We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“service plus!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lygon Lodge Carlton

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lygon Lodge Carlton
Ranked #107 of 157 Hotels in Melbourne
Maleny, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“service plus!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for two days - we were early and needed to store some excess baggage. The desk clerk said they could look after them whilst we stayed over in another part of town. We arrived back the next day (early again!) and we were afforded an early check in ! The staff are fantastic and very helpful if you need advice on local restaurants or attractions. Our room was clean,tidy,all good - ( the TV was a bit small is my only niggle )

Room Tip: Say "Hi" to Bob - you might get a coffee!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gypsytraveller65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    46
    13
    6
    8
See reviews for
14
40
10
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

I had changed from staying in a city hotel for work and tried the Lygon Lodge. Best decision. Bob and the team look after you. great rooms, free car parking and a 24hr reception. I can exercise at Carlton Gardens, breaky anywhere along Lygon and back to a spacious, comfy room. Clean bathroom and I was upgraded to a room with a kitchenette. love the desk area, it made it very easy to get my work done. no complaints. I'll be back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JulieL08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bright
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We love it here. Staff are great. Good rooms. Great value. Good secure parking and an excellent location. There is a great variety of restaurants right outside the front door. And a ten minute walk into the city. An all round excellent place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KatBright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

Terrific place to stay. Quiet but accessible to everything that is Lygon St. Value for money. Will definitely stay again. Staff are friendly and helpful. Room comes complete with desk and comfortable chairs. Only down is the size of the telly otherwise a great place.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Wellsprin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Great location on Lygon Street with heaps of restaurants. Walking distance to the tram and Carlton Gardens (Melbourne Museum, IMAX etc). The room was basic but nice, quiet and clean. We stayed Friday/Saturday nights and found that the car park was full quite early so we had to pay $45 to park overnight in the car park down the street (which doesn't re-open until 4PM on a Saturday) so make sure you get in early or prepare to pay for your parking. Friendly staff, and overall a nice hotel.

Room Tip: The views are of Lygon St or a back alley, so don't expect anything spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emmaline1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Had a 2 night business trip in Melb & decided to stay somewhere other than in the middle of the CBD. This hotel is only a 10 minute walk from the CBD & its location in the middle of Lygon St cannot be beat.
Multiple great restaurants are seconds away (mostly Italian) & there is hardly any noise throughout the night.
The rooms themsleves are large & have a kitchenette & a balcony. Rooms have been recently renovated & are very clean.
The reception area looks more like a hostel & the staff's attitude might be representative of this. Do not judge this place on the reception area or staff. It was a very enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: All rooms are very equal, less noise in rooms facing away from Lygon St
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jdelor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Echuca
Level Contributor
153 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Stayed here for a business trip great to get back from a grueling day to be able to walk out of the hotel door and be able to walk to some of the best eateries in the world. They upgraded a few of our group from shared rooms to single rooms. Beds were great good size bathroom free parking was a great perk. Staff were great will definitely be a return customer

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aussiechick3564
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Lygon Street
Quest Carlton on Finlay
Quest Carlton on Finlay
#60 of 157 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 162 reviews
Lygon Street
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Travel Inn Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Adara East Melbourne
#102 of 157 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 73 reviews
Central Business District
Naughtons Parkville Hotel
Naughtons Parkville Hotel
#79 of 157 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 24 reviews
Arrow On Swanston
#123 of 157 in Melbourne
3.0 of 5 stars 222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lygon Lodge Carlton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lygon Lodge Carlton

Property: Lygon Lodge Carlton
Address: 220 Lygon St. | Carlton, Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Lygon Street
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #107 of 157 Hotels in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lygon Lodge Carlton 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Lygon Lodge Carlton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing