We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Magnolia Court Boutique
Ranked #146 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Reviewed July 24, 2012

This is an ideal spot to visit the city whilst being out of the hustle and bustle.
The staff are really accommodating, we arrived 90 minutes before check in time.
The check in clerk made a call to housekeeping and within 10 minutes we we in our room.
The breakfast room is nice and quiet and a cooked breakfast is included in the tariff.
It is a quiet neighborhood yet 5 minutes walk from the MCG and 10 minutes from the CBD.
This room tariff is cheaper than getting a parking fine during game day !!!

Room Tip: We stayed in the room provided, it was vey quiet.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smacdon33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (212)
There are newer reviews for Magnolia Court Boutique
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

158 - 164 of 212 reviews

Reviewed June 20, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights in March as a base to explore the Melbourne area and so I could go the the first F1 race of the season. Added bonus was Jenson won!! Located in a quiet residential street yet only a few minutes walk through a lovely park area to reach the centre of town. Only drawback was very limited free parking behind the hotel, if you arrive late then on-street parking is available via meters. Owned and run by an asian family who do their best to make your stay comfortable. Comfortable bed but rather dated decor in the bedrooms, however everything was clean and we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ozztraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2012

This little hotel is great value when you consider the location and generous breakfast. The free parking is also a bonus, so close to the MCG and the city.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for the tennis this year and found our stay a pleasant experance.Our room was not large but clean and serviced daily.The breakfast room is warm and inviting .You are given a good variety of fresh fruits & stewed with quality cereals and breads., To top it off, a small selection of hot food,at no charge !!.
We own a hotel in geelong victoria. It never ceases to amaze how petty the public can be.
If you want to pay for five star on top of the city you may get you're perfect garden and matching
Décor.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Shellie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2012

STAY AWAY !!!!!
This place is a nightmare ! we stayed in the family suite. It is filthy and smelly. The room is incredibly shabby, worse than a backpacker hostel. Don't stay there with little ones !!My kids hated it. My husband and I stayed in the bed for one night and got spots all over our back the next morning... We stayed there one night and then we thought it was time to RUN
The fridge was smelly and dirty. They charge you for wi-fi access in your room but you need to stay in the reception hall to get it....
a hovel !!! I don't understand how these people get away with running these dumps and charging you for it

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank RachLLR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2012

This hotel has a glassed in breakfast room overlooking a herb garden. A spacious old mansion that has ensuites in each room, The rooms are basic but comfortable. Cleanliness in the shared areas is not amazing. They very kindly let me in when I checked in 5 hours later than I expected. Doesn't quite live up to the 'boutique' appellation.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Diorissi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2012

This is not boutique. It is old but that's no excuse for poor maintenance and overall cleanliness.

Room Tip: Still looking in East Melbourne!
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marigold g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Melbourne
Comfort Hotel East Melbourne
#121 of 160 in Melbourne
115 reviews
Richmond Hill Hotel
#2 of 2 in Richmond
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
City Centre Budget Hotel
City Centre Budget Hotel
#118 of 160 in Melbourne
210 reviews
Chapel Street
Hotel Claremont
Hotel Claremont
#111 of 160 in Melbourne
380 reviews
Mantra on Jolimont
#96 of 160 in Melbourne
1,660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnolia Court Boutique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnolia Court Boutique

Address: 101 Powlett St, Melbourne, Victoria 3002, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #146 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Price Range: $70 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Magnolia Court Boutique 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Magnolia Court Boutique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magnolia Court Boutique Hotel Melbourne
Magnolia Court Boutique East Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing