We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Magnolia court” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Magnolia Court Boutique

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Magnolia Court Boutique
Ranked #131 of 157 Hotels in Melbourne
Melbourne Central
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Magnolia court”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

This boutique hotel is in a lovely setting and great location for waking to things. A lovely breakfast is included in the cost. My room was basic but adequate and clean, and the main staff me ever is helpful, he even opened the breakfast room early to accommodate our need to leave earlier we. take an eye co re if you need the room to be dark to enable a good nights sleep.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Quickbeds

Helpful?
1 Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    53
    52
    31
    25
See reviews for
18
83
18
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Very poor indeed. The hotel is in one of best locations in Melbourne, especially if you wish to be close to the MCG, which we did, because we were going to the AFL Grand Final on that day. However, within minutes of arriving, our expectations were dashed by the over-officious reception clerk who couldn't help but interfere with my car parking preferences.

Even though we, and many other guests who had booked and pre-paid for their rooms had arrived by late morning and were going to the MCG also, none were allowed to check in to their rooms until the designated check-in time of 2pm. Ridiculous when the match kicked off at 2.30pm! The Chinese staff clearly have never heard of the AFL, let alone had any interest in accommodating any of the guests' special interests on the day.

The room was OK, if somewhat old and tired. The plumbing was hopeless (the shower varied between boiling hot and freezing cold, depending on which guest turned which tap on throughout the hotel, and the breakfast, whilst potentially pleasant for the price, was marred by the sullen and officious staff who plainly considered all of the guests a "bleeding nuisance".

However, what inflamed my temper in the end was the reception staff's attitude. The hotel is described in its brochure as "friendly and helpful" but that is the last thing these people are. They insisted on applying a 4% surcharge on my Amex card payment despite my asking them not to charge that card but to use my Visa card instead. The idiotic desk clerk even suggested I complain to the police if I liked!!

As I said at the beginning, the hotel is ideally placed for the MCG and other facilities in East Melbourne but I will NEVER stay there again.

Room Tip: Better to find another hotel than stay at this one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PRC239
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Melbourne hotels

Scooter64
Level Contributor
62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

We often passed this place and thought it looked really boutiquie. How wrong. Upon arrival thought that we could get a parking permit to park on the street as it is residentail inner city. They only had one permit and first in best dressed so we missed out. Then the receptionist tried to tell us to trust him and that we could park on the street. Is he for real. We live in Melbourne and know how to read parking signs. Residential parking only. Expensive $170 a night and the rooms are tired and the bathroom mouldy. The uht milk was frozen and off. I am sorry but this is the first time that I have written such a review. I wont be back and I do not recommend. Our very first hotel stay where we have been really disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scooter64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

have often stayed here over many years.enjoy the proximity to charming east melbourne history and architecture.also the fitzroy gardens.whilst a bit tired,tis still good value especially the free cooked breakfast.italian lavender in the garden was blooming [as is the english lavender in summer].sitting outside with this perfume is a treat. wandering the streets with all the old- fashioned spring gardens coming alive was a delight.am looking forward to my next stay in east melbourne.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank meri556
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiesbaden, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Should be renovated, everything is very used. But friendly staff. Icecold in the ground floor. We Bad a deluxe room, but this was really far away od beeing luxury. The ceiling in the bathroom was brown, and the floor was smelling.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SuBe2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Magnolia Court Boutique, Melbourne is an excellent place to stay with all basic needs (free breakfast - good variety of choices, free Wifi) at a very budget price. Located at a very beautiful residential place, near to MCG and CBD; tram stations are very nearby, even the city circle tram (which offers free ride). Good for single, couple or family.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bedangshu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holt, Norfolk
Level Contributor
219 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

I have known this property for over 15 years but never stayed there. I booked in for one night this week as I had a meeting round the cirner. Yes, uts cheap at $90 for a base room, but boy is it tired! Reception was fibe. Friendly. The room, number 7, was poor. Durty. Scratched paintwork. The bathroom was mouldy and definitely below standard. But on the positive side, the location is great. Its quiet. Close to some very nice eateries. Unsure the intentions of the owners, but this would make a very very good boutique B & B if money was spent.

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank HughDownie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Adara East Melbourne
#112 of 157 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 74 reviews
Central Business District
City Centre Budget Hotel
City Centre Budget Hotel
#107 of 157 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 stars 188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chapel Street
Hotel Claremont
Hotel Claremont
#95 of 157 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 352 reviews
Central Business District
Hotel Sophia
Hotel Sophia
#142 of 157 in Melbourne
3.0 of 5 stars 543 reviews
North Melbourne
British Apartments
British Apartments
#139 of 157 in Melbourne
3.0 of 5 stars 28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnolia Court Boutique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnolia Court Boutique

Property: Magnolia Court Boutique
Address: 101 Powlett St, Melbourne, Victoria 3002, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #131 of 157 Hotels in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Magnolia Court Boutique 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Magnolia Court Boutique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magnolia Court Boutique Hotel Melbourne
Magnolia Court Boutique East Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing