We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service and even better location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lygon Lodge Carlton
Ranked #117 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Reviewed August 18, 2012 via mobile

In the middle of Lygon restaurants, we decamped here after rejecting our accommodation at 700 Lygon. Warm clean rooms, modern simple style with some homely touches.
Staff were very helpful and went out of they way to assist us.
Will happily stay again as very close to the Uni

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bevfid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (140)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

125 - 131 of 140 reviews

Reviewed August 14, 2012

Great location everything at the door step. Very comfortable room and we had a great nights sleep. Staff and management very friendly and helpful. Would recommend to all our friends.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Quickbeds
3  Thank Tracey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

Stayed here for 1 Saturday night The Owner and staff could not have been more friendlier We even sat out front with Bob (the owner) and had a glass of red while watching the world go by. Our room was very clean with a small kitchenette (which was not used) nicely sized bathroom and new carpet and furniture Room rates were really reasonable considering the location and as previous travellers have stated parking was free which is a bonus as some motels charge exorbitant prices just to park your car. We had a very good night sleep did not hear any noise at all apart from the cleaner the next morning just before we checked out I would certainly stay again and definitely recommend to anyone who wants a clean reasonably priced Motel in a fantastic location

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Finn50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2012

When I arrived, I was unimpressed with the tiny lobby and the fact that access to the rooms required walking to an elevator in the car park. And the reception clerk who checked me in seemed a bit grumpy. But I quickly discovered that this is actually a quite decent place to stay.

My room was large, in excellent condition, spotlessly clean, with a kitchenette, ample work area, comfortable queen bed, and clean ensuite bathroom. The room had a wall mounted heating/cooling unit which provided ample heat on a chilly winter Melbourne day. Parking is free in a relatively small car park beneath the motel.

The location is, in many respects, ideal for visitors to Melbourne. The nearest tram stop, Lincoln Square, is 2 blocks (5 minutes) away, and many major tram lines pass through this station, making it easy to get around Melbourne via tram. Lygon Street is a haven for Italian restaurants, and there are plenty of boutique coffee bars in the immediate neighborhood, as well as a 7/11 across the street. Lygon Street gets busy on Saturday nights, but fortunately the noise didn't carry into the guest rooms at the motel.

The motel is now a Comfort Inn, which means that Choice Privileges points can be earned by staying there and also redeemed for free stays at this property. My 2-night stay was paid using my points, and the transaction was handled efficiently with no hassle.

Overall, this is a clean, comfortable place to stay - well located. I will return in the future.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank step12dude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Just a one night stay with my family. Room was renovated with a kitchenette but we did not use it due to the number of good restaurants in the area. Very clean and tidy, new carpet and furniture and newly renovated bathroom. Parking was a bit tight but it was secure. The only down side was the noise from busy Lygon street as our room was at the front of the building and it could do with a bigger tv. On the upside, the balcony was good and the place was really clean and tidy. The owner was very friendly and helpful. Will be staying again, next time for a longer stay.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank r00m56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2012

The staff were welcoming and friendly on arrival. The rates for the room was excellent (given where this place is located). The room was clean and tidy and we made up each day with clean towels and linen etc. I will certainly be staying there when next in Melbourne...

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank Jim O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2011

Lygon Lodge is situated in the heart of italian district of Melbourne.Very good location - just 20 minutes on foot to the main places of interest - Federation Square, the market, Chinatown, Carlton gardens. Lots of cafes and restaurants around. Things I didn't like at all - awful view from the hotel's rooms (dirty backyard), no breakfast, the entrance to the lift to the rooms is from unguarded parking. The hotel is overpriced like mostly everything in Australia:)

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Marussya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Comfort Hotel East Melbourne
#119 of 161 in Melbourne
122 reviews
Lygon Street
Best Western Plus Travel Inn Hotel
Lygon Street
Quest Carlton on Finlay
Quest Carlton on Finlay
#63 of 161 in Melbourne
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Glenferrie Hotel
#124 of 161 in Melbourne
83 reviews
Quest Flemington
#59 of 161 in Melbourne
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lygon Lodge Carlton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lygon Lodge Carlton

Address: 220 Lygon St. | Carlton, Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Lygon Street
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #117 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Price Range: $92 - $183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lygon Lodge Carlton 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Lygon Lodge Carlton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing