We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Pleasantly Surprised” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Magnolia Court Boutique

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Magnolia Court Boutique
Ranked #126 of 157 Hotels in Melbourne
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
98 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Pleasantly Surprised”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012 via mobile

Work is cutting costs and nervously I was asked to try this new Melbourne accommodation option. I read the reviews and did arrive with a concerned mind - for the price something must be wrong. From the minute I arrived I felt a spence of warmth and comfort. The staff are lovely and very helpful. My room is spacious with a comfy double bed, wardrobe and large screen tv. In an adjoining room is a desk an couch and nice size bathroom. Yes there is cracked paint, but the room is clean and tastefully decorated. The shower is in the bath but forgiven as it is a great shower. I know however my eighty plus mother would struggle climbing in and out of the deep bath to have a shower. There are plenty of power points, and windows, and great heating. I have enjoyed the supplied breakfast, especially as it includes muesli, lovely fruit, and Greek yoghurt. Hot food is also available. I love walking down the staircase and looking at the beautiful stained glass doors and enjoyng the surrounding lavender outside of the dining room windows. Walking distance to all Melbourne an offer. This is a quaint lovely boutique hotel certainly well worth the cost.

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank MarieS1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    51
    49
    30
    25
See reviews for
17
79
18
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lyon, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

We don't like large impersonal hotels and Magnolia Court suted us very well. It is close to the city and near the gardens. We used the tram a lot in Melbourne, which is recommended for everyone. There is a free one too around the city center. Eureka tower was exciting too. The staff at the hotel were friendly and gave us good advise.

Room Tip: At the back of the house
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Central
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Excellent staff from the front desk to the breakfast staff. Breakfast very well catered for with a great range of offerings both hot and cold and served in a very pleasant room. However the room had scratched paint work in a number of places, several broken tiles in bathroom and generally felt run down. I arrrived when the rooms were being cleaned and I could see into a number of rooms which all seemed to be well painted and more welcoming than mine. However a plus was that my room was ready when I arrived at about 9.15am and I could settle in straight away. It was a convenient distance to the tram and train.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Quickbeds

Helpful?
1 Thank JudyPilkington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandurah, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

Ok, this is the oldest building in East Melbourne, and was a girls finishing school in the past with extensions to cater for the volume of guest increased to melbourne for the 1956 Olympics. There have been a number of review that rave about the hotel, however all are over 10 years old. Seeing the hotel for what it was and how it is portrayed in the review it can been seen. However, and there always is.

Today, after over hearing conversations the building is owned by one party the hotel business by another and by the sounds of it with not very clear terms of the lease. So what does this mean? Well the hotel has obviously gone though a number of business owners since the 10 year old + reviews, and it seems that fitting and fixture are an area of dispute, such as minor repairs that are needed. Example are window latchs with screws missing, door knobs half hanging off, taps with the hot and cold symbol caps missing. multiple light bulbs blown and not replaced. The next point is this is a hertiage building set up to give an old world experience, the business owners seem to miss the point. For example our bed had a Hummer H3 bed spread on it, nothing wrong with hummer but on a bed spread in a Victorian era building come on. Other points, such as we were here in the heart of winter, no electric blanket on the beds, just little things. Which is really a shame, this place because of its location is handy to Melbourne CBD a stroll through the parkland or a short tram ride.

I think management here really need to understand they are in the hospitality industry and if they want to call themselves boutique need to take responsibility for their business and address the fundamentals. If the staff are letting things slip to customer then it is high time management to their business seriously. I would recommend staying here but only just it could be a whole lot more...

All the best
I&I

Room Tip: Breakfast is continental style. Don't expect a lavish spread. No fitness Centre, no swimming poo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Geoman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

This is an ideal spot to visit the city whilst being out of the hustle and bustle.
The staff are really accommodating, we arrived 90 minutes before check in time.
The check in clerk made a call to housekeeping and within 10 minutes we we in our room.
The breakfast room is nice and quiet and a cooked breakfast is included in the tariff.
It is a quiet neighborhood yet 5 minutes walk from the MCG and 10 minutes from the CBD.
This room tariff is cheaper than getting a parking fine during game day !!!

Room Tip: We stayed in the room provided, it was vey quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smacdon33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights in March as a base to explore the Melbourne area and so I could go the the first F1 race of the season. Added bonus was Jenson won!! Located in a quiet residential street yet only a few minutes walk through a lovely park area to reach the centre of town. Only drawback was very limited free parking behind the hotel, if you arrive late then on-street parking is available via meters. Owned and run by an asian family who do their best to make your stay comfortable. Comfortable bed but rather dated decor in the bedrooms, however everything was clean and we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ozztraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, Australia
Level Contributor
179 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

This little hotel is great value when you consider the location and generous breakfast. The free parking is also a bonus, so close to the MCG and the city.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Melbourne
Adara East Melbourne
#104 of 157 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 73 reviews
Richmond Hill Hotel
#2 of 2 in Richmond
3.5 of 5 stars 175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chapel Street
Hotel Claremont
Hotel Claremont
#94 of 157 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 350 reviews
Central Business District
City Centre Budget Hotel
City Centre Budget Hotel
#103 of 157 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 stars 184 reviews
Mantra on Jolimont
#91 of 157 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 stars 738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnolia Court Boutique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnolia Court Boutique

Property: Magnolia Court Boutique
Address: 101 Powlett St, Melbourne, Victoria 3002, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #126 of 157 Hotels in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Magnolia Court Boutique 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Magnolia Court Boutique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magnolia Court Boutique Hotel Melbourne
Magnolia Court Boutique East Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing