We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Cute and lovely garden” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fitzroy Gardens

Fitzroy Gardens
Book In Advance
$62*
and up
Half-Day Melbourne City Laneways and Arcades Tour with Eureka Skydeck
Ranked #24 of 332 things to do in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Cute and lovely garden”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

A little on the small side but worth a visit if you have enough time. Otherwise I would suggest sticking to the Royal Botanic Gardens. Great for a picnic so pack some lunch and lounge under the trees!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Marisa_Sim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

762 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    392
    323
    43
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful & so close to the cbd!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

I went for a run through the gardens and it was really peaceful. Lots of different paths so I managed to run 6km in total. The Tudor village is very cute. We came back the next morning to find the fairy tree and had breakfast at the cafe. It is a beautiful setting to just relax and unwind.

Helpful?
Thank Magsinoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sycamore, Illinois
Level Contributor
82 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Quiet time with nature”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

The park is not big, but once inside the city traffic sounds are cut to a minimum. We enjoyed the flowers and trees. We ate at a small cafe in the park for lunch. It was pleasant. The model village right outside the cafe is cute and the fairy tree is enchanting. We did not have time to tour Captain Cook's cottage, but it looked very interesting.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank fatima58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mims florida
Level Contributor
648 reviews
293 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 539 helpful votes
“do see”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

I wanted to go to the Royal Botanic Gardens but our sister from Sydney who once lived in Melbourne insisted we go to Fitzroy first. She was so right. The grounds are very good, but the Conservatory was spectacular with Lisianthus. We picniced by the lake.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank gwgMimsFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Beautiful gardens in the heart of Melbourne”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Beautiful gardens in the heart of Melbourne. There are attractions like Captain Cook's cottage and lovely old trees.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mountainview547
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fitzroy Gardens also viewed

 

Been to Fitzroy Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing