paul was prompt, friendly, and answered all questions on our trip to and from the wineries.

Chandon is a beautiful place to visit, and the lunch included on the trip was fantastic. Alone it probably would cost $90 for 2 at a restaurant back in the city.

Paul does a great job of mixing up the sites. One winery we visited had great reds, another specialized in whites, another was more a cider producer. You get a pretty well-rounded experience out of it.

Highly recommend!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank EETravelfortwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A relaxing, informative fun day.”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Our tour leader, Paul, was the perfect host. He looked after each person in a quiet,efficient manner. He has a good gentle sense of humor together with a detailed knowledge of wine, wine making and the history of the Yarra Valley.The pace of the day was just right - four wineries with plenty of tastings and a quality lunch. The way staff at the vineyards reacted to him and allowed him to help serve us showed the respect that they have for him. Would not change anything in his offering. If you are going on a wine tour, this is the one!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank FossilGVGS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Winebus Winery Tours also viewed

 

Been to Winebus Winery Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing