We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting and historical theatre” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Regent Theatre

The Regent Theatre
Book In Advance
$53*
and up
Melbourne City Sights Morning Tour with Optional Yarra Cruise
Ranked #40 of 343 things to do in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The landmark Regent Theatre holds a key part in our city’s history since opening as a grand picture palace in 1929. Having survived a fire, a flood, 20 years in darkness and many threats of demolition, the venue reopened in August 1996, meticulously refurbished and returned to its breathtaking former glory.Today it stands more lavish and grand than ever and continues to host some of the world’s most renowned theatre productions.
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
497 reviews
331 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
“Interesting and historical theatre”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

The Regent Theatre in Melbourne was part of the Regent Theatre Cinema chain in Australia. Other similar Regent theatres in Australia were either demolished or have undergone changes. This theatre also came close to being demolished but was saved by some concerned citizens. The outside is not really not much to look at but the interior has beenfully and magnificently restored in the Rococo style. It is now used mostly for live theatre rather than for films.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Eaa1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    313
    136
    34
    12
    16
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful theatre”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We saw Love Never Dies here and it was absolutely amazing! Even if the production itself weren't enough, the building itself is just so richly atmospheric I could've sat there quite happily for a long time just taking it all in. Felt like a step back in time.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Samantha J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Creswick, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Another great Theatre”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

One of Melbourne's finest theatres worth a visit and to see a performance there is an experience beautifully refurbished under a previous more enlightened state government, thanks guys you got this one right. Dump the Grand Prix (did I spell it rite ?).

Helpful?
Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
176 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Grand Old Lady”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

I just love this building I worked not far from it in collins street in 1980 and my friend Lois Webster was the lady that saved it from being pulled down thank God for Lois

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank ELILANG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tweed Heads, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Short break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Loved the character of the theatre and the fact that it was almost directly across the road from our accommodation.

Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Regent Theatre also viewed

 
Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to The Regent Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing