We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Magnolia Court Boutique
Ranked #147 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Reviewed April 28, 2013

I have just stayed here for 2 nights with a group of 6 in a family suite. The one main bedroom was good but other beds were positioned in hallway and kitchen. Trundle bed mattresses were horrible and dipped dramatically. A good layer of dust on top of fridge and had to ask for bottle opener and extra glasses. Staff were helpful and breakfast in the morning was great! Free off street parking was a real bonus and would stay again simply for great location.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LisaF1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (219)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

146 - 152 of 219 reviews

Reviewed April 3, 2013

Great hotel for a reasonable price. Close to the city and the place our family always stays when we go to the football, tennis and shopping. Staff are lovely and helpful, except for the lady who I think was mentioned in a previous review! Breakfast is great and where else can you get free off-street parking! Yes the rooms are tired and need renovating. Yes there are mould stains in the bathroom but the place is clean and tidy and a great couple of restaurants around the corner. Also close to the St Vinents hospitals if visiting loved ones. Will continue to stay at this hotel; just booked for the footy in a few weeks!

Room Tip: Yes the family room is family size!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kylie43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

The property is in need of a very serious make over and clean up. We had large patches of peeling paint, cracks and some dirty fittings - generally a very tired look. There was no comforable chair in the room and the bed was of a moderate comfort level. If you like fluffy towels and a plush bed and linen this place is not for you. The location of the property is great, just a very short walk to the CBD and some lovely cafes and restaurants within a few blocks. The staff were polite and helpful and the included breakfast offered a good variety of foods (hot and cold).

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AnneBendigo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Our room's decor has seen better days but it was very clean and had everything we needed including a tv, microwave and fridge (without unnecessary bar fridge contents.) Even had a bath in the ensuite, tho very short. The room was very quiet and the bed very comfortable - these are the essentials to us. Breakfast was buffet style and entirely adequate.It was 30C+ in Melbourne during our visit; when we arrived, we found A/C not working and the staff were very happy to move us immediately, no problems. It's just a short walk thro Fitzroy and Treasury Gardens to the city. Can also use the 48 and 75 route trams along Wellington St or the train from Jolimont/MCG station. Great value.

Room Tip: Make sure the air conditioning is working if the weather is as hot as it has been recently.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DVMSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

Good value for money, good breakfast, beautiful area. Location wise; it's based 10 minutes walk from Fed square and 5 minutes walk from beautiful parks. Decor a little old but to be expected for the price. The staff could not have been more helpful. Overall we would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alexmartj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in a Deluxe Room, (not Sure about what was deluxe about it) the bed was reasonably comfortable except when one turns over the whole bed moves like an ocean! The huge cracks in the ceilings are interesting and the filthy ceiling fans and lights in the bathroom makes you wonder if you might catch something nasty from it.

The 1st night we stayed we came back in the afternoon and were left standing in front of the glass doors that we could not open, the women on the desk was unbelievably rude, she just sat there and shook her head at us as if we were complete idiots that we could not find the button to open the door, completely put out she then lent over and pressed the button to let us in whilst rolling her eyes at us! (We honestly expected Basil and Manuel to pop up there heads right there and then!) We then asked her to teach us how to open the doors for future needs!!!!! She did so begrudgingly!

Next time I would stay at the Hilton down the road, and even closer to the tennis, the service there is always great!

Room Tip: Not sure what to tell you here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angelsSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

booked on the internet as the price was reasonable. Quaint little place a bit run down, bathroom needed updating, but bed was so comfortable and the room was clean and fresh. Lovely to walk thru the gardens to get to the city and see the sights. Sitting on the patio for breakfast was lovely. Service great, food wonderful, all for a good price. Will stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank greeneyes66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Comfort Hotel East Melbourne
#119 of 161 in Melbourne
123 reviews
Central Business District
City Centre Budget Hotel
City Centre Budget Hotel
#118 of 161 in Melbourne
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Seasons Heritage Melbourne
#123 of 161 in Melbourne
623 reviews
North Melbourne
British Apartments
British Apartments
#157 of 161 in Melbourne
31 reviews
Central Business District
Hotel Sophia
Hotel Sophia
#150 of 161 in Melbourne
621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnolia Court Boutique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnolia Court Boutique

Address: 101 Powlett St, Melbourne, Victoria 3002, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #147 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Price Range: $72 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Magnolia Court Boutique 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Magnolia Court Boutique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magnolia Court Boutique Hotel Melbourne
Magnolia Court Boutique East Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing